android
  #1  
Old 10-11-2010, 10:45 PM
nicholaskid16 nicholaskid16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Posts: 32
Default Will I be able to run Zune software off a Macbook Pro?

Yea i know this is anythingbutipod but I can get a really good deal on a bascally brand new 13' Macbook Pro but the only problem is will I be able to run the zune software with a Mac?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-11-2010, 10:52 PM
syst3m's Avatar
syst3m syst3m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 141
Default

Use bootcamp, install windows, run Zune software.
There is no current native Zune software for Mac.
__________________
Have: ZuneHD 32GB, Zune 8GB
Had: Sansa e260, Some Old Panasonic MP3 Player
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-11-2010, 10:53 PM
JoshRead's Avatar
JoshRead JoshRead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Posts: 266
Default

Not unless you do it through Bootcamp.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-11-2010, 11:55 PM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

I own a MacBook Pro, and run Bootcamp/Windows7/Zune software, etc... works great for me.

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-12-2010, 12:10 AM
ChrisAlexandre's Avatar
ChrisAlexandre ChrisAlexandre is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
Default

I really wanted it to work with my macbook, but had to wait to buy bootcamp. It runs just fine as long as you have have windows installed.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-13-2010, 10:20 AM
ChrisAlexandre's Avatar
ChrisAlexandre ChrisAlexandre is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMac-MS View Post
Isn't Bootcamp free? You probably had to buy Windows, not BootCamp.

Cheers, Dave.
I meant Windows! Sorry about the misinformation there.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-12-2010, 12:13 AM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

Isn't Bootcamp free? You probably had to buy Windows, not BootCamp.

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-12-2010, 12:16 AM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Yep bootcamp is free, and I to have run zune on my macbook pro, works perfectly.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-12-2010, 12:57 AM
ItsLasher's Avatar
ItsLasher ItsLasher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Net
Posts: 204
Default

You can also use VMplayer and download the XP image free from Microsoft.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 10-12-2010, 01:29 AM
roguemat roguemat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 263
Default

Im going to agree with @ItsLasher on this. Running a VM will be way less painful than having two different OS's - especially if you are only using Windows for Zune.
__________________
Follow me on twitter and check out my blog
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 10-12-2010, 07:10 PM
nate8nate's Avatar
nate8nate nate8nate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Default

A Microsoft employee just tweeted that Mac users will be able to sync with WP7 soon. The tweet was deleted but a screenshot managed to be taken. More information on Engadget.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 10-12-2010, 07:24 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate8nate View Post
A Microsoft employee just tweeted that Mac users will be able to sync with WP7 soon. The tweet was deleted but a screenshot managed to be taken. More information on Engadget.
Oh! I hope that is true! and that it works with Zune HD to
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.