android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Insignia > Insignia NS-DV

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2008, 11:06 PM
rohusaga's Avatar
rohusaga rohusaga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monterrey in Mexico
Posts: 29
Default My computer shut down when i connect my player

HELP!!!

When i connect my insignia player (in both modes) in my computer (Windows XP SP2).. my computer shut down..

Why????
PLEASE HELP ME...
__________________
Im just a Hilaryfan.... very proud..... i cant wait for her concert!!!

Insignia rocks!!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-13-2008, 01:44 AM
daking daking is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Default

I think you may have a problem with the USB or USB drivers on your computer. Does this happen when you connect any other USB devices? Did you install any new ones?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-13-2008, 11:38 AM
rohusaga's Avatar
rohusaga rohusaga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monterrey in Mexico
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daking View Post
I think you may have a problem with the USB or USB drivers on your computer. Does this happen when you connect any other USB devices? Did you install any new ones?

no...

its weird... because when i connect my player in my desktop computer... shut down
and when i connect it to my laptop it shut down too!!!

please help
__________________
Im just a Hilaryfan.... very proud..... i cant wait for her concert!!!

Insignia rocks!!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-13-2008, 01:20 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,057
Default

I am wondering if there is a short in the USB port. The short could be causing an interrupt that can be shutting down the computer. If you're running XP, I suggest to look in the event viewer. It might provide some information as to why it's shutting down. If the shutdown is indicating an unexpected event, chances are it's originating from the DAP itself.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-13-2008, 02:19 PM
rohusaga's Avatar
rohusaga rohusaga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monterrey in Mexico
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
I am wondering if there is a short in the USB port. The short could be causing an interrupt that can be shutting down the computer. If you're running XP, I suggest to look in the event viewer. It might provide some information as to why it's shutting down. If the shutdown is indicating an unexpected event, chances are it's originating from the DAP itself.
i dont get it
__________________
Im just a Hilaryfan.... very proud..... i cant wait for her concert!!!

Insignia rocks!!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-13-2008, 02:33 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,057
Default

If you're running Windows XP, right click on My Computer, then choose Manage, There will now be a utility called Computer Management. In that utility, you can choose Event Viewer. From there you can view application and system events.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-13-2008, 04:21 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

Is there a possible way you can try a new USB cable, my guess is either there is a short in the DAP, or in the cable.
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-13-2008, 04:50 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Sounds like a bad USB cable, short, or driver issue. Does the computer restart or shut down when it happens? Does it start up or work fine if you plug in the device and then turn on the computer? How does it work if you use a different USB cable?
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-13-2008, 05:51 PM
rohusaga's Avatar
rohusaga rohusaga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monterrey in Mexico
Posts: 29
Default

Well... in my...

Desktop Computer:
i conect my insignia... 2 seconds later the computer turns off...abruptly

Laptop:
i connect my insignia... then my laptop detect my player... then wait like 3 seconds... the laptop screen turns blue with some letters (its fast when the blue screen appears..so i cant read it) and then my computer restart...

Please help!


NOTE:
I HAVE 3 INSIGNIA PLAYER... (mine (FW: 1.9 Beta) works very well in the laptop (in the other computer it doesnt), my brothers players (the same but with FW: 1.5) doesnt work in any computer (desktop and laptop...)
i connect them with the 3 differents cables....but it doesnt work....

please
__________________
Im just a Hilaryfan.... very proud..... i cant wait for her concert!!!

Insignia rocks!!
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-13-2008, 06:25 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Desktop: Shuts downs huh... I'm surprised it doesn't restart too.

Laptop: That blue screen is called the BSOD (Blue Screen of Death). Micosoft is famous for it.

It appears to be crashing when loading drivers. This would make sense because it may very well be related to corrupt firmware or simply corrupt drivers. Is this a new player or has it been working fine until now?
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-13-2008, 06:25 PM
digitaldel digitaldel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 114
Default

Does it do this in both MTP and MSC mode? It is almost impossible for the USB port to do this, it has to be a Software related issue.

