android
  #21  
Old 03-24-2010, 06:02 PM
dkstott dkstott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 36
Default

as posted in the firmware update notice, whatever Creative did within the LUA programming that is causing some apps to crash also fixed my touch screen issues.

Dave
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 03-24-2010, 07:36 PM
Tetrajak Tetrajak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oceania
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkstott View Post
as posted in the firmware update notice, whatever Creative did within the LUA programming that is causing some apps to crash also fixed my touch screen issues.

Dave
It appears that the only apps that are crashing are those which use the accelerometer. Fixing them is as simple as deleting the files from your X-Fi2 and replacing them with originals from the original app files stored on your computer (if you kept them), or re-downloaded from wherever you got them on the net. However, for the few that this doesn't fix, you'll have to wait until their creaters update their apps to deal with the changed getdata and setdata method names for the accelerometer.

Last edited by Tetrajak; 03-24-2010 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 03-24-2010, 09:25 PM
dkstott dkstott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 36
Default

which leads me to believe that Creative made changes to the accelerometer programming.

Somehow the change is probably tied into the touch screen orientation, Which coincidentally solved my issues.

I am no longer playing chase the calibration point and can easily scroll past "H" during an artist search.

Dave
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 03-24-2010, 09:28 PM
Tetrajak Tetrajak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oceania
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkstott View Post
which leads me to believe that Creative made changes to the accelerometer programming.

Somehow the change is probably tied into the touch screen orientation, Which coincidentally solved my issues.

I am no longer playing chase the calibration point and can easily scroll past "H" during an artist search.

Dave
It has nothing to do with the touch screen orientation what-so-ever. The getdata and setdata methods for the accelerometer had their names changed slightly. This needs to be reflected in the code of the affected apps or they wont work on the new firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 03-25-2010, 07:24 AM
Spewk's Avatar
Spewk Spewk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
Default

I'm updating my player i will post the fixes later
btw, thanks habhomme for the info
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 03-25-2010, 07:38 AM
Spewk's Avatar
Spewk Spewk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
Default

Ok, there are no major bugfixes (except for the audio in applications)....it is faster but... EVERYTIME i plug in in my computer, it resets my settings!

edit: it doesn't do it anymore

Last edited by Spewk; 03-25-2010 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 03-26-2010, 11:04 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,081
Default

It seems like the bugfix for the audio have given birth to another audio bug. The player can suddenly compress the volume scale it seems so 6 corresponds to 1 and 25 is still 25. Thus making it so that 15 sounds like about 13. This remains until I restart my player.

I discovered this bug while playing around with the audio volume in an application, and Brett_val told me he had experienced the same thing during normal use of the player.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 03-26-2010, 05:07 PM
bzdbbb's Avatar
bzdbbb bzdbbb is offline
X-Fi2 Development Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Posts: 94
Default

Back to ideas. It would be good if the player could buffer the first few seconds of a track before it's played allowing for instant track changes. This must be possible because even on random the player knows which song its playing next. I listen to a lot of lostprophets (lots of other bands do it too, not to mention audiobooks) and the fills between songs sound awesome on my laptop, but theres a horribly noticable pause on my zen
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 03-29-2010, 07:00 AM
jenxen jenxen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default

My ideas for a better X-FI 2? (1) An arrow buttons in the VOLUME, EQUALIZER etc. so that you won't need to scroll the "adjuster" for precise volume control! (just like the way you would adjust the zen x-fi2 clock. (2) Album art support for FLAC (3) Support for mp3 PRO. (3) No "initial" folder at the Picture Folders.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 03-29-2010, 01:29 PM
Tetrajak Tetrajak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oceania
Posts: 124
Default

It'd be awesome if the only time the MicroSD was scanned was when the contents had actually changed rather than every single time it loaded.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 03-29-2010, 04:57 PM
Brett_val's Avatar
Brett_val Brett_val is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
It seems like the bugfix for the audio have given birth to another audio bug. The player can suddenly compress the volume scale it seems so 6 corresponds to 1 and 25 is still 25. Thus making it so that 15 sounds like about 13. This remains until I restart my player.

