android
  #1  
Old 07-14-2008, 01:25 PM
Pepe Lamboda Pepe Lamboda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Default Gaps Between Connected Songs

Hey everyone, I'm a bit new to MP3 players, so a general question - many of my CDs have tracks that are connected, but my Sansa Fuze (and my other old SanDisk MP3 player) always has a gap between tracks that it plays. Any way around that, or are all MP3 players like that?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-14-2008, 01:50 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

unless the player supports "gappless playback" then no there is no way around it.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-14-2008, 01:51 PM
TheBar1 TheBar1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Pepe - The feature you are describing is referred to as gapless playback, and the Fuze, along with may other MP3 players does not offer it. It's possible that future firmware might include this feature, though, as it is often one of the things that MP3 Player owners complain about.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-14-2008, 02:43 PM
HipHopScribe's Avatar
HipHopScribe HipHopScribe is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,000
Default

Microsoft Zunes, the Rio Karma (old player, no longer made), the Trekstor Vibez and iPods (starting with 5th gen) have gapless playback. Using Rockbox (an alternative firmware) gives gapless support to these devices:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rockbox#Supported_devices
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-14-2008, 02:46 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,057
Default

I just want to point out that the Zunes and iPods use a software hack to achieve this. A very good hack, but it's all in the software.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-14-2008, 03:27 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HipHopScribe View Post
Microsoft Zunes, the Rio Karma (old player, no longer made), the Trekstor Vibez and iPods (starting with 5th gen) have gapless playback. Using Rockbox (an alternative firmware) gives gapless support to these devices:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rockbox#Supported_devices
They way you said that makes it sound like all of those use Rockbox to allow for this feature, when the Zune never had rockbox made for it and uses the OF for gappless playback.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-14-2008, 04:20 PM
Skinjob Skinjob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruleworld View Post
They way you said that makes it sound like all of those use Rockbox to allow for this feature, when the Zune never had rockbox made for it and uses the OF for gappless playback.
What musichound meant was that neither the Zune or iPod actually support gapless in the players themselves. With the iPod, it's actually iTunes that does all the work to prepare the files to play back with no gap. Without running the files through iTunes first the iPod would not be gappless. Same with Zune and it's associated software. Probably not an important distinction to most users, but it does underline how difficult it is to get gapless right in a firmware-only solution.

Players that support gapless without preprocessing the files on a computer first are few and far between. The afformentioned Karma and Vibez can do it. Also, as mentioned, Rockbox firmware can do it.

The difficulty also depends on the file format. Gapless is realively easy with Ogg Vorbis and FLAC. It's much more difficult with MP3.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-14-2008, 05:35 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

The zune requires no processing on the software's side, The Zune as a device does it all.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-14-2008, 05:37 PM
HipHopScribe's Avatar
HipHopScribe HipHopScribe is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruleworld View Post
They way you said that makes it sound like all of those use Rockbox to allow for this feature, when the Zune never had rockbox made for it and uses the OF for gappless playback.
I thought my post was clear, but anyway, I didn't mean to suggest that.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-14-2008, 05:44 PM
Pepe Lamboda Pepe Lamboda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the info everyone, I hope someday a firmware update might help.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-16-2008, 10:32 AM
diik0nn's Avatar
diik0nn diik0nn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default

This is a firmware update I'm also really hoping for...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.