android
  #21  
Old 10-13-2008, 01:22 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToJa92 View Post
How does this recovery mode works? Can you access files on it and such? Or will it just remove everything from your zen and remove firmware?
You may want to check out this thread and the Zen FAQ for more information.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 10-13-2008, 02:51 PM
ToJa92 ToJa92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks, too bad their isn't a mode to access the disk directly ( I.E. possible access to system files =) )
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 10-13-2008, 03:46 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

No problem. For a more descriptive and detailed idea as to how the Zen's OS/FileSystem is structured, check out these threads here and here. Anyway, lets get back to the new firmware discussion.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 10-20-2008, 03:16 AM
ToJa92 ToJa92 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 43
Default

I tried with a couple of creative earphones (look like the stock ones) and I have three bars reception. But it does find more "scrap" (buzzy) stations than with my philips one (those are active noise reduction ones).
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 10-21-2008, 05:35 PM
hackswood hackswood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 2
Default

Hi first ever post, so, briefly off topic, thanks SO much for all the great info on this site - it has smoothed my path to enjoying my x-fi very much. Back on topic, i have been using the upgraded firmware for about a week now.

Sound quality - no difference that i can notice - possibly a bit quieter if anything, but i upgraded using Europe, and my player was sourced in asia. I still often listen on setting 1 tho if i am in a quiet place, so no biggie. The x-fi setting still works where i liked it before, and i prefer it off where i preffered it off before too.

Radio - possibly a bit more sensitive - when i re-scanned after installing the firmware i got 5 rather than 3 stations - reception is good, but then it was before-hand too.

Random play problem (where the player repeats the track just paid) - gone! Hooray!! I 've prob listened to about 15 hours of random play since the upgrade, and no repeated track, tho (as ever) some seem to feature more frequently than others.

Video - no discernable difference, tho i had sorted the probs with sound and images being out of sync by following the advice on other threads in this forum - thanks BobbyRS :-)

Perhaps my most helpful input is about the actual firmware upgrade. I had problems. After installing the upgrade, my computer could not see any on the songs or playlists on the player, no matter if i used Creatice Centrale, My Computer, of WMP. I reset the player - no joy. I used the Creative MP3 Recovery tool from their web-site to re-install the firmware upgrade - no joy. i reset the player and rebooted the computer. No joy. THEN, I put the X-FI into recover mode (following the link from Bobby RS, above) selected clean-up, then rebooted the player - Result. All the songs were once more recognised by the computer. No need to re-format the player. However, I would suggest that BEFORE installing this firmware upgrade you may wish to back-up all your songs to your hard disk, just in case.

All in all - the firmware is worth installing just because of the fix for the random play song-repeat issue, imho. Later... :-)
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 10-27-2008, 10:21 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToJa92 View Post
I tried with a couple of creative earphones (look like the stock ones) and I have three bars reception. But it does find more "scrap" (buzzy) stations than with my philips one (those are active noise reduction ones).
Ok, thanks for checking.... From what I've read, it seems like it does help reception a little, but not much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hackswood View Post
thanks BobbyRS :-)
No problem. Welcome hackswood! Enjoy the Zen.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 10-29-2008, 04:24 PM
mabes10 mabes10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 84
Default

One question about random play. Does the player keep stats on playcount, so that if you were to play a large playlist at random, play something else and come back to it, songs were played previously won't be played until all the other songs are played.

Or is that asking too much?
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 10-29-2008, 04:28 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Check out this thread.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 12-30-2008, 07:40 PM
Lavina Lavina is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I can hear a slight improvement of the sound quality with crystaliser ON.

I can no longer change any settings of the EQ. Well I can, without any effect on the sound irrespective of x-fi switched ON or OFF.

No other "positive"? observations so far.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:39 AM
sovesky's Avatar
sovesky sovesky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 132
Default

I can change the EQ and notice a good diference, when the x-fi is off!
Besides, when I change the costum equalizer, I need to select another preset, and them choose the costum equalizer to notice a difference in sound. Is it a bug?
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 12-31-2008, 01:20 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sovesky View Post
I can change the EQ and notice a good diference, when the x-fi is off!
Yes, I think this is how must hear it as well.... with the X-Fi enhancements off I mean.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sovesky View Post
Besides, when I change the costum equalizer, I need to select another preset, and them choose the costum equalizer to notice a difference in sound. Is it a bug?
I don't think it is a bug as much as I think that each preset may be such a different setting, that when changed all at once, it is easier to hear the changes.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:57 PM
sovesky's Avatar
sovesky sovesky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyRS View Post
I don't think it is a bug as much as I think that each preset may be such a different setting, that when changed all at once, it is easier to hear the changes.

