android
  #1  
Old 04-02-2010, 04:56 PM
lukazzo lukazzo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
Default iaudio 9 not so loud?

hi to all, i just get an iaudio 9 to substitute my samsung r0, i had in the past a d2+ and the volume was very loud one of the best i ever heard, now with i9 seem that also the samsung with is 20mW powe for channel is more powerful than this, maybe i need to do some change in the settings or is i9 not so loud?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-02-2010, 05:19 PM
RoloJam RoloJam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Katy TX
Posts: 172
Default

For the S9 you do the following:
open your S9 system folder, and simply delete the "PARAM" file. Power off. Power up. (There is no need to change firmware at all).

You are back at the original screen. 1. Choose your language. 2. Next DO NOT CHOOSE THE EUROPE setting. 3. Third, choose your radio setting - any will do.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-02-2010, 05:23 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Loud enough for iem's or earbuds to cause hearing damage, what phones are you trying to drive? BTW, no settings to make it louder, you'd have to add a portable amp to increase the volume more.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-02-2010, 05:28 PM
lukazzo lukazzo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
Default

thx rolo jam i do what u sayng and now is a lot more louder probably european union have limited volume like other players
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-03-2010, 01:11 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

@ RoloJam, glad you knew as neither of my cowon’s have that file, guess it’s cause I’m in the USA I learned something, thanks.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-10-2010, 01:18 AM
g.711 g.711 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 124
Default

J3 not loud = r.u.nuts? The reason why I say that is because I just received my 9 and plugged in my Westone UM1 and almost blew my eye sockets out. This is absolutely the loudest mp3 player I have heard.
Being new to this product Im not up on all the tweaks and features but maybe it will not support some headsets. I say this because I tried my sons SkullCandy earbuds and they sounded terrible.
Hope someone can clear this up for me. Love the sound but hate the interface it too touchy.

Last edited by g.711; 04-10-2010 at 03:40 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-10-2010, 04:42 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g.711 View Post
J3 not loud = r.u.nuts? The reason why I say that is because I just received my 9 and plugged in my Westone UM1 and almost blew my eye sockets out.
The EU imposes laws on mp3 manufacturers that the default maximum volume of their mp3 players be no louder than 80 decibels. Thus the instructions posted in post #2 by RoloJam, if you had read post #3 also you would realize that the limiting file on them is not included in the ones sold in the USA.

Quote:
Originally Posted by g.711 View Post
I say this because I tried my sons SkullCandy earbuds and they sounded terrible. Hope someone can clear this up for me.
That is the general consensus, skullcandy has their focus on target marketing, looks and zero sound quality …

Quote:
Originally Posted by g.711 View Post
Love the sound but hate the interface it too touchy.
What player do you have? As you post starts out “J3 not loud” …
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-10-2010, 06:23 AM
g.711 g.711 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 124
Default

Sorry I was unaware of that I hope I didn't come off too jerky I wasa just supprised that someone would says its (i9) not loud. I have an i9 and a j3 on its way. Thanks for the quick reply.
By the way where can I find skins for the i9?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-10-2010, 06:38 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g.711 View Post
... By the way where can I find skins for the i9?
There could be more but the only two that I've seen are:
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=50650

http://www.mediafire.com/?imtjoumyz2d
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-10-2010, 07:48 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

As far as I know Sony is the only manufacturer to impose the EU's resrtriction, and then only in its most recent players.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-11-2010, 05:55 AM
lukazzo lukazzo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamnine View Post
As far as I know Sony is the only manufacturer to impose the EU's resrtriction, and then only in its most recent players.
apple too, if u hear an ipod nano last gen buyed in europe u cant barely heard something when u are on a bus
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-20-2011, 05:42 PM
jupitreas's Avatar
jupitreas jupitreas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamnine View Post
As far as I know Sony is the only manufacturer to impose the EU's resrtriction, and then only in its most recent players.
Sony has been imposing the EU restrictions for years, I remember even my NetMD was volume-limited and I needed to enter some debug mode or something to turn that off.

Mind you, the EU restrictions are a very good idea because more and more young people suffer from permanent hearing damage due to overly loud listening volumes. The only problem is that of course, headphones have different sensitivities ie. what is more than loud enough on the stock Sony earbuds won't be satisfactory on lower sensitivity headphones.

Many other manufacturers impose these laws as well but they are relatively easy to overcome since all it takes is changing the region in the settings.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 02-20-2011, 05:47 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

@expatCanuck...

__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 02-20-2011, 11:59 AM
expatCanuck's Avatar
expatCanuck expatCanuck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukazzo View Post
hi to all, i just get an iaudio 9 to substitute my samsung r0, i had in the past a d2+ and the volume was very loud one of the best i ever heard, now with i9 seem that also the samsung with is 20mW powe for channel is more powerful than this, maybe i need to do some change in the settings or is i9 not so loud?
My experience with the iAudio 9, at normal settings, has been that
the device is indeed anemic.

Driving (admittedly p.o.s.) auvio earbuds, on quiet songs, maxed out,
I often can't get sufficient volume on my public transit commute home.

In contrast, I typically kept my iPod Classic limited to about 80% of max,
& could typically get sufficient volume.

[And, no, I'm not a former heavy metal synth punk burnout.
My listening has always tended towards folk / pop.]
__________________
oldWithoutMoney.com
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 02-20-2011, 05:56 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Cowon, Sony, Apple, and Archos are all now following the EU volume restriction - but Archos is, IMO, the most famous offender,...er, I mean complying company.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 02-20-2011, 07:53 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The official manufacturer power ratings are usually bullshit, and don't tell anything at all: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=41708 - the "40mW" Cowon X5 is exactly as loud as the "74mW" Cowon D2, for example.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 03-19-2011, 05:17 PM
sergivs sergivs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 67
Default

I tried out iAudio 9 a few months ago, bought on Amazon in the US. It was very quiet with the 80-Ohm headphones, which I realize it was not meant to drive, but still it was the lowest output of ant portable device I've ever tried. I did not like the controls, either, so I returned it, although it had some good features.

Last edited by sergivs; 03-19-2011 at 10:42 PM. Reason: iAudio 9, not 7
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 12-19-2011, 01:39 PM
madvillian madvillian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default

i need your hulp! i deleted the param file from my cowon x7. but now i cant play the music!? i reinstall the firmware but it didnt help. what should i do?? and i use a macbook air.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.