android
  #1  
Old 12-07-2007, 01:49 AM
scootinger scootinger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default ZVM suddenly gives "Firmware Problem" message?

Today my ZVM froze up (as it does every now and then) so I decided to reset it. It started rebuilding the database, but eventually it gave me a "Firmware Problem" message while the hard drive is actively spinning at full speed. I tried resetting, but it doesn't do any good.

I'm puzzled as to what might be causing this. Has this happened to anyone else? Any advice appreciated - thanks!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-07-2007, 09:07 AM
XJ3F3Y's Avatar
XJ3F3Y XJ3F3Y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scootinger View Post
Today my ZVM froze up (as it does every now and then) so I decided to reset it. It started rebuilding the database, but eventually it gave me a "Firmware Problem" message while the hard drive is actively spinning at full speed. I tried resetting, but it doesn't do any good.

I'm puzzled as to what might be causing this. Has this happened to anyone else? Any advice appreciated - thanks!
Try going into recovery mode and reloading the firmware.

Just before that try the "clean up" option, i don't think it will fix it but it might.

How to get into recovery mode:
I can't remember the link but luckily i saved how on my computer.

1. Insert a paperclip, earring stud, or other slender, unbreakable item into the reset hole located at the bottom of the player to press the reset button inside.
You should feel a "click" when you've pressed the button. Press and hold the reset button.

2. While holding the reset button, slide the power switch toward the power icon and hold it there. Let go of the reset button.

3. When the Zen bootscreen appears, release the power switch.

When your going to reload the firmware make sure you already have the installer saved on your computer, i don't know why this is but i know that for some reason you have to do this.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-07-2007, 12:15 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Let us know how the Disk Cleanup goes. I'm thinking hard drive problem here, but I'm hoping it's a matter of massive corruption and not impending failure of the drive itself.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-08-2007, 09:12 AM
boiker boiker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default

I just.. and I mean within the last 2 days.. had this problem. The only fix was to wipe the ZEN's HD and reinstall the firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-08-2007, 05:44 PM
XJ3F3Y's Avatar
XJ3F3Y XJ3F3Y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boiker View Post
I just.. and I mean within the last 2 days.. had this problem. The only fix was to wipe the ZEN's HD and reinstall the firmware.
At least there was a fix, better that than having to buy a new HD
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.