android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa > Sansa Fuze+

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2011, 09:19 AM
sidvicious99 sidvicious99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default What is the proper procedure to completely wipe everything off my Sansa?

I want to wipe everything off my sansa (including the firmware and the bootloader.) I want it to function as a USB flash drive so I can boot an os from it. So can anyone give me the proper instructions on how to do this? I used easeus partition manager to completely wipe the fuze, but it obviously didn't work because when i plugged it back in my computer, the sansa logo displayed.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-22-2011, 09:41 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Why wipe? Just switch to MSC mode and connect as a thumb drive does, you can delete all the files and folders when connect but IIRC the folders are rebuilt on boot up. But all the files will be gone.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-22-2011, 10:55 AM
sidvicious99 sidvicious99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Why wipe? Just switch to MSC mode and connect as a thumb drive does, you can delete all the files and folders when connect but IIRC the folders are rebuilt on boot up. But all the files will be gone.
When I write an image file to my sansa, it says "FAT is corrupted, Please connect device to PC and restore FAT." This is expected, but what is not expected is that my BIOS, which normally boots from flash drives, doesn't recognize my sansa. so I can't change my boot device order to my sansa and boot from there. So logically I thought I would need to completely wipe the firmware in order for the computer to recognize it as a flash drive.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-22-2011, 11:00 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Does your pc recognize it? If so, I'd format it (FAT 32) and use the panasonic or the sd card formatter program from the sd association.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-22-2011, 11:50 AM
sidvicious99 sidvicious99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Can I get a direct link to the sd card formatter, or is there an alternative? Because when I go to the SD website, apparently there is a redirecting loop and i can't view the webpage.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-22-2011, 11:56 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidvicious99 View Post
Can I get a direct link to the sd card formatter, or is there an alternative? Because when I go to the SD website, apparently there is a redirecting loop and i can't view the webpage.
I just checked and the sd associations website is down now but you could use the panasonic formatter http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...oad/index.html I would use the standard one and not the new beta.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-22-2011, 12:00 PM
sidvicious99 sidvicious99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default

the download link actually leads to the sd website.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-22-2011, 12:18 PM
sidvicious99 sidvicious99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default

oh my. I just received a BSOD from running this.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-22-2011, 12:26 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Never heard of anyone receiving a "blue screen of death" from running it and there's many of us here on abi that use it.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-22-2011, 12:34 PM
sidvicious99 sidvicious99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Im sure there are many people using it, but i did get a bsod. but, that was the stable version which doesn't support windows 7. i downloaded the beta from an unofficial website and when i ran it, it said that flash erase wasn't supported on my device.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-22-2011, 12:47 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

can't help you there, I run XP on most machines and vista on a lappy.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-22-2011, 03:00 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidvicious99 View Post
Im sure there are many people using it, but i did get a bsod. but, that was the stable version which doesn't support windows 7. i downloaded the beta from an unofficial website and when i ran it, it said that flash erase wasn't supported on my device.
It might say that on the website, that it doesn't support Windows 7, but it works just fine on my computer with Win 7 Ultimate.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-22-2011, 03:05 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
It might say that on the website, that it doesn't support Windows 7, but it works just fine on my computer with Win 7 Ultimate.
He could have meant "flash erase" vs formatting, which I would think is what you use.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 07-22-2011, 02:55 PM
sidvicious99 sidvicious99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default

So is there any definite way to wipe everything off? I used the tool and it formatted but the firmware is still there. (...?)
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 07-22-2011, 02:58 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I don't own a fuze + but if you do wipe it, it might not even connect to your pc.

Edit: most sansa's use a hidden partition to house the fw.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 07-22-2011, 03:04 PM
sidvicious99 sidvicious99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default

well, do you by any chance know how to access that hidden partition?
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 07-22-2011, 03:14 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidvicious99 View Post
well, do you by any chance know how to access that hidden partition?
Nope, haven't the faintest idea. Why exactly do you want to do this anyways? Buying a flash drive with enough capacity to boot an OS would be pretty cheap.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 07-22-2011, 03:21 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I don't believe there is a way to access the hidden partition. With older "e" series players you just needed the e200tool and a system running Linux to access it but AFAIK there is no new sansa tool to use now.

Edit: and like I said before, you may find out that if you wipe it, that it will not connect, so what good would it be then
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Last edited by WalkGood; 07-22-2011 at 03:30 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 07-22-2011, 03:10 PM
sidvicious99 sidvicious99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default

I tried SD formatter 2.0 (stable) and it formatted properly, but it could not perform a flash erase. Same with version 3.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 07-22-2011, 05:42 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Here's the current efforts on recovery mode for the Fuze+, but it probably isn't really useful - http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SansaFuzePlus#Recovery_mode
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
boot, firmware, flash drive, sansa fuze

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.