android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Samsung > Samsung K3 / K5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 09-18-2008, 10:03 AM
pius pius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default

i succedeed to switch k3 in recovery mode..
i followed all the steps to put firmware 4.03 but when I try to install it, k3 says that it have wrong size....

thank you for help
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #82  
Old 09-18-2008, 08:02 PM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

I'm pretty sure the guide covers that;

are you trying to use 4.03 as your 'final' version? if so try 4.06+ instead.
Reply With Quote

  #83  
Old 10-01-2008, 04:27 AM
MR.Bean MR.Bean is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default

I have a really big Problem.

I followed the steps 1-3 in the simple Guide. The PC should detect the player as "USB-Stick". Yeah, and I hear the "plugged in sound" from windows, but I can't see the Player in "My Computer" or in the Explorer.

And,

When the firmware is trying to start, it freezes when the samsung logo comes.

Please Help Me! S.O.S :-)

EDIT:

MY Firmware: 3.09 WA JN to 4.06
MY OS : Windows XP Pro with SP 2
Reply With Quote

  #84  
Old 10-03-2008, 07:45 AM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

it still works normally right?

I'd suggest reading the whole guide, and the replies to this thread, a few people have had similar problems if i recall.
Reply With Quote

  #85  
Old 10-03-2008, 08:04 AM
MR.Bean MR.Bean is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Hello Sab0o,

thank you for your answer!

Yes after I do a reset it works normally after the freeze.
I did everything like in your Guide(s).

Some Peoples have had smiliar problems? Gave it solutions?

Maybe I don't understood everything exactly in your Post, I'm from germany.

Don't understand me false! It gives a german translation for your guide, and I understand the english, too.
Reply With Quote

  #86  
Old 10-05-2008, 07:18 AM
MR.Bean MR.Bean is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default

YEEEEEEESSSS!!! IT WORKS!!!

I did everthing like in the Guide with firmware 4.10 from Samsungs Web Page and now it works!! *happy* :-)
Reply With Quote

  #87  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:18 PM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

xD
Reply With Quote

  #88  
Old 11-03-2008, 05:28 PM
manifesto manifesto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Sab0o my friend,i'm doing everything step by step but when i come here "Once you have done this, set your K3 back in to recovery mode (by holding the on switch down and pressing reset) and boot your 'old' rom again using the "tcctool -d ypk3 YPK3.rom" command.
Pull the USB cable out as soon as Samsung logo appears. This will cause it to boot the new firmware, but not in to USB mode, thereby causing it to detect the firmware on it's drive and install it.
You should get the upgrading firmware message and then it should turn off." i'm going on recovery but it stucks in the dark charging screen and it does nothing!My fw is 3.09 and after all that i've done,if i just reset it,it starts with samsung logo but then it freezes on a blue screen..please dude help me.. i use 4.03 for the .rom and i want to put 4.06.Btw,in step 5 again,you say to type "tcctool -d ypk3 YPK3.rom,well,i do it and nothing happening..it stucks in recovery mode..
Reply With Quote

  #89  
Old 11-04-2008, 02:38 AM
manifesto manifesto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Lightbulb

After hours of trying,i made it work!!!Now i have 4.06(Red)!My solution is that after the format step,i replace in my C:/ the firmware (4.03) with the firmware i wanted to install (4.06) and then i put firmware (4.06) in the root directory of my fresh formatted device.then in this step
Once you have done this, set your K3 back in to recovery mode (by holding the on switch down and pressing reset) and boot your 'old' rom again using the "tcctool -d ypk3 YPK3.rom" command.
Pull the USB cable out as soon as Samsung logo appears.
instead of using tcctool -d ypk3 YPK3.rom i used
tcctool -d ypk3 C:\YPK3.rom as i have puted 4.06 in my C:/ (i told you before).So when the Samsung Logo appears,i unplug the USB and its working the upgrade!!Thanks a lot!!

P.S. If i want to change the colour of 4.06 (i have RED and i want LIME) i need to do this again??
P.S.* Do you have the firmware 4.06 Lime??
Reply With Quote

  #90  
Old 02-15-2009, 08:10 PM
PabloW PabloW is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks a lot!!!
Reply With Quote

  #91  
Old 03-12-2009, 11:40 AM
Tempestas Tempestas is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Default Help

Hey there guys.

