android
  #1  
Old 12-03-2008, 09:36 PM
specnaz01 specnaz01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Default RMA'ing

How long does RMA'ing Views take (anyone who RMA'd before)? Also.. I've had a crack on the side of mine (a common problem).. did anyone who did RMA get a new one that didn't have the crack?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-03-2008, 10:57 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

I had to RMA my View, and it took me about 2 weeks. Mine never had the case issue, tho.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-03-2008, 11:23 PM
specnaz01 specnaz01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Default

So you just sent your view and got a new one without any problems? Also, do they send back a retail package or just the view?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-03-2008, 11:32 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

I sent my View in, and they sent me a new View in the box.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-04-2008, 06:30 AM
specnaz01 specnaz01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Hopefully they got some new batches.. cause I know most people who got it December-April had the case problem or battery problems. If Sandisk listens at all, they hopefully fixed at least the case problem. I'll be more careful with the battery's firmware this time because apparently its sensitive to first-time charges.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-04-2008, 06:48 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Li-ion batteries does not have a memory in a way. You can read up on the batteries on this thread: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24466
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-04-2008, 05:17 PM
specnaz01 specnaz01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Default

Yeah I understand, but they do have firmware and I guess it was either bad li-ion firmware or a bad connector.. either way hopefully the new one they send me will not have these problems. I'm just going to unpack it, plug it into the wall charger (basically an AC -> USB converter used for Kodak cameras that I've been using since my PC usb port had more problems charging the player)..
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-04-2008, 05:26 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Batteries does not have firmware. Where did you get that at? I am just wondering. There is a charging circuit tho.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-04-2008, 07:40 PM
specnaz01 specnaz01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Default

I shouldn't say firmware.. but it does have a chipset (possibly with a BIOS) that control the actions of the battery.. you might just call that a charging circuit. I just know that complex batteries do have firmware (like the ones used in hybrid cars). I was just discussing batteries with my dad a long time ago and he developed the first hybrid so he knows that battery charging is very complex and bad chipsets/software can make the charging screwy.

For example, TI uses battery packs which require complex firmware/chipsets so I think the View's circuitry might have something simpler like that...

http://focus.tij.co.jp/jp/lit/an/slua372j/slua372j.pdf
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-04-2008, 08:03 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

specnaz01, you might want to read about batteries in the battery university here. Most mp3 players have lithium-ion batteries, but they cover others there too.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:40 PM
specnaz01 specnaz01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
Default

This is what was going on probably.. "However, a full discharge/charge will reset the digital circuit of a 'smart' battery to improve the state-of-charge estimation". I almost never completely discharged the battery and it never completely charged probably because of a bad circuit or w/e.

http://www.batteryuniversity.com/partone-12.htm

Last edited by specnaz01; 12-05-2008 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:52 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

I only do that once in a while. I do not drain it all the way all the time.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.