android
  #41  
Old 12-10-2008, 07:52 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

You are effing kidding me, right?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:30 PM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
You are effing kidding me, right?
No sir.
I'm not familiar with any rockbox. I just saw the picture you posted with clip, rockbox, and ue11. The link doesn't say how to download it. I assume it exists since you have it.
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:32 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

You did read the bright red text?
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:01 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Amazing.
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:55 PM
h1a8 h1a8 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
You did read the bright red text?
No I didn't.
Maybe I was too geeked up about rockbox for clip and missed it. The "v1 has sound" made me totally miss the pretty red wording. I just clicked the link immediately to try to find the download. I also scrolled down to read the others posts and seen the picture you posted.

Sorry!

Maybe black bold is better.
Red just doesn't cut it anymore.
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 12-10-2008, 10:23 PM
samueljesusfreak's Avatar
samueljesusfreak samueljesusfreak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ellendale, North Dakota
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h1a8 View Post
No I didn't.
Maybe I was too geeked up about rockbox for clip and missed it. The "v1 has sound" made me totally miss the pretty red wording. I just clicked the link immediately to try to find the download. I also scrolled down to read the others posts and seen the picture you posted.

Sorry!

Maybe black bold is better.
Red just doesn't cut it anymore.
Ahhhh. This just made my day. Honestly. Thank you.
__________________
Player: Generic Philips GoGear 4GB(Sounds decent though)
Headphones: Koss KSC-75 and JVC Marshmallow
Wow I'm poor..
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 12-10-2008, 10:55 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Clicking but not reading is a great way to brick a Sansa, fyi.
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 12-11-2008, 11:28 AM
samueljesusfreak's Avatar
samueljesusfreak samueljesusfreak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ellendale, North Dakota
Posts: 758
Default

That's how I "ruined" my first computer, really. I deleted the WINDOWS folder because I wasn't "using" the files inside. Now I'm a tad bit more knowledgeable, and know for sure, h1a8, that if you don't spend at least an hour looking around the Rockbox site and see whats going down, you can say goodbye to your Clip. Be patient. I've only been here a couple weeks and the Clip port is going so much faster than the D2. All it takes is patience.
__________________
Player: Generic Philips GoGear 4GB(Sounds decent though)
Headphones: Koss KSC-75 and JVC Marshmallow
Wow I'm poor..
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 12-20-2008, 06:26 PM
LLMP's Avatar
LLMP LLMP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default

does anyone know if rockbox will be supported for v2 clip?
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 12-20-2008, 06:31 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by h1a8 View Post
Maybe black bold is better.
Red just doesn't cut it anymore.
Since a fair percent of males are RED-green colour blind, thats a good idea. I just went back to the first post. It doesn't stand out for me, but I recall reading the sentence.

Steve
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 12-20-2008, 06:36 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LLMP View Post
does anyone know if rockbox will be supported for v2 clip?
No, and in fact, we don't even know what V2 clips are, since no one has opened one.
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 12-20-2008, 06:43 PM
LLMP's Avatar
LLMP LLMP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=35597 -- is a v2 clip
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 12-20-2008, 07:32 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Saratoga meant the insides of the Clip v2, the circuit board and chips... not an opened package.
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 12-21-2008, 01:18 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Knowing what the shell on a V2 clip looks like isn't very useful. You can't do a port to a piece of plastic. Its the electronics on the inside that count, hence the need to open one.
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 12-21-2008, 03:30 PM
LLMP's Avatar
LLMP LLMP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Default

and what does it mean about the port?
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 12-22-2008, 07:37 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

LLMP, read some of the Rockbox pages, please.
Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 12-22-2008, 09:12 AM
bYOndo bYOndo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
No, and in fact, we don't even know what V2 clips are, since no one has opened one.
That's a little bit sad, I hope that it's not the same "evolution" story like Ipod Nano 1G and 2G...
Reading some (fragmented and not officially confirmed) info's on Sandisk official forum, it seems that this second revision is due only for supporting a larger memory chip, in the case of Clip 4GB and 8GB, but I don't understand a so larger firmware size (13MB vs. 3MB ) for indexing a different memory chip.
I'm not a developer, so my thoughts are only intuitions and can even be totally wrong, but in the meantime I'm fairly happy with Clip's OF, so let's wait for any real news

Good Music
Massimo

p.s.: err...and I don't want to dissect mine
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 12-22-2008, 11:25 AM
samueljesusfreak's Avatar
samueljesusfreak samueljesusfreak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ellendale, North Dakota
Posts: 758
Default

I'm still lost at this V1-V2 thing. My Clip came in the V2 packaging, 4GB, has the old logo on the back, and shipped with the old V1 firmware. Crazy. But if I can get gapless playback on here soon, I will literally start crying. =]
__________________
Player: Generic Philips GoGear 4GB(Sounds decent though)
Headphones: Koss KSC-75 and JVC Marshmallow
Wow I'm poor..
Reply With Quote

  #59  
Old 12-23-2008, 06:28 AM
bYOndo bYOndo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default

@ samueljesusfreak (do you like Kirk Franklin?)
there's no doubt, you have a v1 (or rev.1), it's the firmware that tells it.
strange it's a 4 GB though; it reminds me the early stages of SDHC memories, when there were 4GB SD "standard capacity" and 4GB SD "high capacity" at the same time. Just a though, with any probability it has nothing to do with Sansa hardware.

Good Music
Massimo
Reply With Quote

  #60  
Old 12-23-2008, 03:01 PM
AGW AGW is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Default

I can't wait. File/folder browsing would be awesome for a change.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.