abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Samsung T10 (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=120)
-   -   Please Upgrade RSC File (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30639)

rjjrjj 06-06-2008 08:33 PM

Please Upgrade RSC File
 
I tried to upgrade the firmware a while back....and whenever I turn on my T10 that message comes up "Please Upgrade RSC File"


Please Help

sassafras 06-06-2008 10:37 PM

Plug it in and put the firmware on it again. There are two files, a .ROM and a .RSC. Put both on.

rjjrjj 06-06-2008 11:32 PM

How am I suppose to know what version I have to put back on the T10...because it only goes to one screen Please Update RSC File

rjjrjj 06-07-2008 12:58 AM

I just tried and I got the Files on........but now it says Invalid Version.........wtfffffff

What am i suppose to do now?

Buzzmonkee 06-07-2008 02:54 AM

When I had the same problem I connected the T10 on a PC with Samsung Media Studio running and once SMS detected the device it asked if I wanted to update firmware clicked yes .. problem solved! YMMV

rjjrjj 06-07-2008 10:43 AM

Ya... I tried that yesterday and it said error can't download or something becuase I was using emodio

but then i downloaded SMS again and it downloaded the firmware 3.06 onto the T10 AND NOW IT WORKS PERFECT THANK YOU

ziplety 09-05-2008 10:18 AM

I have the 3.06 firmware on my t10 and now it asks me to update my RSC file, I go into the menu on emodio and select update firmware but it says there are no updates available and now my t10 refuses to work. Any advice on this matter will be a great help.

Sorry for bumping up and old topic, this is the first result that google came up with.

zipdisk 09-06-2008 02:23 AM

Are you trying to change the firmware Type, Emodio will only update to the same firmware type.


If you are updating by Flashing you must have both ROM and RSC file on the T10.

To me it seems you need to Re-flash again

oldfogy 10-03-2008 08:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zipdisk (Post 280808)
Are you trying to change the firmware Type, Emodio will only update to the same firmware type.


If you are updating by Flashing you must have both ROM and RSC file on the T10.

To me it seems you need to Re-flash again

hi zipdisk, my t10 is telling me i need to upgrade my rsc file, like ziplety i too got the message unable to update at this time (from emodio). I am very new to ipods and don't know what to do when you say re-flash again. can you please help me get my t10 working again. it will be greatly appreciated.

paulh 02-23-2009 03:10 PM

How to update the Firmware when the T10 stops
 
Hi,
I had the same problem... loaded down the firmware... tried to install with emodio.. but couldn't tell when it was complete.
I suspect I disconnected the T10 before both files were transferred.
When I turned the T10 back it said "Installing firmware update (1/5)" (as it said it would), then it powered itself off.
When I powered it back on, it came up with the message "Please Upgrade the RSC File".
Eventually, I found some instructions in German, and managed to translate them, but even they were slightly wrong. in the end it was pretty easy:
1. Download the firmware from emodio
2. Unzip the 2 files from the download (a .rsc and a .rom) to a temp directory (trhe desktop, whatever).
3. Connect the T10 to the PC
4. Open Windows Explorer
5. Find the 2 files, select them and say "Copy"
6. Then look in "My Computer" for "T10" marked as "Portable Media Player" and double-click on it.
7. It will expand and show "Internal Storage", double click in that
8. It will show a lot of directories, select Edit\Paste from the main menu
9. When the files have transferred, disconnect the T10, then when you power on the firmware upgrade should work "as advertised".

Hope you all get your players up and going again...

TaperChuck 11-05-2009 08:43 AM

Please Upgrade RSC File
 
I have the "Please Upgrade RSC File" message, but I can't put the RSC file on the player, because my player doesn't show up in My Computer or Windows Explorer as a device. :confused:

I've posted this issue on another thread (sorry about the cross post) and have searched the forum here. I can't find any information on how to get My Computer to recognize the T10.

The strange thing is that when I did the firmware upgrade (many times) Windows recognizes the player and installs the drivers, but the player doesn't show up in My Computer or Windows Explorer. ...even after refreshing the screen many times, it just isn't there. :(

Any help would be very much appreciated.

sassafras 11-05-2009 07:58 PM

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=26367

Should work for the T10. Though I have not tried.

Make sure you have both the RSC and ROM files on hand.

NXTreme 11-06-2009 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TaperChuck (Post 412388)
The strange thing is that when I did the firmware upgrade (many times) Windows recognizes the player and installs the drivers, but the player doesn't show up in My Computer or Windows Explorer. ...even after refreshing the screen many times, it just isn't there. :(

Any help would be very much appreciated.


Do you have Windows Media Player 10/11 installed? I think you need to have one of them installed before you can see it in Explorer.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.