android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Samsung > Samsung P3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2009, 09:47 AM
The Last Cavalier The Last Cavalier is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Default Is it Possible to Install Media Player Classic on the P3?

Hi folks,

I was wondering, since it plays almost all movie files, if it was possible to install Media Player Classic on the P3?

If so, how would I go about doing it? Where (what folder) would I place the file in my P3? And how does it even ask me to install it in the 1st place?

Most importantly, would you recommend installing it in the 1st place? If not, what kind of media player would you recommend installing instead?

Please be gentle, because I'm not a tech-genius and even such a simple question like this is beyond me.

Thanks to everyone who replies!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-01-2009, 09:53 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

This is completely impossible. MPC is a Windows application that relies heavily on other aspects of Windows apps/drivers/etc. Same goes for easier to port players like VLC as well. The P3 just can't run anything like that.

The P3 (and most other MP3 players available) runs on some proprietary embedded operating system, and you can't add anything besides some dinky Flash games through the firmware.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-01-2009, 09:58 AM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

The P3 will play most mp4 and avi files you put on it.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:16 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

yeah, I think you will find that the P3 can play anything you want on the media side of things... no need for a special application to do so (even if you could, there would not be much of a point)
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-01-2009, 03:46 PM
The Last Cavalier The Last Cavalier is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Default

Well thanks guys. See, I didn't know all that and now I do.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-01-2009, 04:28 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

haha, well, that is why we're here! if you have any more questions, Ill be happy to answer them
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.