android
  #1  
Old 07-24-2007, 07:17 PM
BeckySmyt BeckySmyt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default Transfer musics

Ok, I know this will sound really dumb, but I've just bought my Creative Zen V, and I'm having a little problem transfering songs to it. Maybe it is very simples but I'm just not getting it x)

I used Zen V Serias Media Explorer to transfer music into my mp3, using the tool "add media". All went well, I was abble to transfer the songs, but I didnt find a place to edit the music's names and after doing it, I couldnt find a playlist with the music I had just transfered, in the program. So, I tryed Creative MediaSource 5 organizer. There, I created a playlist and was able do edit the song's names and artists, and had covers to it. But now, I can transfer it. I dont know how to do it. I found some tools that should do it (Transfer Music, Sync Music, Transfer Playlist) but when I click them, this message appears: "No Creative Mp3 is selected. Please, connect your mp3 player and try again". But I know my Mp3 is connected because when it isn't, Zen V Series Media Explorer doesnt even work...

I hope you understand my point, in spite of my English being really bad x) If you could help, I would really apreciate it ^_^
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-24-2007, 08:42 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Hiya, Becky, and welcome to ABi!

I've never been much of a fan of Creative's media management software. They're inconsistent, not very well laid out (in the case of MediaSource), and have been the source of frustration for many.

My recommendation would be to remove all the Creative software and install Windows Media Player 11. WMP11 is surprisingly easy to use, does an excellent job with managing Zen players, and doesn't require flipping from program to program just to get common tasks done.

If you decide to go that route, I recommend reformatting your player first, to avoid any problems that could be caused by your player still believing MediaSource is managing it.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-24-2007, 09:55 PM
BeckySmyt BeckySmyt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the welcome x)

I have Windows Media Player 10, does this version work for this purpose too? And what do I do? Just go to syncronize, transfer the songs to the programme and from there to the player? It looks so complicate x) I'm feeling more dumb than I did Before.

Anyway, if somebody knows how to work the problem with creative's software out, I would still like to give it a try. Maybe I'm missing something?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-24-2007, 11:15 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

No, WMP10 lacks the necessary replacement MTP drivers if you decided to remove the Creative software. WMP11's MTP driver is actually much more robust than even Creative's driver. I think WMP11 is also more user-friendly than WMP10.

Unfortunately, I can't give you much help with Creative's software, as your version of Media Explorer is different from the ZVM version, and I used MediaSource for all of maybe one day over a year ago.

The best suggestion I can think of is to make a complete backup of all your music files, and store the backup someplace safe (like maybe a DVD or two). Then, do all your tinkering with your working copy. As long as you have a good backup of everything, you can play around with the different features in Creative's software (I've found I learn best with the "hey, what does this button do..." method ). If worst came to worst and you royally screw something up, you can always recopy off your backups.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-25-2007, 03:23 PM
BeckySmyt BeckySmyt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Ok, I guess I will just download wmp11 and try to use it. I'm wondering if it works with my windows version...

Anyway, I'll try and then tell you what happened x) Thank you!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-25-2007, 07:12 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

WMP11 is included with Windows Vista, and should work with Windows XP SP2.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-28-2007, 01:03 AM
4ki's Avatar
4ki 4ki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 72
Default

I don't know; the software, for organizational purposes, was fine by me, and I simply dragged/dropped files into the folder via the software window.

However the really have to fix the encoder; I had to constantly re-encode files to 160kbps for space, and the software really blew at that. Every 3 or so tracks had a jumbled mess of static in the middle.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-13-2007, 08:16 PM
BeckySmyt BeckySmyt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

It's getting worse >_< Im starting to think I made a big mistake buying this player. WMP 11 doesnt work on my computer, and now Creative Media Explorer wont even open =/ At this moment I dont have a way of transfering music to my mp3.

>_<
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-14-2007, 03:49 PM
EnAll EnAll is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 14
Default

I recommend Meidamonkey. It's never failed me yet.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.