android
  #1  
Old 03-06-2011, 06:07 PM
dgb52 dgb52 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seal Beach
Posts: 1,021
Default Can the Archos 43 be upgraded to Honeycomb?

I am thinking about getting a Archos 43 and was wondering if it could be upgraded to the newest version of Android, Honeycomb 3.0
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-07-2011, 03:48 PM
barryem barryem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 207
Default

The Archos 43 has a single core processor and Honeycomb requires a dual core processor.

I doubt many of the current tablets can be upgraded.

I have an A43 and it would probably be nice to put Honeycomb on it but really it's very nice as it is. They've done a good job with it.

I've owned a lot of Archos devices over the years and they tend to get a lot of things wrong but they often get enough right to make their stuff worthwhile. I think this time they did a much better job than with their past devices.

Barry
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-07-2011, 05:14 PM
TechyguyDR's Avatar
TechyguyDR TechyguyDR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 317
Default

Actually the rumors that Honeycomb required a dual core processor was derided a while ago. The Nook Color and T-Mobile G1 are able to run Honeycomb, so I wouldn't be surprised if the 43 were able to run it.


Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-07-2011, 11:29 PM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

A few people having it running on the developers firmware on several different gen8 devices. So it can if they release it or you use the developer firmware which apparently voids the warranty.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-19-2011, 04:41 AM
realsuamor realsuamor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South-West Germany
Posts: 6
Default

There is a Angstrom (Embedded Linux) variant in the SDE firmware to download from Archos breaking Archos warranty (but not the defects liability by law being two years in europe). My guess is that the seller cannot find out if the warranty was void but only Archos itself (after you put back the original firmware on the device).

Honeycomb has no limitation whatsoever I read at different places. Last year there were many rumours concerning hardware limitations. They did not even post some recommended hardware. The only thing I read is that applications for larger screen sizes are encouraged to be developed. IMO best would be to offer support for two screen types, low and high resolution.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.