android
  #1  
Old 10-31-2008, 10:56 AM
FURR's Avatar
FURR FURR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 525
Page Cowon O2 Firmware

This thread will contain all the previous and present Firmware. I or the Mods will keep this updated.

For now what Firmware is out i cannot determine if their Final or Beta (This will be corrected later on). Also, about Change logs... i cannot read Korean but until one of our members who can read Korean you'll have to wait. All info. will be changed or corrected when needed.

Instillation: Easy, simply Drag'N'Drop or copy the Folder/Files on the O2 ROOT

Note: COWON is now deleting past Firmware Versions from their Servers. please we ask any user to please upload any past Version at SpeedyShare, Mediafire, RapidShare, or MegaUpload

OP notice: there is no difference in Firmware rather it'd be Korean or Global. enjoy using which ever

Cowon Global
v1.25

Cowon Korea
v1.25

Cowon Global
1.35
__________________
S9 16GB Chrome

Last edited by WalkGood; 09-12-2009 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-31-2008, 11:10 AM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
Editor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default

I just updated to 1.11 and here is what i found:
  • -MVK H.264/MP4 H.264 720p content now plays but it suffers from the same issues the A3 had. Video is choppy and unwatchable.
  • +DivX/XviD playback is a bit smoother.
  • -TV out still doesnt work- ive tried Cowon cables and others.
  • +improved touch responsiveness
  • +"multi tasker" shows video playing with an icon at the bottom of the screen. you can actually stop playing a video now.
  • -doenst recognize up and down drags like change log says
__________________
abi>> News | Reviews |Videos | FaceBook >> Zune Card | Twitter
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-01-2008, 06:25 PM
sprockkets sprockkets is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Default need profile info

Cool. But again, what is the profile for those 720p encodes? They could have CABCAC and other HP features that will cause the stuttering, including use reference frames. That even causes stuttering on my computer due to how x264 works I guess. Although, the A3 supports at least CABCAC.

If it can play the native res 640x480p or widescreen DVD material of h264 with HP features, I'm sold.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-27-2008, 05:45 PM
UnbreakableCode UnbreakableCode is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sprockkets View Post
Cool. But again, what is the profile for those 720p encodes? They could have CABCAC and other HP features that will cause the stuttering, including use reference frames. That even causes stuttering on my computer due to how x264 works I guess. Although, the A3 supports at least CABCAC.

If it can play the native res 640x480p or widescreen DVD material of h264 with HP features, I'm sold.
Im willing to test it out for you.. Send me a file or w/e and ill let know the results.

also it can handle h264 720 480 perfect!

make me sample for 720p in the profile u use or want

not problem .. still testing out varies of files so far smiling

everything the claimed that it does is true and beter than the rest.

Now waiting on 720p support!!!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-27-2008, 06:32 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Furr, I updated your post, added 1.14 and 1.12 beta and removed the dead 1.09 link.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-12-2008, 05:44 PM
FURR's Avatar
FURR FURR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 525
Default

v1.15 released guys!
__________________
S9 16GB Chrome
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-16-2008, 10:43 PM
UnbreakableCode UnbreakableCode is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Wink Firmware 1.15

Quote:
Originally Posted by FURR View Post
v1.15 released guys!
Furr where is the link , i tried looking for it on there site and the korean and i see no such thing ?

can you please post it thanx

Does it improve anything man i want playlist support
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-18-2008, 07:26 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Added 1.17 to the first post and removed the dead links.

It appears the changelog is useless - it said the same things since 1.14.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-18-2008, 06:20 PM
UnbreakableCode UnbreakableCode is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Added 1.17 to the first post and removed the dead links.

It appears the changelog is useless - it said the same things since 1.14.
Thanx dfkt ... i just updated to v 17 touch is much beter and responsive than before and few things have been fixed lets home they fix the problem with playing any x264 playback upon any resolution beside what profile you stated

i been using h264 to avi works best for me atleats for my music videos in hd

dfkt are you using your o2 or letting it collect dust ?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-18-2008, 06:23 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Better? I didn't notice a single important difference between 1.14b, 1.15, and 1.17 - they're all the same crap. Not a single bug or annoyance fixed.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-31-2008, 07:04 AM
kasrhp's Avatar
kasrhp kasrhp is offline
Contributing Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 805
Default

I think the touch screen accuracy got a lot better. I hope they can fix the album art blurriness.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-31-2008, 11:40 AM
revmike revmike is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
Default

Mine isn't blurry. I would check your resolution of the files. I had one or two that were blurry and it was the file itself, not the player. If you put garbage on thats what you're going to get.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-31-2008, 11:43 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

About 1% of my album art looks good, the other 99% are blocky and pixelated. All are of course embedded with the same app, and of similar JPEG quality (ca. 500x500px, single pass, 24bit RGB color space, etc). I don't see a reason why some album art looks ok, but the majority doesn't.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-13-2009, 10:55 AM
Nujabez's Avatar
Nujabez Nujabez is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Default

There's a new firmware out now 1.19.
__________________
MP3 Players I own now: Cowon A2 & Iriver Clix(deceased), Cowon O2, Headphones I own: ATH-ES7, V-ModaVibes
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-14-2009, 08:26 PM
FURR's Avatar
FURR FURR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 525
Default

sorry guys, been busy lately. all is up-to-date
__________________
S9 16GB Chrome
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-14-2009, 08:26 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yup, I updated it...
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-14-2009, 08:33 PM
FURR's Avatar
FURR FURR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 525
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Yup, I updated it...
i redirected the korean Link man.
__________________
S9 16GB Chrome
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:49 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

v1.24

Quote:
Video mode
- Improved video playback performance of HD Xvid, DivX 5, DivX 6 - HD-level Xvid, DivX 5, DivX 6 files
(be able to play high resolution files that are over 1280*720p)
- Added picture mode settings: vivid mode / standard mode
- Improved stability of performance of some faulty video files that contain AC3 audio codec.
- Moved position of volume icon in TV-out mode.

Music Mode
- Fixed the error that some music file lyric passed quicker then it supposed to.
- Improved video resolution of album art, which is high resolution, of mp3 files.
- Fixed the error that while some music files, which contain album art, are playing,
screen changes to menu and back to music mode and karaoke lyric is overlapped on Meta information.
- Changed position of album art.

Pictures mode
- Changed to stop when you press previous or next button in slide show mode.
- Fixed the error that slice show is irregularly down when previous or next button are pressed.

Documents mode
- Improved performance of controlling scroll bar when it didn’t work right in some part of irregular files.
Seems they really fixed a few issues this time...
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 01-21-2009, 06:35 AM
kasrhp's Avatar
kasrhp kasrhp is offline
Contributing Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 805
Default

Thats a good start for the updates. I hope that really does wonders for the video codecs. Keep it coming Cowon.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 01-21-2009, 10:41 AM
Nujabez's Avatar
Nujabez Nujabez is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Default

it helped a little bit. Some of the videos I couldn't play before or were out of sync in audio are fixed. Its a much better update than the past ones but there's still way more stuff that could be fixed.
__________________
MP3 Players I own now: Cowon A2 & Iriver Clix(deceased), Cowon O2, Headphones I own: ATH-ES7, V-ModaVibes
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.