android
  #1  
Old 04-09-2010, 12:44 PM
seancutch seancutch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default Smart DJ Error

Hi all,

I've been a Zune subscriber for several months now, and I've really grown to love the Smart DJ feature of grabbing related tracks from the marketplace. Unfortunately, it has stopped working for some unknown reason (the error code only says "an unknown error has occurred"). At first I thought it had something to do with me installing a new antivirus (Avast) because it stopped working around the same time. Uninstalling Avast, doing a system restore, and even reinstalling my old AV software didn't fix it, though. I use Zonealarm as a firewall, but haven't touched it or any of the settings for a LONG time. Any guesses?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-28-2010, 01:27 PM
NSILMike NSILMike is offline
Sub-Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 233
Default

I can only think of one potential cause... Music has to be linked to the marketplace for this to work. In other words, Smart DJ has to be able to recognize some data about the tracks to be able to create a playlist using it's algorithm. If you suddenly lost the link somehow (hard to imagine...it's a custom tag in the track itself) I can imagine this happening. Does this give you any sort of clue? Did your music folder somehow get marked 'read-only'? Are you having any other collection snafu's? You just might want to run the zune media collection reset tool if you are... but don't run it on a whim, as you will lose your local playcounts (which messes up autoplaylists based on playcounts.)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.