android
  #1  
Old 07-04-2009, 03:03 PM
booger19a booger19a is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default fuze question about flac compression level?

hi,
Is the fuze picky about what compression level I set on my FLAC files? Can anyone share the encoding options that they're succesfully using to encode their FLAC files for playback on the fuze?

thanks!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-04-2009, 07:50 PM
librarian librarian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default

this is my string but I use my files in my home theater system so I get larger files.

--best -T "ARTIST=%a" -T "TITLE=%t" -T "ALBUM=%g" -T "DATE=%y" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%n" -T "GENRE=%m" %s

Fuze plays them just fine (version 1 with latest firmware)
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-04-2009, 08:02 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booger19a View Post
hi,
Is the fuze picky about what compression level I set on my FLAC files? Can anyone share the encoding options that they're succesfully using to encode their FLAC files for playback on the fuze?

thanks!
When they added FLAC compatibility to the Fuze and Clip, I tried it out....I ripped CD's with MediaMonkey to FLAC, compression level 5(the default) and they worked fine. I never tried different levels though.

But in the end, I realized what some of the more advanced users were saying was right....that it's not worth the space trade-off to use FLAC on a portable. LAME V0, or Ogg Vorbis q6 or q7, I couldn't hear the difference from FLAC. Maybe you have better ears than me though.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-04-2009, 08:29 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

As I understand it, the compression level has little or no relevance to flac decoders, so I think they should all work the same.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
fuze flac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.