The same thing happens if I modify the custom EQ, change it to EQ off (X-FI also off), and then change it once again to custom EQ.

I noticed a good difference when doing radical modifications in the EQ, like putting +12 Db on 80Hz and then -12 Db.
I just noticed the difference when changing or turning off the EQ.
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:07 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sovesky View Post
The same thing happens if I modify the custom EQ, change it to EQ off (X-FI also off), and then change it once again to custom EQ.
Yes, this has been discussed before in the other Zen forums. The Zen's have been like this for some time. Creative' still hasn't addressed this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sovesky View Post
I noticed a good difference when doing radical modifications in the EQ, like putting +12 Db on 80Hz and then -12 Db.
I just noticed the difference when changing or turning off the EQ.
Yes, but once the EQ is on, it gets harder (at least me me) to tell any difference in changes unless they're drastic.

Best bet..... leave the EQ and bass boost off and get good headphones.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:42 PM
sovesky's Avatar
sovesky sovesky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 132
Default

Good solution
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 01-02-2009, 11:36 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Yes. I would always address the headphone issue first before relying on any kind of EQ/Sound Enhancements. I think many will find that is all they need.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 01-18-2009, 01:31 PM
kent kent is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

hi everyone, well its not just mine then.. jeez x-fi's are full of glitches got my 8gb just before xmas, & having crash probs with centrale software, have same problems deleting albums needed to format and re sync the whole thing . wishing that I'd done alot more reserch before I bought this.. I'm pretty dissapointed got to say
ps anyone else's 4 corner buttons not illuminated as mine never have been working, gonna take it back to the shop maybe try for a refund proberbly end up them sending it off for repair thought .. marks out of ten ? .. big fat zilch from me
looks sweet but no good waste of good money .. could be starting the anything but x-fi . com next
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:38 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

What player is glitch-free these days.... Don't confuse computer issues or the extremely buggy Creative software as glitches with the Zen X-Fi specifically. Although the Zen X-Fi is fairly new, many players take some time after being released to get "dialed-in" with firmware releases after being first released. The Zen X-Fi has had and still has a few bugs that really need to be addressed and hopefully Creative can get them worked out.

Two other things to keep in mind are that most people post when they have problems, so forums like this can be overrun by posters who are having issues they need assistance with, portraying many players as to be more problematic than good. Also, there are always defective players with every brand as well. Many times when people do purchase a player and it is defective (recognized or not) in some way, they often take the view point that it is like that with all other same modeled players; not allowing them to form an opinion based upon a 100% functioning and defect-free player.

With that said, if the Zen X-Fi is not performing to your satisfaction or is defective in any way, by all means try to return it for a replacement or refund. Just don't make an assumption that all Zen X-Fi's are this way or that everyone here feels the same. There is no need to start off with your first post bashing a particular product. This is how flamewars get started. Having an opinion and expressing it is fine, but please do so with consideration towards others.

Now before you say of course I'm going to feel this way because I'm the Creative Mod, please know that I do not really care for the Zen X-Fi in general and I too feel like it was released prematurely. I just wanted to make the points above so that everyone can consider them to help differentiate between what can truly be bad and someone's opinion that may not actually end up being the same as theirs.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:32 PM
giuseppe giuseppe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I m very satisfied in every way with my Zen X-FI
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:59 PM
LM09 LM09 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Due to my experience with the firmware (1.04.08) update I can not recommend it. Before the update my videos played perfectly on my unit, after the update the video starts off fine but then as it continues or if one decides to fast forward the image and voice go out of sync. This is just so very annoying and frustrating.

I have tried to reinstall the movies/videos and the problem still persists. I have also tried to change with the video formats again no success.

I would like to know if:

1)Anyone have a suggestion on how I can solve this problem?
and/or
2)How I can uninstall the latest firmware and go back to the previous one?

Any help will be most appreciated.
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 01-22-2009, 09:10 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LM09 View Post
Due to my experience with the firmware (1.04.08) update I can not recommend it. Before the update my videos played perfectly on my unit, after the update the video starts off fine but then as it continues or if one decides to fast forward the image and voice go out of sync. This is just so very annoying and frustrating.
This is the progressive sync issue that the new Zen and Zen X-Fi suffers from regardless of which firmware is installed. Are you certain that you did not have this problem before upgrading to this firmware version?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LM09 View Post
1)Anyone have a suggestion on how I can solve this problem?
See this thread for more information.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LM09 View Post
2)How I can uninstall the latest firmware and go back to the previous one?
Boot into Recovery Mode and select the Reload firmware option. Then, when prompted, connect to the computer and execute the firmware version you would like to install.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.