android
  #1  
Old 11-05-2009, 06:51 PM
k0p4n k0p4n is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Red face Frozen Boot Screen

Hi guys,

Before some might get mad, I did search my problem on the P3 section of the forums and there was no luck so I turn to you all.
Has anyone had the P3 freeze up while turning on?
My P3 is the latest firmware in the korean version UMS and so when i boot it up, it makes the sound and all but it freezes at the P3 and nothing.
I reset the thing and reboot the P3 but same thing happened. So I then tried to plug it in the pc to see if it's openable and it froze the same way.
But the weird thing is...I retried plugging the P3 to the pc and as it froze I went on to look for some answers and this message on the pc popped up, like when you plug in a flash drive a window pops up.

Has anyone had this problem?
and also, do some people occasionally get lock ups?

Thanks guys
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-16-2009, 01:01 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

nope, Ive not had this problem... if you can't plug it into your computer to put the latest firmware on, call samsung.
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-16-2009, 02:33 PM
k0p4n k0p4n is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default

ok this has happened to me again
so the problem happens when i play all the songs i have and put the play mode as shuffle
i just shuffle through and it freezes, virbrates and shuts off
when i turn it back on, it lags on the P3 screen. you wait like 30 seconds and it finishes booting

i thought it was the firmware so i formatted everything, changed from 2.20 kr to 2.18 kr then back

and this morning it happened again

do you guys suggest theres a problem with the music itself or maybe its just a rare bug lol

thanks
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-16-2009, 02:53 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

well, "rare" issues like these are a tricky matter. Samsung made a version 1 of the P3, and a version 2 of the P3, but the look and (usually) act the same. So just because I don't have that issue, does not mean that is isn't possible for somebody else to have that issue. I personally have had great experiences with Samsung Tech support, so I would recomend contacting them and seeing what they say.
if you are not comfortable with that, you can try the following:
maybe change the region of the player,
try again with half the number of songs on the device,
etc.
let me know if that works/what Samsung says
-electron
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-17-2009, 01:03 AM
k0p4n k0p4n is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default

yea i was thinking of doing that when i get home and now im home and changed the region as well as format the whole thing and imported only one album.
i put it to shuffle and dragged my finger to shuffle along because thats when the problem always happened but it seems good. ive been shuffling for about 10 minutes now, like constant shuffling and there hasn't been a problem. guess my p3 likes to stay usa haha

if something happens tmrw then i guess ill have to call samsung so i hope nothing bad happens

thanks for the help electron (:
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-17-2009, 03:42 PM
k0p4n k0p4n is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default

well this is lame...the firmware was the latest in us but it happened again
maybe i should reformat everything like the entire thing..
or could it be an error caused by an mp3 file?
wow this sucks
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-17-2009, 05:32 PM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k0p4n View Post
well this is lame...the firmware was the latest in us but it happened again
maybe i should reformat everything like the entire thing..
or could it be an error caused by an mp3 file?
wow this sucks
It's possible it's some weird IDv3.2 tag on one of your mp3's that is causing greif. I know with my old cell phone, certain tags would cause the java based music player to reboot.

I've used dBpoweramp reference version to see what tags are on my mp3 files and was surprised at how much extra stuff is tagged onto files that I didn't rip myself.

After I cleared all the itune tags, and the gain tags, and other weird tags I found off those files, I never had a problem with them on my phone again. And also might be why I've never had a problem with my P3.

If you can check all the tags applied to your mp3 files, I'm willing to bet you will find some weird ones (tags). Clean those up and it just may clear up your problem.

Before dBpoweramp Reference, I had no idea just how many different things that can be embedded in IDv3.2 tags.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-17-2009, 07:12 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

^
I would recommend doing what he said...
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-17-2009, 11:38 PM
k0p4n k0p4n is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default

wow ok...i'll give it a try
i might just format and change the fimwares once more to usa then maybe back to kr if its safe...and

do you guys recommend any good software to transfer music?
i tried wmp, jet audio, and the samsung one but they dont do a great job..and plus i tried media monkey but when i try to add files to the library of mediamonkey, the program crashes..thanks and i'll try what you said
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-18-2009, 11:29 PM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

I keep my P3 in UMS mode and just drag and drop my music. No program needed outside of the Operating System of the computer.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-19-2009, 12:27 AM
k0p4n k0p4n is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default

yea thats good..i did that for a while but when coming in to edit the songs it gets kinda hard to organize well w/e alls is good

i did try the tag thing you showed me with dBpoweramp and yea...theres some weird stuff tagged in the mp3's ...weird..

thanks man it just might have done the trick..
thank god i thought my p3 was broken (:

thanks again
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-19-2009, 06:39 AM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

I have a mac, and so to transfer files, I just use UMS mode and drag & drop. I actually use iTunes to edit my ID3 tags...
and Im glad everything seems to be working
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 11-22-2009, 07:40 AM
IvanKovnovic IvanKovnovic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I have the R1 and the same problem
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 11-22-2009, 02:54 PM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanKovnovic View Post
I have the R1 and the same problem
See my answer above about mysterious tags on mp3's and dBpoeramp reference etc.

It seemed to clear up OP's problem and probably will fix your's too.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.