Thanks
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-13-2008, 06:40 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by digitaldel View Post
It is almost impossible for the USB port to do this...
I don't know if I would say it like that. I have seen plenty faulty USB ports, USB ports grounding/shorting out, or bad USB cables be the cause of this exact issue. Doesn't happen often.... yes. Almost impossible..... not even close.

The fact that he said that he gets a BSOD and that it takes time from the point when he inserts the device, recognizes it, and then crashes, is what directs me to believe it is software induced issue.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-13-2008, 06:44 PM
rohusaga's Avatar
rohusaga rohusaga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monterrey in Mexico
Posts: 29
Default

maybe...



it crashes in both modes....
__________________
Im just a Hilaryfan.... very proud..... i cant wait for her concert!!!

Insignia rocks!!
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-13-2008, 07:47 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyRS View Post
I don't know if I would say it like that. I have seen plenty faulty USB ports, USB ports grounding/shorting out, or bad USB cables be the cause of this exact issue. Doesn't happen often.... yes. Almost impossible..... not even close.

The fact that he said that he gets a BSOD and that it takes time from the point when he inserts the device, recognizes it, and then crashes, is what directs me to believe it is software induced issue.
But with his problem he can't reload the firmware without the computer restarting
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 04-13-2008, 08:31 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCM View Post
But with his problem he can't reload the firmware without the computer restarting
I'm not too familiar with Insignia players, (but as with many Creative's) do they have a type of recovery mode that can erase the current firmware before reloading another in case the current firmware is corrupt and not working properly or allowing connection to the computer to reload it? If this is a firmware issue causing the problem, this could be a way to get it to connect again and reload it.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 04-13-2008, 09:53 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

Do you have a computer that you have NOT tried with this player before, if so you could try it, and if it shuts down, the issue is with the player
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 04-14-2008, 02:19 PM
bit bit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Default

First and foremost, you have to change your system settings in windows so it doesn't reboot automatically when it crashes (BSODs). This will allow you to see exactly what the error message is when it crashes. You do this by going to the System Properties(System applet in Control Panel), going to the Advanced tab, clicking on System startup and recovery and unchecking the option at the bottom which says "Automatically restart". Click OK, and OK again. Try it in both modes and report the error messages here...

Secondly, I had a similar problem a few days ago. MTP was crashing whenever I tried to go into any of the folders in the device, MSC wouldn't install the drivers and would crash right when the installation of the drivers would start, and forcing MSC (by starting the player with the Hold button activated) would crash the system right away. The error message that I was getting indicated that there was an error with fastfat.sys, which meant that when the operating system was trying to interface with the storage of the device by using the abovementioned driver for reading the FAT filesystem, it would crash. I read someplace else on the net that the filesystem on the device may be corrupted. After doing an Erase of internal memory on the device, I was able to plug it in on both of my machines without them crashing. I was also successfully able to install the MSC drivers and put my music back on.
I'd suggest you try erasing the internal memory also and see if that makes a difference.

bit
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 04-14-2008, 02:51 PM
rohusaga's Avatar
rohusaga rohusaga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monterrey in Mexico
Posts: 29
Default

thank u guys ( all of you )
iŽll try... and tell u later
__________________
Im just a Hilaryfan.... very proud..... i cant wait for her concert!!!

Insignia rocks!!
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 04-14-2008, 03:11 PM
rohusaga's Avatar
rohusaga rohusaga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monterrey in Mexico
Posts: 29
Default

No... it crashes...

it said... fastfat.sys PAGE_FAULT_NONPAGED_AREA

or something like that...

so... whats wrong ?
__________________
Im just a Hilaryfan.... very proud..... i cant wait for her concert!!!

Insignia rocks!!
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 04-14-2008, 03:41 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

The file system may be corrupt. Try taking bit's advice and try reformatting the player. You will have to format it from the player since you can't connect it to the computer.

Settings > System > Erase Internal Memory

You will loose all files you have on the device, so keep that in mind. I'm not sure if that does a real format or not, so maybe another person that's more familiar with the NS-DV will speak up. Either way, hopefully it will be enough for it to get connected and detected properly.

If that doesn't work, I still suggest reloading the firmware if it has the ability to remove it from the device before reloading it. Not sure if it can be done.....?
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.