android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Creative > Zen Vision:M

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:47 PM
Java~the~Hut's Avatar
Java~the~Hut Java~the~Hut is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas,Texas , USA
Posts: 17
Exclamation ZEN Vision M Series Media Explorer no longer rips Mp3 ?

hay all I just updated my zen software

and media explorer audio cd riper will no longer use mp3
wma only

what gives ? did I miss something
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:59 PM
FrododorF's Avatar
FrododorF FrododorF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montgomery AL
Posts: 712
Default

yuck wma.....not that is bothers me that much i never use that anyway, but i am always sad to see features decreased
__________________
Leprechauns hide their gold in Electrical Outlets..
..Use Forks to Get em Out..
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-26-2007, 04:15 AM
TheBlackMulcet
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Creative charge you for a pack that will allow mp3 encoding. It's $9.99.
If you go to the settings dialog, and select the Rip tab. Either on the panel with the 'Change Rip Format' button, or on the dialog from pressing that button there is a hyperlink to where you can go to get the add on.

A bit of a rip off if you ask me, if you want it for free download a LAME ripper like CDex or Audiograbber.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-26-2007, 06:09 AM
klumsy bot's Avatar
klumsy bot klumsy bot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 820
Default

Go EAC+LAME. Link in my sig.
__________________
Need help with Zen Vision M chargers? DVD ripping?
Useful tools: Exact Audio copy to rip your CDs and mp3tag to organise.
SUPER to convert videos and music.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-19-2008, 08:40 PM
toastmaster65 toastmaster65 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Default

Glad to see I'm not the only one asking "wheres the ripper?". Recently my M30 suffered a catastrophic USB communication error. When I connected the replacement unit, the Ripper is not the same.

Leads me to ask "what just happened?"

This was one of my favorite features of the program as it would rip the CD and write to the M30 and to the Hard Drive media library (also USB) simultaneously.

Now, will have to perform a whole bunch more rigamaroll to get it right.

Why can't things stay great once they've achieved greatness?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-19-2008, 10:35 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Problems with the ZVM shouldn't have caused any issue with the ripping software unless you manipulated the software in some way (installed a newer version...).

Personaly, I would take klumsy bot's recommendation. A few more point-and-click's, but oh so worth it.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-20-2008, 01:31 PM
toastmaster65 toastmaster65 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Default

It's as if history has been re-written to make you think you've been losing your mind. This ripper worked beautifully, now there isn't even a reference to this feature let alone the "launcher" program.

Searching the hard drive, .cab .dll and others offer no reference to this ripper.

It's like the movie "gas light", where I'm convinced this software existed, and worked wonderfully, but now...nada.

Go Fish. Rely on my rippers that I've used in the past. This all used to be automatic. now...a step backwards.

If anyone knows "what happened to the M30 cd ripper?" I'd like to know.


Making the simple complicated is commonplace; making the complicated simple, awesomely simple, that's creativity - Charles Mingus
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-20-2008, 09:59 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
It's as if history has been re-written to make you think you've been losing your mind.
I got to tell ya, I get this way when I ususally read most of your posts, lol.

Have you tried reinstalling the software?
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.