android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Samsung > Samsung P3 > Samsung P3 Accessories

Old 06-24-2009, 12:46 PM

Default Samsung YP-P3 DIY Line Out Dock (LOD) - lots of pics warning!

Part One: Complete noob guide.
Part Two: Some more basic question & answers.
Part Three: The 'how to' guide.

BEFORE PROCEEDING PLEASE READ MY DC OFFSET WARNING!!!!

Part One
"What is a P3 LOD?"

LOD stands up line out dock, but in this case it is really a line out cable. It allows the user to take audio from the USB connection port at the bottom of the player instead of the headphone jack. The main advantage of this is to get a 'line out' signal rather than a standard 'headphones out' signal. This would be most advantageous when using an external headphone amplifier, or plugging the P3 into a home stereo.

"What is a line out signal?"

Basically there are three things required to make any MP3 player work. These three things are a digital audio file, DAC and amplifier.

Firstly the music has to be stored in some kind of file, such as an Mp3, Wav, Flac, Ogg, Wma etc. Secondly, you need something to turn that digital audio file (Mp3 etc) into an analogue signal our ears can hear (IE: music). The DAC, or digital to analogue converter does this. Finally you need something to make it louder / quieter (volume control), add EQ effects like bass boost (DSNe) etc. This is where the amplifier steps in.

In theory, the P3 LOD would be taking the audio directly from the DAC (digital to analogue converter) effectively bypassing this internal amplifier. This is normally called a 'line out' connection. The line out would then be plugged into an external amplifier, as mentioned earlier. The idea is you will get a more 'pure' sound by avoiding having the music amplified twice.

"But my P3 sounds great, why bother with an external amp / LOD?"