android
  #1  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:13 AM
runeblade98 runeblade98 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
Default Playlist help

Hey guys, I just purchased the X-Fi2 16GB and I gotta say, Im loving every aspect of it except one thing...playlists...

Im still in the middle of tinkering with it as we speak, but i upgraded from a good ol Zen, which was fine in the ways of drag n drop playlist building. It seems that it isnt the case in the case of the X-Fi2, unless it has to be done in creative centrale. In which, mine wont even show up on there.

Is there any way to make a playlist on the computer? Im using a PC with Windows XP. Can you make a playlist with windows explorer through the my computer menu? or does it have to be done through Creative Centrale only?

Any help will be appreciated, I dont like the thought of having to do it through the player manually.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:51 AM
ThievingSix ThievingSix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 218
Default

Playlists are just .m3u files located in the X:\Playlist\ folder(X being your player driver letter). Each line is a song name like this:

\Music\02-CIT~1.MP3
\Music\15COLI~1.MP3
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:06 PM
runeblade98 runeblade98 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 22
Default

So from what I understand, Go X:\Playlist\(created folder for playlist)
Then retype each song with the header \music\ (title of song).MP3?

Im kind of new to this, sorry if im bugging some people.

(also when i opened my playlist folder from my X-fi2, they came up as Winamp Files.)
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-20-2009, 03:00 AM
ThievingSix ThievingSix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 218
Default

If you use Winamp for your music playing the playlist file association might be with Winamp making look like a Winamp file.

And yes you type each song with \Music\<Filename of song>.mp3
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-16-2010, 11:02 AM
billwstl billwstl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default playlist

What if you already have some large playlists made in Windows media and don't want to recreate them? I cannot get them to sync, can't drag and drop them onto the player.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-16-2010, 11:20 AM
LordXenos's Avatar
LordXenos LordXenos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
I cannot get them to sync, can't drag and drop them onto the player.
Do you save them as '.m3u' files? If so they should work as long as all of the songs are on your ZEN and there shouldn't be any reason why you can't just use Windows Explorer to drag and drop.

Does it not let you drag and drop or will the playlist just not show up when you try to play it on your ZEN?

Sorry if the question is confusing. I'm not exactly sure what you mean by it not letting you drag and drop.
__________________
If you have a question, please ask. I am more than happy to help.

Cheers,
Your friendly neighborhood
Dark Lord
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-16-2010, 11:29 AM
billwstl billwstl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I have been using wmp for years. I believe wmp saves playlists in a .wpl format. In wmp, if i drag a playlist over to the sync tab and sync it to player, all the music goes, but no playlist shows up on the player; if i use windows explorer to drag the .wpl file over to the player, it also is does not show up on the player when I disconnect.

If I understand some of the other posts, the .m3u is a basic text file that has to use dos conventions (short names) for naming all of the files?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-16-2010, 11:45 AM
LordXenos's Avatar
LordXenos LordXenos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 94
Default

In WMP, on the top of the 'playlist panel' when you are editing it, click the name of the playlist. It should drop down a menu where you can choose 'Save Playlist As...' When you save the playlist, make sure to change it to '.m3u'.

Then try moving the playlist over the way you normally do.

Let me know if that helps
__________________
If you have a question, please ask. I am more than happy to help.

Cheers,
Your friendly neighborhood
Dark Lord
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-16-2010, 01:04 PM
billwstl billwstl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks Lord - that looks like it is going to work! However, I decided to do some cleanup and organization before I do them all, did a small test one.

Got another question - I think I saw somewhere where the x-fi2 does not do .wma files; looks like I have accumulated a number of them over the years. Any ideas on a way to find and batch convert them all?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-16-2010, 04:16 PM
badazzmofo badazzmofo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 75
Default

use mediacoder
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-16-2010, 04:22 PM
LordXenos's Avatar
LordXenos LordXenos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
use mediacoder
I agree... MediaCoder is the best application for batch transcoding that I know of. I will try to put together a quick tutorial on using it when I get back to my apartment (which, unfortunately, will not be until Monday evening).
__________________
If you have a question, please ask. I am more than happy to help.

Cheers,
Your friendly neighborhood
Dark Lord
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-16-2010, 10:38 PM
billwstl billwstl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Well, the playlist help did not work; got a step further. Now on the x-fi2, I see the playlists, when you open them it seems like it is working to find something, and then comes up with no tracks in there. If I sync with WMP, the playlists are in the playlist directory on the player, but are only 2K, - they are empty; if I drag and drop the playlists, they have the data, but in either case, the player comes up empty when you open them; this is after converting the playlists to m3u. Is there any header info or anything I would need to edit if I drag & drop it over? It seems like it is using a relative reference for the file names. A typical record in the .m3u looks like:

#EXTINF:0,I Want You (She's So Heavy).mp3
..\The Beatles\Abbey Road\I Want You (She's So Heavy).mp3
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-17-2010, 08:05 AM
billwstl billwstl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Another clue, jeez; if I create a playlist on the x-fi2, it comes out with a .m3u extension, but looks like this:


/MUSIC/SANTANA/SUPERN~1/01(DAL~1.WMA
/MUSIC/RE1840~1.M_/EPONYM~1/05(DON~1.WMA
/MUSIC/THEWHO~1/WHO'SN~2/12(I'M~1.WMA

does that mean this pos is stuck in the dos world of like 10 character path names? any way to convert a normal .m3u to this?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-17-2010, 08:18 AM
billwstl billwstl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

tried editing one of my playlists and substituting music with the .., and deleting out all other info; no dice.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-17-2010, 08:51 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

About playlists On-The-Go, did someone find how to add a music to an existing playlist?
I know how to make a new playlist, but not how to edit a playlist...
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-17-2010, 09:05 AM
badazzmofo badazzmofo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 75
Default

billwstl : i can see the playlist filepaths i created through winamp just fine.

what crappy program are you using?
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-17-2010, 09:27 AM
LordXenos's Avatar
LordXenos LordXenos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 94
Default

@billwstl: It may be a way that WMP is making the playlists (even though it's saving as m3u, it might not be a standard m3u listing in the file). When I get back to my apartment I'll take a further look into this.

If you could... make a quick 3 song playlist in WMP and then make the exact same 3 song playlist on your ZEN and then post the innards of both of the playlist files.
__________________
If you have a question, please ask. I am more than happy to help.

Cheers,
Your friendly neighborhood
Dark Lord
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.