abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Samsung U Series / F3 (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=114)
-   -   can U5 be switched to UMS/MSC (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=48522)

mail1548074 10-12-2009 05:10 PM

can U5 be switched to UMS/MSC
 
The specs say it supports both. Is there a setting that selects it?

lebellium 10-12-2009 05:16 PM

Yep, system>USB connection>MSC or MTP in EU/US region code.
UMS only in KR region code

mail1548074 10-12-2009 05:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lebellium (Post 406567)
Yep, system>USB connection>MSC or MTP in EU/US region code.
UMS only in KR region code

Thanks. But, I noticed that the French manual shows the connection item in the menu tree, but the US manual does not. Is this just an omission or does the US version really not have it?

lebellium 10-12-2009 06:03 PM

I guess it's just an omission. I only tested in FR and EU codes but as all latest samsung mp3 players have this with any code except KR, there's no reason the U5 is different. Unfortunately I don't have a U5 anymore to check...

mail1548074 10-12-2009 10:24 PM

Since the US YP-U5JQB manual does not show the PC Connection option, can someone please confirm that a US bought player actually has it?

lebellium 10-13-2009 03:01 AM

actually it's not a hardware issue but just software so yes in any case you're able to have the mtp/msc select on your U5. I'll tell you how to change your region code if necessary

mail1548074 10-22-2009 10:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lebellium (Post 406687)
actually it's not a hardware issue but just software so yes in any case you're able to have the mtp/msc select on your U5. I'll tell you how to change your region code if necessary

According to a US samsung support product specialist, who checked the system menu on a US yp-u5jqb model with 1.33 firmware, the "pc connection" option is not there.

If you know of any tricks or hacks to make it appear, such as the region code change that you mentioned, please share.

lebellium 10-22-2009 11:52 AM

"US samsung support product specialist"
Let me laugh :D If there is a Samsung Expert somewhere, that would rather be me for instance...
All U5 are the same. There is no US model particularly.
Only region code changes. So if he has a KR region code, that's normal there is no "pc connection" option because it is only UMS
I reviewed the U5 and I changed several times the region code with the famous easy config.dat trick that works with any Samsung mp3 player. And there is this option with FR and EU region code. And most likely with US region code too. And if ever there isn't this option with the US region code, you can change it into EU to get it..
So there is absolutely no reason to doubt :)

edit:
I just checked the US website:
"OS Compatibility MTP: Windows Vista or XP, WMP10 or higher
UMS: Windows Vista or XP or 2000 USB Connection(MTP/UMS) Yes "
So so...I hope your "Samsung specialist" is not well paid for his poor knowledges lol

mail1548074 10-22-2009 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lebellium (Post 409224)
So so...I hope your "Samsung specialist" is not well paid for his poor knowledges lol

US Samsung support has 3 tiers, the first 2 are useless and don't even have access to the players they support. The 3rd one, called "product specialist" is more technical and they have the devices. The guy in the 3rd tier I spoke to, claimed to have a u5 in his hands as he was double checking the system menu while on the phone with me. I have no reason to think he was lying, so it looks like the US region code hides the connection option.

Can you please post directions (or a link) for changing the region code for the U5.

lebellium 10-22-2009 12:36 PM

What I already told twice is that he doesn't have necessarily a US region code on his U5. That can be KR. I'm in touch with Samsung France, particularly with the technical support and I know what mp3 players they have. Usually, Samsung KR only send samples to its subsidiaries. So he doesn't necessarily have a commercial version of the U5 with US region code, the one you find in stores in the USA.
So it's not a question of lying or not, it's a question of knowledges.
I give you a good answer for free. That's his job, he is paid for that and it looks like he doesn't know so much about his products.

Just put this file at the root: http://media.generationmp3.com/lebellium/U5/config.dat
and it gets the EU region code. (I can modify the file for any region)

mail1548074 10-22-2009 01:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lebellium (Post 409233)
Just put this file at the root: http://media.generationmp3.com/lebellium/U5/config.dat
and it gets the EU region code. (I can modify the file for any region)

Thanks. I saw a warning in this thread:
Quote:

Also, if you just dump the config file on without actually Updating the firmware, you will likely brick your P2.
It doesn't apply to the U5?

One other question. There is an MTP/UMS entry in the config.dat. Since the connection mode becomes selectable, does putting UMS vs. MTP in config.dat make any difference?

lebellium 10-22-2009 02:02 PM

It seems that on the newest models there is no risk. I changed the region code without updating the firmware on P3, Q2, U5, R1... and I never had this problem.
But once again, I'm convinced you even won't have to change the region code ;)

Actually, you cannot change the MTP/UMS entry in the config.dat. Every region has its own entry.
EU/US/FR>MTP
KR/RU/CH>UMS
It corresponds to the default setting.
You know, most users are not expert and don't even know what MSC/UMS and MTP stand for. So Samsung choose for them the connexion mode.
But for you, as you know you can change it in the settings, it doesn't matter if it is MTP or UMS as default setting :D

mail1548074 10-22-2009 05:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lebellium (Post 409260)
I'm convinced you even won't have to change the region code ;)

You're right, new, US region, 1.34 firmware, YP-U5JQB has the "pc connection" setting. Looks like Samsung support needs a fourth tier.

cybersaint 07-20-2010 11:20 AM

Same issue!
 
Just put this file at the "root"


I cant find a root folder! Is it my packs

lebellium 07-21-2010 03:44 AM

The root is where all main folders are (music, mypack, system, playlists etc...)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.