android
  #1  
Old 05-11-2008, 04:57 PM
takevin takevin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default plugging the pilot into your car radio input?

Anyone do this yet, how does it sound?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-11-2008, 06:36 PM
mark541 mark541 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: plugging the pilot into your car radio input

I've used the Pilot with my car (Saturn Aura XR with the premium sound system). It sounds pretty good overall. However, unless I have the Pilot volume at 30-35, I need to bump up the car stereo volume compared to CD source or the radio.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-12-2008, 06:26 AM
Carbon88 Carbon88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22
Default sounds great if..

your head unit has a usb input. Mine has a usb input and a 3.5 mm analog aux input. With the usb input, it sounds as good as the cd player. With the 3.5 mm it sounds ok but as far as I'm concerned, a little flat. I use the 3.5mm input for audio books and podcasts but use the usb for music. I'd use the usb for everything but when I have it connected this way, control is largely give up to the head unit. In other words, I can't do things like set book marks and so on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by takevin View Post
Anyone do this yet, how does it sound?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-12-2008, 12:06 PM
takevin takevin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark541 View Post
I've used the Pilot with my car (Saturn Aura XR with the premium sound system). It sounds pretty good overall. However, unless I have the Pilot volume at 30-35, I need to bump up the car stereo volume compared to CD source or the radio.

Thats how mine sounds too. Wish i had a usb on mine, its a 08 silverado. Unless its on the back.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-12-2008, 12:28 PM
takevin takevin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Would using a bluetooth adapter be any better? http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProdu...duct_Id=149006

someone on another forum said this helped even it out.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-24-2008, 02:56 PM
pendragn pendragn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbon88 View Post
your head unit has a usb input. Mine has a usb input and a 3.5 mm analog aux input. With the usb input, it sounds as good as the cd player. With the 3.5 mm it sounds ok but as far as I'm concerned, a little flat. I use the 3.5mm input for audio books and podcasts but use the usb for music. I'd use the usb for everything but when I have it connected this way, control is largely give up to the head unit. In other words, I can't do things like set book marks and so on.
If you hook the Pilot up to USB power only you can set the Pilot to pause when power is removed and start playing again when power is applied. That's the mode I run mine in in the car and it works well when hardwired. It doesn't work so well with Bluetooth because the Pilot boots up faster than me BT gateway does and it times out before it can connect.

tk
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-19-2008, 04:58 PM
Conchchowder Conchchowder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ft. Lauderdlae
Posts: 51
Default

My car stereo has SD inputs so I just use that.
Edit: I have since subscribed to Rhapsody To-Go and searched for my JVC head-unit online. I found out that my particular model does not have line-in inputs but it has Sirrius/CD changer inputs.

If you own a JVC and it has this capability, then you have J-Link or J-Bus connections.

I located a J-Link to 3.5mm cable in Honk Kong on eBay for $5.99 plus 7.99 for shipping.

Others charged up to $80 for this cable.

Simply attach to the J-Link input on the rear of your head unit and run the cable to a convenient location. I use a cellular phone holder on a gooseneck to hold my player. Nice.

Last edited by Conchchowder; 08-26-2008 at 02:49 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-19-2008, 07:31 PM
vferrari vferrari is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 95
Default

What are SD inputs? SD card slot?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-19-2008, 08:51 PM
Conchchowder Conchchowder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ft. Lauderdlae
Posts: 51
Default

Yes
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.