android
  #1  
Old 12-12-2009, 08:39 PM
Amie Amie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Unhappy Help! NWZ-E344 has no folders!

Help! I'm so confused and I'm completely a noob when it comes to electronics. I just bought the NWZ-E344 today and when I installed it, I thought everything went fine. But then I tried to transfer a file using its software. It said that my Walkman mp3 player wasn't connected. I was so confused so I checked the "My Computer", "Walkman", then I noticed it was completely blank! There are no folders, where "Media", "Music" folders etc used to be.

Does anyone know how I can get my folders back in or how to get it back to the way it was before I installed it?

I tried contacting Sony for help but it was no use.

Thanks,

Amie
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:03 AM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
Visiting troll from Pocketables
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,285
Default

Go to settings, common settings, format. That removes everything on there and the player should recreate the folder structure. Though it might not work as you don't actually need the folders there to transfer files (nor do you need the dumb-ass Sony software to do so).
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:21 AM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: western Maine, USA
Posts: 94
Default

I agree with Andreas.

You will lose whatever you had on there. You absolutely do not need the Sony software, I have an e345 and you can drag and drop, or better yet use Windows Media Player 11 or any other management software. When you sync with WMP it will show the album art with each song it plays. When I drag and drop I can navigate to the album art, but it doesn't show automatically, which I much prefer.

Don't forget when things don't work, first try restarting you computer, and restarting the player. Unfortunately, it takes 4 hrs. to truly shut off the player after hitting the off button, so you may have to wait that long to reboot it.

I haven't tried it, but with some players it works fine to just right click and choose new folder and name it.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:29 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Just say no to WMP 11!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-13-2009, 10:09 AM
Amie Amie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Works now but what file types can I transfer to this player?

Thanks so much everyone!! It works now. I have no idea what happened. I restarted and restarted both computer and mp3 player but nothing worked. Gave both a break and restarted them this morning and now it works and the folders reappeared. It's odd but I'm so glad it's working now.

One last question: I don't know which files will work. I have some .mp4 (I used to have an iPod) and .avi files. I tried the .mp4 but it doesn't work on this mp3 player.

For songs and videos, what type of files can this Sony mp3 player take?

Thanks again,

Amie
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-14-2009, 10:55 AM
MattMc3 MattMc3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amie View Post
One last question: I don't know which files will work. I have some .mp4 (I used to have an iPod) and .avi files. I tried the .mp4 but it doesn't work on this mp3 player.

For songs and videos, what type of files can this Sony mp3 player take?
@Amie: I had typed up a reply saying that all Walkman's play the following formats:

Audio:
- MP3's
- AAC (non DRM)
- PCM (Wav)
- WMA

Video:
- MP4 (h264/AAC - AVC profile), 320x240 max resolution
- MP4 (MPEG4/AAC - Simple profile), 320x240 max resolution
- WMV (ASF), 320x240 max resolution

But then I looked in the E340 user manual and in the video section it only lists WMV files as being playable. I hope that is not the case. If so, it seems that Sony removed the playback ability of MP4's in the E340 series. Double check your MP4's and see that they are 320x240 resolution (or less). If they are encoded with the h264 or MPEG4 CODEC then they should work. I can email you a small 10-second video clip to try out if you want (that works in my Walkman).

Matt
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-13-2009, 10:34 AM
stargazer stargazer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: western Maine, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
Just say no to WMP 11!
Well, that sums up my usual feelings, but I have to admit it worked, just very hard to control. Wants to sync every thing on my computer!

I'd never used it before getting this e 345. Perhaps I'll learn more about it. First thing I did learn is that it wants to phone home every time you use it and put itself on the automatic start up list, which I prevent.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
blank, empty, folders, install problems, nwz-e344

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.