android
  #1  
Old 09-19-2007, 11:27 PM
jamma's Avatar
jamma jamma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a broken down tractor
Posts: 20
Lightbulb Record/line in?

I'm just wondering.. does the pilot have two headphone jacks or a line in like the NS-DV did? I noticed the dapreview's video had a RECORDING folder, but that might be for FM radio recording or am I mistaken?
I'm still going to grab it tomorrow, our BB just got them in.
One of the reasons I got the NS-DV was for the line in and the mostly high quality recording capabilities for.. 'legally' recording a few choice concerts..
Just curious, thanks ahead of time.

Also, an afterthought - anybody know a good pair of bluetooth headphones on the cheaper side (say under $100)?

One last thing, sorry if it's already been mentioned.
__________________
Smells like meat. Rotten meat.

Last edited by jamma; 09-19-2007 at 11:43 PM. Reason: forgot politeness
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-20-2007, 11:59 AM
Trunk666 Trunk666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Jersey, U.S.A.
Posts: 71
Default

It has two headphone jacks. One doubles as Video (presumably A/V) Out and the other is Line In.

The record folder stores anything from the Recording function which includes Line In and FM recording. BTW, the FM radio recording sounds equally as good as the radio. If you get a good signal, it could probably be mistaken for MP3s. The RDS recording function works too. Pretty sweet if you're recording an entire program you like (i.e. the back in the day joints on power 105 hahah).
__________________
-Andrew
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-22-2007, 11:59 PM
jamma's Avatar
jamma jamma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a broken down tractor
Posts: 20
Default

One last probably noob question..
Is there a way to record directly from a microphone? I'm having a little trouble and I assume it's because the microphone isn't independently powered like another line in (from a CD player using male to male headphone jack, etc) would be.
If that's the problem, is there a solution? Some kind of portable nuclear power transformer?
__________________
Smells like meat. Rotten meat.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-23-2007, 06:28 PM
Trunk666 Trunk666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Jersey, U.S.A.
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamma View Post
Some kind of portable nuclear power transformer?
Amazing.

I don't have a microphone. Maybe I could plug some headphones in and yell into them. Who knows. It might just work. I figure you'd need a microphone amp. I've seen little ones before, but can't seem to find them on Ebay right now.

Here's one for $70 that should do the trick (XLR and 1/4" jacks).

http://www.music123.com/Rolls-MP13-M...34897.Music123

You might be able to use a headphone amp too, but it might not be clean enough or have enough power.
__________________
-Andrew
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-24-2007, 03:40 PM
jamma's Avatar
jamma jamma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a broken down tractor
Posts: 20
Default

Has anybody had any success with the line in jack and a regular unassisted microphone?
You know, to confirm that that's the problem?

Because $70 on an amp and $70 for a mic is a little more than I'd like to spend for the little use I'll put to it.
__________________
Smells like meat. Rotten meat.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-24-2007, 04:27 PM
Trunk666 Trunk666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Jersey, U.S.A.
Posts: 71
Default

Oh, no that's totally understandable. What kind of mic are you using? I might have a computer type mic laying around to test with the Pilot. I'm in the library until 9 tonight, though.

I'd venture to guess that the bigger ones will need a power source.
__________________
-Andrew
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-24-2007, 08:46 PM
jamma's Avatar
jamma jamma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a broken down tractor
Posts: 20
Default

Well, the only one I've tested so far is the one on my headset which is pretty high quality and pretty big and powerful and it very well could be powered through the headphone part of the headset as far as I know.

It's the sennheiser PC166 USB if that makes any difference.
http://www.sennheiserusa.com/newsite...transid=500928
(yes, it's expensive and yes it's worth it )
__________________
Smells like meat. Rotten meat.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-04-2007, 10:27 AM
digitaldel digitaldel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 114
Default

The microphone does require a pre-amplifier, it will not work with most passive mics.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-29-2008, 08:08 PM
AnitaBath's Avatar
AnitaBath AnitaBath is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Default

I've found a preamp/mic on eBay that could work on the Pilot. It's not pretty and it's too expensive, but it says; "This is the fully stereo microphone which you can connect to any recording device that does not have the microphone input (devices that have line-in or phono input)."
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.