android
  #1  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:19 PM
TheMook TheMook is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Exclamation 30g works but has no sound...

i bought a 30g vision M from a friend and its worked fine for a few months but just recently started to not have any sound... funny enough the FM radio has sound just not any songs in the player.. ive tried resetting, formatting, updating the firmware, and even done the clean up thing... but it still doesnt work... oh.. and now.. whenever i hook it up to the computer it recognizes it and then start sync ing everything i have in my library.. it never did that before... please help!! should i just trash the player? thanks for all your help~~
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-30-2008, 11:58 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Hello TheMook. Welcome. It looks as though you may have an issue with the ADC/DAC (Analog to Digital/Digital to Analog) conversion within the SoC (System-on-Chip). The reason why you may hear the FM radio and not any other audio output is because the FM radio may not be going through any kind of analog/digital conversion like that of any other audio within the player. The FM radio can come straight in (line-in on headphone jack through the antenna line/pin) and then output through the headphone amp and out the headphone jack; bypassing any kind of internal conversion. Unfortunatly, in order to correct, you will most likely need a new mainboard for the ZVM.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:23 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

If thats the case it may be time to start shopping Unless your feeling technical and got a bricked one on Ebay and did a swap... but I would recommend shopping.
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:30 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

In case you decide to attempt a mainboard replacement (has been done many times around here and may be easier than you think):

Here is the ABI disassembly guide.
Here is a video of a disassembly.
Here is another disassembly video
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-09-2008, 09:56 PM
TheMook TheMook is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default new mainboard?

how much does that cost? im sure i can do it.. i have al electronics background
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-11-2008, 10:45 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Where ever you can find a replacement mainboard. Either from a website somewhere or some place like EBay as an as-is unit that you could use the mainboard out of for a swap.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.