android
  #1  
Old 12-24-2009, 05:38 PM
temps909 temps909 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default Having problems copying firmware 2.18

Hi,
I'm only a newbie to this but if anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated. I've just received my P3 16gb player and tried to update firmware from the current which is 2.14 (US) to 2.18. And i'm already having a bit of trouble. After i connect the player and unzip the folder which is a YPP3.BIN file i then copy it into internal storage and i get this message;

cannot copy YPP3.BIN: The device has either stopped responding or has been disconnected.

Any help or response as to why this is happening will save me a massive headache greatly.
Cheers!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-25-2009, 02:54 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

welcome to ABI

what Operating System are you using? (like, OSX, Windows XP, Windows Vista, etc )

also, this may sound kinda dumb, but did you make sure that the cable is plugged in all the way?
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-25-2009, 05:35 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

Make sure it is in MSC (UMS) mode, also.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-25-2009, 06:38 PM
temps909 temps909 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I'm using Windows XP SP2 which is quite old compared to Windows 7 or Vista nowadays. But maybe i need to upgrade my OP?
I'll try the UMS mode as it was in MTP, Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-25-2009, 06:53 PM
temps909 temps909 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Ok, tried the UMS mode. And the folder loaded onto player smoothly without any errors. But still no changes to the firmware, It's still in 2.14. Yeah, checked to see if usb cable was well and truly plugged in properly. But still no idea what i'm doing wrong here folks.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-26-2009, 03:16 PM
temps909 temps909 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Everything's working fine now . Thanks again!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-26-2009, 10:01 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

no problem. btw, I also run XP home eddition, and I don't really have problems with it. I can still enjoy my Visual Basic on it, so I'm happy
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.