android
  #1  
Old 06-06-2008, 08:33 PM
rjjrjj rjjrjj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 27
Default Please Upgrade RSC File

I tried to upgrade the firmware a while back....and whenever I turn on my T10 that message comes up "Please Upgrade RSC File"


Please Help
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-06-2008, 10:37 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

Plug it in and put the firmware on it again. There are two files, a .ROM and a .RSC. Put both on.
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-06-2008, 11:32 PM
rjjrjj rjjrjj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 27
Default

How am I suppose to know what version I have to put back on the T10...because it only goes to one screen Please Update RSC File

Last edited by rjjrjj; 06-07-2008 at 12:40 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-07-2008, 12:58 AM
rjjrjj rjjrjj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 27
Default

I just tried and I got the Files on........but now it says Invalid Version.........wtfffffff

What am i suppose to do now?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-07-2008, 02:54 AM
Buzzmonkee's Avatar
Buzzmonkee Buzzmonkee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 93
Default

When I had the same problem I connected the T10 on a PC with Samsung Media Studio running and once SMS detected the device it asked if I wanted to update firmware clicked yes .. problem solved! YMMV
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-07-2008, 10:43 AM
rjjrjj rjjrjj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Ya... I tried that yesterday and it said error can't download or something becuase I was using emodio

but then i downloaded SMS again and it downloaded the firmware 3.06 onto the T10 AND NOW IT WORKS PERFECT THANK YOU
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-05-2008, 10:18 AM
ziplety ziplety is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I have the 3.06 firmware on my t10 and now it asks me to update my RSC file, I go into the menu on emodio and select update firmware but it says there are no updates available and now my t10 refuses to work. Any advice on this matter will be a great help.

Sorry for bumping up and old topic, this is the first result that google came up with.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-06-2008, 02:23 AM
zipdisk zipdisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kapiti New Zealand
Posts: 142
Default

Are you trying to change the firmware Type, Emodio will only update to the same firmware type.


If you are updating by Flashing you must have both ROM and RSC file on the T10.

To me it seems you need to Re-flash again
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-03-2008, 08:44 AM
oldfogy oldfogy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipdisk View Post
Are you trying to change the firmware Type, Emodio will only update to the same firmware type.


If you are updating by Flashing you must have both ROM and RSC file on the T10.

To me it seems you need to Re-flash again
hi zipdisk, my t10 is telling me i need to upgrade my rsc file, like ziplety i too got the message unable to update at this time (from emodio). I am very new to ipods and don't know what to do when you say re-flash again. can you please help me get my t10 working again. it will be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-23-2009, 03:10 PM
paulh paulh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default How to update the Firmware when the T10 stops

Hi,
I had the same problem... loaded down the firmware... tried to install with emodio.. but couldn't tell when it was complete.
I suspect I disconnected the T10 before both files were transferred.
When I turned the T10 back it said "Installing firmware update (1/5)" (as it said it would), then it powered itself off.
When I powered it back on, it came up with the message "Please Upgrade the RSC File".
Eventually, I found some instructions in German, and managed to translate them, but even they were slightly wrong. in the end it was pretty easy:
1. Download the firmware from emodio
2. Unzip the 2 files from the download (a .rsc and a .rom) to a temp directory (trhe desktop, whatever).
3. Connect the T10 to the PC
4. Open Windows Explorer
5. Find the 2 files, select them and say "Copy"
6. Then look in "My Computer" for "T10" marked as "Portable Media Player" and double-click on it.
7. It will expand and show "Internal Storage", double click in that
8. It will show a lot of directories, select Edit\Paste from the main menu
9. When the files have transferred, disconnect the T10, then when you power on the firmware upgrade should work "as advertised".

Hope you all get your players up and going again...
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-05-2009, 08:43 AM
TaperChuck TaperChuck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 10
Unhappy Please Upgrade RSC File

I have the "Please Upgrade RSC File" message, but I can't put the RSC file on the player, because my player doesn't show up in My Computer or Windows Explorer as a device.

I've posted this issue on another thread (sorry about the cross post) and have searched the forum here. I can't find any information on how to get My Computer to recognize the T10.

The strange thing is that when I did the firmware upgrade (many times) Windows recognizes the player and installs the drivers, but the player doesn't show up in My Computer or Windows Explorer. ...even after refreshing the screen many times, it just isn't there.

Any help would be very much appreciated.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-06-2009, 03:27 PM
NXTreme NXTreme is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaperChuck View Post
The strange thing is that when I did the firmware upgrade (many times) Windows recognizes the player and installs the drivers, but the player doesn't show up in My Computer or Windows Explorer. ...even after refreshing the screen many times, it just isn't there.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Do you have Windows Media Player 10/11 installed? I think you need to have one of them installed before you can see it in Explorer.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 11-05-2009, 07:58 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=26367

Should work for the T10. Though I have not tried.

Make sure you have both the RSC and ROM files on hand.
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.