android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Insignia > Insignia Pilot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2008, 09:20 PM
fjfiji fjfiji is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default Glitchy Pilot Problem, Any Help or Suggestions Appreciated

So I got my 8gb Insignia Pilot in May. It seemed to be the perfect player for me, and had been until some problems started. First all of my files were showing up as "Unknown." After some desperate attempts to fix it, I finally deleted all the music and put it back on, and all was fixed. Now, for a couple months or so, I'm not exactly sure, it has been very gltichy. I get into the Music Library and it often automatically goes to 'Play All' before I have a chance to click the button to the right. If I do get into the artist menu, which I prefer to browse from, while scrolling down the list it pops up very frequently as if I'd pressed the middle button, though I have not, and preceeds to play the song. I then have to start over and try again. Then, when I am playing the song, it starts and stops as if I'm pressing the middle button to pause and un-pause it. I now have to resort to putting it on hold, or locking it, while I listen to the song so that it doesn't stop. i just tried to delete all the music and put it back on, but alas, it is still causing me the same problems.
If anyone has any idea what in the world I should do, please help me. I love my player, and at this point I can use it, but it causes me great frustration anytime I do. In fact, just today, it deleted my favorite album and I was unable to stop it, it was as if I'd been pressing the buttons.
Any help or suggestions are appreciated, and thank you in advance. =]
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-25-2008, 07:43 AM
nobs nobs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 156
Default

Sounds like the mechanical switches have become dirty and are shorting out.
If you have mech skills, a disassembly and a through cleaning might help.
I feel these players are throw away toys and refurbs are a dime a dozen…
If I had the time or low on cash, the cleaning option would be high on the list…
Good luck.
__________________
Buying inferior DRM lock music is successful for the RIAA
but only with ignorant consumers.
Buy used CD's and resell 'em
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-25-2008, 02:15 PM
SaruNinja's Avatar
SaruNinja SaruNinja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 75
Default

Go to "settings", then "system", then "erase internal memory". Then put all your songs, videos, etc. back on.
I think it's reformatting or something.

After doing that, my Pilot has been nearly glitch free since, the only recurring glitch being that sometimes it starts songs where i last paused them (like it does with videos). Also, before i did that formatting thing, my Pilot could not display foreign characters (e.g. Japanese), but after doing it, it shows them.
__________________
Check out my artwork at www.saru-ninja.deviantart.com ^_^
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-01-2008, 08:44 PM
fjfiji fjfiji is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

To nobs: Thanks for the tip, I could try to clean it a little, to the best of my ability =]
To SaruNinja: I've already tried erasing the internal memory, but thank you =]
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
glitchy, insignia, pilot, sensitive, touchy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.