android
  #1  
Old 01-22-2010, 08:18 PM
cilmaviel cilmaviel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default my first app -paint

Hello all, I finished my first app (first version of it anyway) it's a paint/drawing app, and thought I would share it and maybe get a few suggestions. It can be found here...

Current version: 1.7 -
thanks again to Habhome for adding more colors to the color selector.

Greatly increased the responsiveness while drawing and added a line tool, hold the screen at a point till the H appears in the bottom right corner and then hold the screen it another point and it will draw a line between the 2.

Thanks to Habhome for developing v1.4 with new icons and interface and adding new Behavior
Quote:
1. When you select the eraser it remembers your previous color
for when you deselect the eraser. Also the color marker does
not automatically jump to the white/black color.
2. When you switch to white background it now changes the white
color button to black.
-i have made it slightly more responsive but at a cost, drawing too fast makes smooth lines into jagged ones so take it slow if you want nicer looking curves.
-also added a "eraser" that shows as you erase things, but only for brushes 2 and 3.

From version 1.3...
-less lag ( drawing curves too fast will make make lines instead of a smooth line.
-3 different sized "brushes".
-an eraser.
-and ability to change to a white background ( this will clear the screen and change white to black ).

The screen does lag a bit while drawing and there is of course no save. it has 5 colors and white, click the home to clear and if you click home while it is clear to exit

P.S. a pencil or stylus helps a lot with precision.

Screenshot:


Watch the gameplay video here: http://youtu.be/SLrft-oNLJ0
Attached Files
File Type: zip Paint 1.7.zip (113.8 KB, 934 views)

Last edited by cilmaviel; 02-18-2010 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-23-2010, 02:47 AM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

Brilliant app! I have a quick suggestion, I would much appreciate a 'Line Thickness' option, maybe a slider? I know this is your first application so, congrats!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-23-2010, 04:27 AM
fzbm123 fzbm123 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Default

hey thx for the apps! anw i hav some suggestion:
-highlight a colour when it is selected so tat we know which colour we are using
-an eraser
-reduce the lag
-more colours
THX!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-23-2010, 08:20 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,079
Default

Really nice. If you manage to get rid of the lag it'll be great.
And I have one addition to the list of things to improve. When you choose a color it makes a dot with the previous color on top of the color changing button, could you make it not do that?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-23-2010, 09:43 AM
JJLoke JJLoke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 87
Default

great work!

i suggest that u could work on the save option, save it as a picture with an auto date stamp in the picture folder

and an open function to open the saved picture
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-23-2010, 10:13 AM
ThievingSix ThievingSix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 218
Default

There won't be a save option until Creative adds something to save pictures.
__________________
Only ONE more functions in the Wiki need addressing!
Zen X-Fi2 LUA Wiki
Want to protect your applications? Click Here!
Tower Defense Thread
Zen Lock - Protect Your Zen!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-23-2010, 12:50 PM
cilmaviel cilmaviel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default

thanks for the suggestions. i updated the link to a new version that shows the active color and added yellow and orange. im going to try to add some brushes in upcoming versions. i also removed the ability to draw over the buttons.

as for the save, i was thinking that if there was matrix the size and shape of the screen that held the pixel data before it gets drawn to the screen (like a buffer), then the matrix could be saved to a file and drawn to the screen. and maybe different pages could be made to draw on. i will be trying to find a way to use this to save too.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-23-2010, 12:59 PM
ThievingSix ThievingSix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 218
Default

I guess on all events you could just save the x, y to a table. Save the table to a file with IO. And reload it and redraw.
__________________
Only ONE more functions in the Wiki need addressing!
Zen X-Fi2 LUA Wiki
Want to protect your applications? Click Here!
Tower Defense Thread
Zen Lock - Protect Your Zen!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-23-2010, 03:06 PM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

Quick thought, would it be possible to choose the colors from a drop down menu? This way the color buttons wouldnt get in the way of the pwetty picture
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-23-2010, 11:33 PM
JJLoke JJLoke is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 87
Default

i do not think the drop down would be a feasible solution on the touchscreen, unless there is an icon to be pressed. i did prefer the menu to appear when the home button is pressed, then exit the program from there
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-24-2010, 04:38 PM
fzbm123 fzbm123 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Default

can u
-add an eraser with different sizes
-reduce the lag
THX!
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-24-2010, 06:02 PM
kushndonuts kushndonuts is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 29
Default

Great job
You did exactly what I wanted to do with my paint app. but maybe you could add a line button to draw straight lines
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-25-2010, 01:46 AM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by kushndonuts View Post
Great job
You did exactly what I wanted to do with my paint app. but maybe you could add a line button to draw straight lines
Forgive me if I'm wrong, but I believe that there was a line drawing tool in an earlier version .
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-26-2010, 09:24 AM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

I just tried v1.2 and it looks very nice! It looks quite professional with the color buttons. Much improvement over the first version.

Some different sized brushes would be nice, and also, is there something that can be done about the lag? I don't mind if it stays like this, I was just wondering if there are optimizations to be done or that the player is just slow.

And to save the creations of course.. how is it going with saving the coordinates to a file and redrawing them?
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-26-2010, 12:05 PM
cilmaviel cilmaviel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default

there is good and bad news about saving. first i did manage to get a save working...kinda ( touch.move only records points and drawline connects them, so far only the points are saved) but a bigger problem is that it works fine on the simulator but it makes the player crash, my guess is that it is too much for it to handle...much like if you try v1.2 on the sim there is no lag.

where is the code for the saving version if anyone has some ideas for optimization
http://www.mediafire.com/?jj2qdnii2gn
to save, hold down the home button

so instead of a save ill work on other things to add, i should have a new version soon unless i hit any problems.

Last edited by cilmaviel; 01-26-2010 at 12:14 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-26-2010, 12:27 PM
Jan_DK's Avatar
Jan_DK Jan_DK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cilmaviel View Post
there is good and bad news about saving. first i did manage to get a save working...kinda ( touch.move only records points and drawline connects them, so far only the points are saved) but a bigger problem is that it works fine on the simulator but it makes the player crash, my guess is that it is too much for it to handle...much like if you try v1.2 on the sim there is no lag.

where is the code for the saving version if anyone has some ideas for optimization
http://www.mediafire.com/?jj2qdnii2gn
to save, hold down the home button

so instead of a save ill work on other things to add, i should have a new version soon unless i hit any problems.
In the thread http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=50811 we found out that the current X-Fi2 Lua environment do not have enough memory to allocate a buffer the size of the screen.

So this code eg. from Paint is not going to work on the X-Fi2.

You are not doing anything wrong, it's the player,,,

Code:
for w = 1, 400 do
    for h = 1, 240 do
        acn = data:read()
        mt[w][h] = acn
        screen.drawpixel(w, h, activecolor())
    end
    screen.update()
end
Jan_DK
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-26-2010, 12:41 PM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

And if you let it draw smaller parts at a time? Instead of 400x240 pixels at once, say, 100x60, then 100-200x60-120, etc?

Or maybe only have it draw the pixels that have a color. Just to decrease the memory to be read.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-26-2010, 10:09 PM
cilmaviel cilmaviel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default

i've updated the first post with a new version...details are there.

i am going to try a few things to get saves working, but with the limits of the device it might make things more laggy, might even have to wait and see if creative will release something in a sdk.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 01-27-2010, 07:53 AM
Les23 Les23 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rome
Posts: 38
Default

mmm the link in the first post redirect always to the 1.2 version :P
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:37 AM
cilmaviel cilmaviel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
mmm the link in the first post redirect always to the 1.2 version :P
hmm, the url is the same but it should work now
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.