android
  #41  
Old 05-01-2009, 09:18 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,057
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maderin1 View Post
just out of curiosity what player actually do have this feature (gapless) i have yet to see it on any player, certainly never had it on any of mine ..does sansa spport it??
And here lies the problem. Gapless is so overlooked by manufacturers that it is very rare of this is included in naively. The known current payers that have it are all Rockboxed players, iPods, Zunes and theTrekster Vibez 12GB. The Vibez is the only current player that utilizes it via hardware.
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 05-02-2009, 05:53 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maderin1 View Post
just out of curiosity what player actually do have this feature (gapless) i have yet to see it on any player, certainly never had it on any of mine ..does sansa spport it??
Sansas and many other players support gapless via Rockbox, even if their stock firmware doesn't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
The Vibez is the only current player that utilizes it via hardware.
I'm not sure what you mean by that - you mean the Sigmatel chip in the Vibez behaves differently in decoding audio than the SoCs in the iPods/Zunes/etc?
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 05-02-2009, 08:50 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,057
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post



I'm not sure what you mean by that - you mean the Sigmatel chip in the Vibez behaves differently in decoding audio than the SoCs in the iPods/Zunes/etc?
I believe so because the Zunes and iPods use a software method of utilizing gapless. AFAIK, only the Vibez and Rio Karma played back gapless on the hardware level.
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 05-02-2009, 09:02 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Well, MP3 isn't gapless by default and there always have to be workarounds to achieve gapless playback (unlike Vorbis, AAC, etc, which are gapless by design). Interesting if the Sigmatel achieves that in a hardware MP3 CODEC instead of in the firmware.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 05-02-2009, 09:47 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,057
Default

I think I need to rephrase myself. I am not sure if it is done through native hardware or with the aid of firmware that instructs the hardware to stitch the MP3 files. I was just trying to point out that they don't use external software to achieve this. I am sorry for the confusion.
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 05-02-2009, 09:57 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

I think I may have to jump on the "I want gapless" bandwagon. In comparing my new Q2 to a few other players I dusted off and charged up my iDop Nuno. I hadn't realized just how many albums I have where there is a little chatter or filler of some sort between songs on the album. When shuffling music gapless is irrelivant. When playing songs in sequence that little gap on the Q2 was extremely obvious after the smooth flow from song to song on the Dopi.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.