android
  #1  
Old 11-15-2008, 02:53 PM
Nty Nty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default Changing the radio frequencies limits

Hi, I have a Sansa E250 V1 (probably) and I really want to change the limits of the FM radio so it would be 80Mhz-135Mhz instead of 80Mhz-108Mhz, I know it's possible to do it in those old radio tapes,but i don't think that the E250 have one of those coils that limits ht frequency.
So,is it possible? and if it is,how?
thank you very much!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-15-2008, 06:16 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Have you tried changing the region? If have tried that, you might not be about to do that. You might want to try Rockbox, but I am not sure if that works, too. The FM radio chip is different from the older radios.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-16-2008, 10:06 AM
Nty Nty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Yes, I've tried to change the region,but still a maximum of 108Mhz,and i really don't want to mess my sansa with rockbox again (got it bricked 2 times with rockbox),and i don't think that rockbox have those frequencies,because they are reserved for air traffic control (legel to listen,need a license to transmit,and yes, i am an aviation freak).
Any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-17-2008, 12:36 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

I have Rockbox on my e200R, and have not got any issues. What kind of issues did you have then?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-17-2008, 03:44 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nty View Post
Hi, I have a Sansa E250 V1 (probably) and I really want to change the limits of the FM radio so it would be 80Mhz-135Mhz instead of 80Mhz-108Mhz,
Datasheet says Fmax is 108MHz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nty View Post
got it bricked 2 times with rockbox
You can't brick a device more then once . . .
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-17-2008, 11:05 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Datasheet says Fmax is 108MHz.
It says that, but I know there is devices that you can open the receivers and transmitters by removing a diode, jumpering an area, or somehow.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-18-2008, 05:16 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
It says that, but I know there is devices that you can open the receivers and transmitters by removing a diode, jumpering an area, or somehow.
Radios are built into ICs these days, so physically moddding them isn't possible. You're welcome to play around with software mods and see if the device will tune past what the datasheet says though.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-18-2008, 05:46 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Saratoga, there are radio equipment that have ICs that is modable. Like the Icom 706, there is a mod to extend what it receive. Here is the mod if you want to see.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-18-2008, 10:46 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
Saratoga, there are radio equipment that have ICs that is modable. Like the Icom 706, there is a mod to extend what it receive. Here is the mod if you want to see.
First sentence of that link says the IC is designed for the range of frequencies the mod enables. I'm not doubting that you can take an IC made for a given frequency range and use it in that range. Obviously this is possible. In the most extreme case you could just desolder it and hook it up to a better designed circuit.

The issue here is that the IC is apparently not rated to work above 108MHz, and although I haven't studied the manual in enough detail to say that it doesn't secretly allow higher frequencies with the right firmware patch, I do think that its not possible to somehow physically mod it to tune a wider band.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.