abi>>forums

abi>>forums (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/index.php)
-   Sansa Fuze Rockbox (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=229)
-   -   Help me get rockbox on my Fuze, if you would, please. (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=68746)

Olen 04-01-2012 09:43 PM

Help me get rockbox on my Fuze, if you would, please.
 
So basically, I had rockbox on one of my old iPod's and absolutely loved it. I never put it on my Clip because there wasn't much of a visual difference and I was fine with the original firmware anyways. I just picked up a Sansa Fuze 8Gb off ebay and wanted to Rockbox it, but everytime I try I run into some problem, or it just plainly doesn't work. (Rockboxing it, the player and orig firmware work fine)

Here's the deal. I have tried the Manual install, and the Automatic install. For the Manual install, I can't even find the bootloader needed, and whenever I install the bootloader via the automatic installer it run into an error after I firect it to the fuzea.bin file. Says it cannot open fuzea.bin for writing.

Also, when I just take the .rockbox and throw it on the player along with the fuzea.bin, it goes through the firmware upgrade process, turns off, but when I turn it on its like I didn't even do anything and it just goes back to the normal menu.

So please, what am I doing wrong? What's going on? Am I missing something?

:confused:

saratoga 04-01-2012 11:46 PM

It sounds like you're flashing an unpatched fuzea.bin file, so when you copy it over the firmware updates but the bootloader doesn't get installed.

No idea why your fuzea.bin wouldn't be writeable. What operating system are you using? Sounds like something is wrong with the file, its permissions, etc.

Olen 04-01-2012 11:58 PM

I'm using Win7 at the moment, 64bit.

saratoga 04-02-2012 12:14 AM

Looking at the patcher code, it only opens the firmware file for reading, not writing, so I'm guessing that message refers to actually trying to write the firmware file to the player. I'd double check that you gave it the right drive letter for the player.

Olen 04-02-2012 12:36 AM

Alright, I just noticed the drop down box in the Rockbox Utility. I'm putting music on it at the moment so I'll get that situated and try again. I'll post my success or failure soon. Thanks alot for your help man.

FreeZ5 04-02-2012 05:34 AM

Olen:

Do you have the original Fuze or the touch screen Fuze Plus (aka Fuze+)?

Are you trying to load the correct Rockbox? IE the original Fuze Rockbox or the (I don't think it exists completely yet) Rockbox for the Fuze Plus?

Steve

maidenpriest 05-14-2012 04:03 PM

Is your firmware the last current one, i recently just flashed a Fuze I bought from ebay and i first upgraded to the latest firmware because it had the original firmware, I had no problems but I think i had to link the latest Fuze firmware within the Rockbox booting thingy, also make sure you select the correct Fuze ie version 1 or 2 !!

skip252 05-14-2012 05:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by maidenpriest (Post 610478)
Is your firmware the last current one, i recently just flashed a Fuze I bought from ebay and i first upgraded to the latest firmware because it had the original firmware, I had no problems but I think i had to link the latest Fuze firmware within the Rockbox booting thingy, also make sure you select the correct Fuze ie version 1 or 2 !!

The Rockbox Utility will patch any valid sandisk firmware file. There's no need for it to be the most recent. The update version only matters if you boot to the OF. The performance in Rockbox is the same with all versions.

allears18 07-10-2012 11:51 AM

Fuze and Fuze + corresponds to v1 and v2
 
Is v1=Fuze and v2=Fuze+ ? Or, does Fuze have v1 and v2 and
Fuze+ also have v1 and v2?

saratoga 07-10-2012 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by allears18 (Post 615987)
Is v1=Fuze and v2=Fuze+ ? Or, does Fuze have v1 and v2 and
Fuze+ also have v1 and v2?

There are 3 different players, the Fuze v1, Fuze v2 and Fuze+.

allears18 07-10-2012 12:24 PM

Fuze v2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by saratoga (Post 615988)
There are 3 different players, the Fuze v1, Fuze v2 and Fuze+.

The Fuze that are currently sold on Amazon, would most likely be v2?

Is RB firmware stable and operate as well as the one on a Clip+ ?

Which of the Clip variants do you prefer?

Tapeworm 07-10-2012 12:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by allears18 (Post 615992)
The Fuze that are currently sold on Amazon, would most likely be v2?

Could be, but there's no way to tell for sure until you check the firmware version of the individual player you receive.

Quote:

Originally Posted by allears18 (Post 615992)
Is RB firmware stable and operate as well as the one on a Clip+ ?

If you're speaking of the (original) Fuze, it was ported to Rockbox before the Clip+ was even released, so I'd say yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by allears18 (Post 615992)
Which of the Clip variants do you prefer?

They're all good. Different people have different preferences.

allears18 07-10-2012 12:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tapeworm (Post 615996)
Could be, but there's no way to tell for sure until you check the firmware version of the individual player you receive.



If you're speaking of the (original) Fuze, it was ported to Rockbox before the Clip+ was even released, so I'd say yes.



They're all good. Different people have different preferences.

Thank you.
BTW, does the Clip sound have similar SQ compared to a 4th generation ipod?

saratoga 07-10-2012 01:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by allears18 (Post 615997)
Thank you.
BTW, does the Clip sound have similar SQ compared to a 4th generation ipod?

Its quite a lot better then the older iPods, although both are good enough that you won't notice unless you have very difficult to drive headphones.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.