android
  #1  
Old 10-11-2009, 12:06 PM
erik dankmeijer erik dankmeijer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: nederland
Posts: 8
Default A/V cable

Can i use the a/v cable of the zen visiom m. for the x-fi 2 ?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-11-2009, 08:20 PM
Maudit Maudit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 30
Default

Well IIRC the ZVM has a propierty connector, where the XFi2 video comes from the same plug as the headphones 3.5mm
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-12-2009, 03:29 AM
lrgraham lrgraham is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default YES! Don't buy the $20 cable for the X-Fi2...

Pinouts are the same as for the Ipod Video shown in this article: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/archi...mm-pinouts.php.

We used an old Creative Zen Vision W cable. We cut it about 6 inches from the plug end, twisted the wires together according to the pinouts shown above, and tested it.

After satisfied that it worked, we soldered and taped the cable back together. Please note that the shielding used on the video, right, and left audio is common to all three and should be twisted together. In our case, the shielding was the video conductor.

Hope this helps!

Sincerely,
lrgraham
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-30-2009, 08:36 AM
erik dankmeijer erik dankmeijer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: nederland
Posts: 8
Default

thanks for the information Irgraham.
I have changed connections

1- Video
2-Ground
3-Left
4-Right

and it works very well
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-05-2009, 01:32 PM
nafai7 nafai7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default

I haven't bought one yet, but I have seen them on ebay like this one for $4 plus shipping:
http://cgi.ebay.ca/Audio-Video-AV-TV...ht_1249wt_1165
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-12-2009, 03:43 PM
nafai7 nafai7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Okay, now I've bought an A/V cable from London Drugs for $15. It is made by Electrohome. It has the 3.5mm plug at one end and the 3 RCA plugs at the other.
I had to switch the cables so that the red cable was plugged into the yellow Video spot on my TV, the white went into the white, and the yellow plug went into the red spot on the tv. It is still stereo.

Here is the link:
http://www.londondrugs.com/Cultures/...%20Accessories
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-06-2010, 07:59 AM
P373R P373R is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default

I have bought this totally cheap one http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=260513328533 and did not worked, today after discovery of this forum and specially this thread tried tip from erik dankmeijer and cut video cinch then resolder on opposite cables and IT WORKS!! Also must be done to the L and R connectors.
Think is a cover from Creative that you buy a expensive one direct from Creative because in electronics is usually the 1 contact the GND..
Anyway THANKS!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.