I've been reading trough these posts and topics for quite a while now.
Also I've been playing with my YP-K3 for some hours now...

I've chosen to update my old firmware 3.09 (AW JN? or something like this)
to 4.03 > 4.06................ BUT.... I'm stuck. (using vista)

I've completed every steps mentioned on the first page and I could complete it till ->"Once you have done this, set your K3 back in to recovery mode (by holding the on switch down and pressing reset) and boot your 'old' rom again using the "tcctool -d ypk3 YPK3.rom" command.
Pull the USB cable out as soon as Samsung logo appears. This will cause it to boot the new firmware, but not in to USB mode, thereby causing it to detect the firmware on it's drive and install it."

PROBLEM is: I upload my 4.03 files to the K3 while in recovery mode, (booted from .rom) than I initiate recovery mode again, write the "tcctool -d ypk3 YPK3.rom" in run --> but unlike with the "tcctool -d ypk3 C:\YPK3.rom" command, with this one the K3 is not rebooting and I'm not getting a "Samsung" screen. After i try to initiate recovery or other methods I get turquise screen.

Any ideas would be a life and money saver!!!

Holy ****!!!

Now I've done it! lol....

--------> Okay everyone here's the Solution! <--------

Follow steps from first post till ->
You've uploaded your 4.03 firmware to the K3 (that's currently in recovery mode and under C:/ .rom boot), you reboot it (still with cable attached and still in recovery mode). Than you launch the "tcctool -d ypk3 C:\YPK3.rom" command, and now you'll see the K3 rebooting (DO NOT DISCONNECT CABLE) and you'll see "FIRMWARE UPDATING". As it's finished it'll say "Disconnect cable" ---> Disconnect it. Connect it again. Now it will say ---> "UPGRADING IMAGE". As it's complete You're K3 will shut down. Now you can start it in normal. Don't be afraid cause it will launch in korean but you'll have the language option

[ At the "Than you launch the "tcctool -d ypk3 C:\YPK3.rom" command" I first launched the "tcctool -d ypk3 YPK3.rom" but I guess this was the problem]

Have fun!

Last edited by Tempestas; 03-12-2009 at 11:58 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #92  
Old 05-15-2009, 11:16 PM
mellow mellow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default Can't copy files to K3

I can follow the instructions for upgrading from v3.09 to 4.03/4.06 up to the point where I have to copy the files to the K3. Unfortunately, I either get an I/O error or "cannot copy .. the parameter is incorrect". So I am stuck because, as I read it, I need to have the rom and img file on the K3 to get to the next step. Any clues at this time would be appreciated. Thanks

_____________________

15 mins later.........
It's always the way, ask for help then you solve it yourself. I moved the USB plug from an addin source at the front of the computer to a hardwired one at the back and, hey presto, I can copy the files to the K3 and the rest, as they say, is history. It all works as the kind posters who dreamed up these things said it would.

Last edited by mellow; 05-16-2009 at 12:12 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #93  
Old 06-02-2009, 03:58 AM
vegaz vegaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Tank you so much....I unbrick my K5 ....Tank you, Tank you, Tank you, Tank you....
Reply With Quote

  #94  
Old 07-17-2009, 06:55 PM
jjolim jjolim is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manifesto View Post
P.S. If i want to change the colour of 4.06 (i have RED and i want LIME) i need to do this again??
P.S.* Do you have the firmware 4.06 Lime??
No. You would simply copy the image for Lime to the root and when you turn on the unit the next time it will update.

You can find the 4.06 lime image here http://media.generationmp3.com/gmp3/Firmwares/Samsung/

Reply With Quote

  #95  
Old 10-13-2009, 10:14 AM
capncoolio capncoolio is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I just wanted to hop on and CONFIRM that this fix/solution works EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED in Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit (x86), without hitch, except the constant stream of confirmation dialogs on installing the tcctool driver :P

P.S. sorry for the bump.

Last edited by capncoolio; 10-13-2009 at 10:15 AM. Reason: sorryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
firmware, samsung

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.