android
  #1  
Old 07-12-2008, 10:42 AM
Kess Kess is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default Album Art, WMP11 and the Sony S618

I'm having some frustrating problems getting album art to work reliably with the S618. I hope someone can help.

When I bought the S618 a week ago it all worked fine, and album art was transferred by WMP11 and displayed on the player. Recently, however, this seems to have stopped working. I can still transfer music files, but even though the album art is displayed in WMP11 it no longer shows up on the S618 (all I see is a grey box with the Walkman logo).

I gather that album art has to be embedded as a tag in the MP3 files, an action that should be done automatically by WMP11 during syncing (right?). Any suggestions what might've happened? Is there a tickbox hidden away somewhere in WMP11 to enable the embedding and transfer of album art to the player?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-12-2008, 06:04 PM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

i use media monkey, and embed the album art in the tag info in each mp3, it does it automatically more or less. very convenient. and works great with the walkman.

media monkey is free, just use that to tag the stuff even if you don't want to use it as a music manager.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-13-2008, 12:23 AM
Kess Kess is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default

I tried MediaMonkey and it caused other problems - I store my music on a network drive and it kept giving "Delayed Write Failed" messages when trying to update tags (something that no other software has caused). It's a shame because it did seem better than WMP11.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-13-2008, 02:12 AM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

you mapped the drive right?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-13-2008, 04:58 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,032
Default

Try J.River Media Jukebox - don't know if it'll work for your situation, wouldn't hurt to try!
Link in my sig!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-13-2008, 07:08 AM
Kess Kess is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default

I've tried it as mapped drive and as a direct network path; both give the same error when updating tags (leaving the tag data corrupted). Mediamonkey seems to work fine in all other respects.

Normally I would assume a drive fault or network problem, but Mediamonkey is the only product that generates this error.

I'll try the J.River jukebox and see if that's any better.

Thanks for the suggestions everyone.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.