android
  #1  
Old 08-22-2009, 04:01 AM
Crimson Raven's Avatar
Crimson Raven Crimson Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 191
Default Serial number...

Hey guys.

Having a bit more trouble...(ugh).
So, I finally decided to register my P3 on the Samsung website, because we never save receipts, so just in case I hold on to it for as long as the battery holds out, or if something goes wrong, they'll know it's mine.

My problem is...I can't get the serial number to work. I've tried everything that could be a possibility, but it just won't work! Does anyone know about this, or could help?

(Yes, I've tried the one both on the box, and on the actual P3...gah)
__________________
It doesn't matter who is wrong and who is right.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-22-2009, 04:46 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Send them an email saying you can't register and wait for their reply. You may have to try a few times.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-22-2009, 12:15 PM
Crimson Raven's Avatar
Crimson Raven Crimson Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 191
Default

That's what I was thinking of doing.
Thanks.

EDIT:
Wow, my wording is weird up on the initial post. 2:30 AM can do that do a guy I guess...
__________________
It doesn't matter who is wrong and who is right.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-24-2009, 12:43 PM
Unquello Unquello is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

I registered mine using the serial # on the back of the P3 itself. Perhaps a silly question, but did you try 0's instead of O's, etc.?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-24-2009, 01:01 PM
Crimson Raven's Avatar
Crimson Raven Crimson Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unquello View Post
I registered mine using the serial # on the back of the P3 itself. Perhaps a silly question, but did you try 0's instead of O's, etc.?

Wait, are you telling me, the big zero looking things with lines across the center are "O"s?

If so, you have saved me. Was going to contact Samsung a bit later...respond please!

EDIT: Nevermind, I checked it myself. Nope...doesn't work. Looks like I WILL have to contact Samsung about it.
__________________
It doesn't matter who is wrong and who is right.

Last edited by Crimson Raven; 08-24-2009 at 01:15 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-24-2009, 04:24 PM
MojoPatrol's Avatar
MojoPatrol MojoPatrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 332
Default

Well from what I was reading on the Samsung website when I registered my P3, the number that should (I put it in italics because we all know how systems are sometimes) work is the one on the back of the player that starts with a '1U'

In my case it was '1U(zero)S....'

It's the number on the right side, bottom of the player above the "Assembled in China" clause
__________________
"How selfish soever man may be supposed, there are evidently some principles in his nature, which interest him in the fortunes of others, and render their happiness necessary to him, though he derives nothing from it..." - Adam Smith
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-24-2009, 11:10 PM
Crimson Raven's Avatar
Crimson Raven Crimson Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 191
Default

Is it possibly eleven digits?
The serial on the back of MY P3 has 11 characters.
__________________
It doesn't matter who is wrong and who is right.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-25-2009, 06:39 AM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 253
Default

I was going to register but I stopped when I saw this:

Quote:
Remarks
In order to protect your privacy, we will encrypt your personal data by TrustNet WebToolKit. Please make sure you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer to perform online registration.
If you receive a blank page or no response, this may be because your browser does not allow ActiveX installation. Please click here to download and install that plug-in to your computer and retry online registration.

No thanks...




Also my P3 says S/N and then a bunch of numbers letters after it.
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB Ultimate PMP! | Ex player (Samsung P3)
Audio-Technica ATH-A900's | MEElectronics M6 Clear IEM's

Stop the loudness war - Turn Me Up!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:43 PM
MojoPatrol's Avatar
MojoPatrol MojoPatrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 332
Default

Correct. It is 11 digits/numericals long
__________________
"How selfish soever man may be supposed, there are evidently some principles in his nature, which interest him in the fortunes of others, and render their happiness necessary to him, though he derives nothing from it..." - Adam Smith
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:46 PM
Crimson Raven's Avatar
Crimson Raven Crimson Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex View Post
I was going to register but I stopped when I saw this:




No thanks...




Also my P3 says S/N and then a bunch of numbers letters after it.

You...you have to use IE? And download a thing in order for it to work...?


(Thank you Mojo, for the reply)
__________________
It doesn't matter who is wrong and who is right.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:49 PM
MojoPatrol's Avatar
MojoPatrol MojoPatrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex View Post
I was going to register but I stopped when I saw this:




No thanks...




Also my P3 says S/N and then a bunch of numbers letters after it.
You know, using IE is a Felony in some states
__________________
"How selfish soever man may be supposed, there are evidently some principles in his nature, which interest him in the fortunes of others, and render their happiness necessary to him, though he derives nothing from it..." - Adam Smith
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-25-2009, 04:09 PM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 253
Default

And it should be . I wouldn't mind using IE though but installing crap to it, no thanks!!! Don't think they're heard of https .
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB Ultimate PMP! | Ex player (Samsung P3)
Audio-Technica ATH-A900's | MEElectronics M6 Clear IEM's

Stop the loudness war - Turn Me Up!
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 08-25-2009, 05:04 PM
MojoPatrol's Avatar
MojoPatrol MojoPatrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex View Post
And it should be . I wouldn't mind using IE though but installing crap to it, no thanks!!! Don't think they're heard of https .
LoL! Touché
__________________
"How selfish soever man may be supposed, there are evidently some principles in his nature, which interest him in the fortunes of others, and render their happiness necessary to him, though he derives nothing from it..." - Adam Smith
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.