android
  #1  
Old 05-23-2009, 08:08 PM
Sixteh Sixteh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default Album art with the P3

Hey I've been considering buying a P3 and one thing I'm wondering is:

I plan on using drag-n-drop only; most of my music is organized with relevant logs and cue's in addition to album art as folder.jpg (for foobar).

How does the P3 interact with the log's and cue's (is there an error to deal with?)

and

Does it auto-detect the folder.jpg as album art?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-23-2009, 08:27 PM
A.Z.P.Z A.Z.P.Z is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Default

yes delet folder.jpg
you can change alburm art with Emo Dio!!!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-24-2009, 05:34 AM
garyk's Avatar
garyk garyk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 126
Default

You will need to embed the album art into the mp3 files. i ended up just using windows media player to do it in the end when EasyTAG wouldnt seem to do it
Emodio is rubbish, its not great for finding art in my opinion. i kept getting compilation type covers etc, not the real ones.
__________________
Without music life would be a mistake.
~Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche~
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-24-2009, 05:37 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

When you embed album art, 500 x 500 may not always work. 450 x 450 has always worked for my tags, though.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:25 AM
ananth's Avatar
ananth ananth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 154
Default

the bigger the album art, the laggier the screen is to update to it when you scroll through your songs.. I always restrict it to 400x400 which works fine..

P.S Emodio is absolute crap.. for now.. avoid at all costs.. I work mediamonkey for tagging and album art, works fine so far!
__________________
Samsung YP-P3 JEB Black I-*** ****** 2GB
Sennheiser CX-300 Black
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-24-2009, 08:56 AM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Wait a sec, if the OP is concered with Log and cues, then he is mostly likely using Flac? Apprently in this Post the solution is to embed the album art into the tags of the files.
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...65&postcount=5
__________________
Current Gear: Cowon J3; iPod Touch 4G; Sony XBA-3; HiFiMan RE-272; Sennheiser HD558; Bose AE2
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-24-2009, 01:34 PM
Sixteh Sixteh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

:X It's unfortunate I have to embed, since for foobar I like to have hi-res versions (generally 600x600 or higher)...damn.

I have a lot of FLAC (primarily for archival purposes) but I plan on converting it to V0 for the P3 in order to fit more songs, but when I convert I tend to leave the log and cue anyway.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-24-2009, 01:38 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Some 500x500 work, but that's about as high as you can go otherwise it just won't display or the screen lags as Ananth says.
With Ogg, album art won't display at all.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-24-2009, 01:46 PM
Leroy Bad's Avatar
Leroy Bad Leroy Bad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 468
Default

Ok stupid question, but whats the point of having album art larger than 300x300 pixels on such as small screen away?
And does Foobar display those large 600x600 images on a big TV screen?
__________________
Current Gear: Cowon J3; iPod Touch 4G; Sony XBA-3; HiFiMan RE-272; Sennheiser HD558; Bose AE2
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-24-2009, 01:54 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroy Bad View Post
Ok stupid question, but whats the point of having album art larger than 300x300 pixels on such as small screen away?
And does Foobar display those large 600x600 images on a big TV screen?
With mp3tag it often returns search results that are that size for album art- I'm not going to re-size them all individually or search for smaller versions. I just noticed that the cut-off point for the P3 seems to be 500x500. Anything smaller works- if it returned a 300x300 pic I would use it, but I wasn't going to waste time looking for it.

Last edited by Dreamnine; 05-24-2009 at 01:59 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-24-2009, 04:17 PM
ananth's Avatar
ananth ananth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 154
Default

I just resize them before using them on my tags.. works fine..
__________________
Samsung YP-P3 JEB Black I-*** ****** 2GB
Sennheiser CX-300 Black
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-25-2009, 01:04 PM
Sixteh Sixteh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leroy Bad View Post
Ok stupid question, but whats the point of having album art larger than 300x300 pixels on such as small screen away?
And does Foobar display those large 600x600 images on a big TV screen?
For me, foobar displays album art as about 300x300 by default, but there is also an option to view it larger. I also find that for formats like jpeg where there's artifacts, downsizing a larger version helps improve clarity.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.