I discovered this bug while playing around with the audio volume in an application, and Brett_val told me he had experienced the same thing during normal use of the player.
Yeah, sometimes a suddenly decrease in total volume output appears when you change the volume. With firmware 1.10, you could correct this by moving the slider of the x-fi crystallizer back and forth, and then the volume would be up to normal (then the volume would suddenly increase back to normal), but with firmware 1.12 this doesn't fix it anymore.
The only fix for turning the volume back to normal now is turning the player off and on again.
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 04-03-2010, 02:23 PM
montyhp montyhp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Drm10

DRM-10

Can't imagine why they didn't go that way in the first place.
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 04-13-2010, 12:34 AM
phoenix_phyre phoenix_phyre is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default

I'd love a feature to play all albums listed for an artist instead of having to choose one at a time. Sometimes I'm in the mood for just one band and it gets frustrating having to go back and forth between the albums in the menu.
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 04-13-2010, 02:46 AM
Habhome's Avatar
Habhome Habhome is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix_phyre View Post
I'd love a feature to play all albums listed for an artist instead of having to choose one at a time. Sometimes I'm in the mood for just one band and it gets frustrating having to go back and forth between the albums in the menu.
There is a way to do this already, and there's a thread on here which explains how to do it. I'll quote the person who provided the procedure:

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoePercent View Post
try this:
select music
select artist
from the drop down menu, select view all
choose a song
It works like a charm.
__________________
"If you are good enough at English to apologize, then there is no need to." - A good friend of mine
Discovered something about the X-Fi2 you think others may not know? Post it here so others can learn about it!
Have a question about X-Fi2 apps? Consult the FAQ before creating a thread about it.
Like my work? Tell your friends. Don't like it? Tell me so I can improve. ^.^
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 04-15-2010, 08:41 AM
Kim3663 Kim3663 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 13
Default

I think I've found a bug/annoying change with the latest firmware....

When you're playing a track, and go to the different views (i.e. the view with the star rating, then to the list of 'selected tracks') the selected tracks view goes to the top of the list, rather than the place in the list that you're current track is. I'm pretty sure it used to go to the current place in the list.....
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 04-16-2010, 01:30 AM
phoenix_phyre phoenix_phyre is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habhome View Post
There is a way to do this already, and there's a thread on here which explains how to do it. I'll quote the person who provided the procedure:



It works like a charm.
Thanks Hab. And the funny part is i remember using this option before now must've slipped my mind lol
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:32 AM
klaust klaust is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 8
Default

When Audio-Books (or Music) ist stored on the SD-Card, it is not possible to set bookmarks! Not very comfortable....

I don't know, where the bookmarks are stored in Xfi's filesystem, but some control-files are also on the SD-Card and the card is scanned each time after power on. So i see no reason not to have bookmarks there.....

regards
-klaus
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 04-29-2010, 01:05 PM
x130844 x130844 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewk View Post
Hey mates,
I was thinking about making a bug report thread, so we (maybe) can send it to Creative to make a better firmware for our Creative ZEN X-Fi2.
Also, we can add interesting features we would love to have on it.
I'll start:

Bugs:
- Misspelled names in Italian translation (i'm italian )
- Drive scan really slow on reset
- Sometimes it randomly crashes
- Coverart on FLAC missing (maybe it's a bug, maybe a feature)

new features:
- Coverart on FLAC
- Integration of the accelerometer in the menu
- Automatic radio names (i don't know how to explain it, but new radios transmit their names and you can see them on the display)
- Allow update of calendar and contacts without the use of Centrale.

Things which have been fixed:
- Issues with touch screen sensitivity/erratic action etc.
- Music/audio effects volume on applications (when using earphones) gets lower randomly until 0

Any other ideas/bugs?
That last comment of yours about the audio randomly bit.
I ran some tests.
The issue happens if the headphones are plugged in and if the audio is >=15.
If you set it at 14 or lower. it works as expected.
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 05-03-2010, 12:40 PM
Spewk's Avatar
Spewk Spewk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 22
Default

i have another bug
sometimes it skips tracks on the same album
ex: if i play the first track, at the end it goes to the 3rd...and from the finish of the 3rd it goes to the 5th!
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 05-03-2010, 01:24 PM
RobertsAccount's Avatar
RobertsAccount RobertsAccount is offline
X-Fi2 App Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewk View Post
i have another bug
sometimes it skips tracks on the same album
ex: if i play the first track, at the end it goes to the 3rd...and from the finish of the 3rd it goes to the 5th!
This may be because the ZEN cannot play the file, so it skips to the next track.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.