android
  #1  
Old 05-13-2010, 08:12 PM
friendlyarab friendlyarab is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default A few quick questions

So I just got my S545 today... and I've been playing around with MediaMonkey for a few days now. It's a pretty confusing switch from iPod + iTunes.

1. Is there a way to add individual files to MediaMonkey, instead of full folders?
2. Is there a quick option to delete all duplicate songs on MediaMonkey?
3. My S545 flashes the time and date every 10 seconds or so. Can I disable this? Can I force it to flash the time? (pressing a button on hold displays the hold message, pressing without hold displays the standard screen)
4. Why don't my playlists sync?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-13-2010, 10:50 PM
CDMP3PlayerFan CDMP3PlayerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 708
Default

I will provide what help I can (the following assumes you are using MediaMonkey Gold):

1. Is there a way to add individual files to MediaMonkey, instead of full folders?

I don't see a direct way to add individual songs to MediaMonkey (MM). However, it is easy to setup MM to allow you to easily add individual songs.

What I do is have one folder for all of the songs that MM will use and have MM monitor and auto-organize that folder (and only that folder). When I want to add an individual song or multiple songs I just drag and drop or copy the song(s) into the folder. MM will automatically add the songs to its library and organize them per your settings.

2. Is there a quick option to delete all duplicate songs on MediaMonkey?

MM does have two options, under "Files to Edit" on the Node List on the left side of the screen.

- Duplicate Titles: This will show all of the songs with the same name

- Duplicate Content: Per the Help Files, this will find songs with the same audio signature.

You can use these functions to select and delete the songs that you don't want.

3. My S545 flashes the time and date every 10 seconds or so. Can I disable this? Can I force it to flash the time? (pressing a button on hold displays the hold message, pressing without hold displays the standard screen)

I have a different Sony player than you, but it sounds like this is the screensaver function. With that in mind, you could try going to "Settings" >> "Common Settings" >> "Screensaver." If it's like my player, you can change the settings (I have mine set to go to a blank screen after 15 seconds).

4. Why don't my playlists sync?

With MM you have to select the playlists that you want synced to your player. The following will allow you to do this:
  • On the menu select "Tools" >> "Options"
  • On the Options window, select "Portable/Audio Devices" from the list on the left.
  • Select your player from the list of available devices. A device profile window will appear.
  • Click on the "Device configuration" tab and ensure that "Copy playlists" is checked. You only have to do this one time.
  • Select the Playlist tab. This will give you a list of your playlists.
  • Check the playlists you want sent to your player. Note: At the bottom of the Device Profile window it will tell you how much will be synced to your player (number of songs, total space, and total running time)
  • Close the windows.
When you sync your player with MM the playlists you selected should be sent to your player.

I hope this helps.
__________________
In Use
Player: iPod Classic (160gb), Sony NWZ-E465 (16gb Flash Player)
Music Management Software:
MediaMonkey 4
Headphones: Koss PortaPro
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-13-2010, 11:01 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Hey FriendlyArab:

CDMP3PlayerFan has basically given you the bible on MediaMonkey and the Sony S. Awesome tips and info!

As a alternate, I suggest trying Winamp as well. For whatever reason, on all my WinXP SP2 systems, Winamp integrates better with my Sony E. Copying massive amount of songs or single songs is a snap. Playlist creation is also a simple right click in Winamp.

I love MediaMonkey - it is my music manager of choice for my entire 14k mp3 collection. But Winamp seems to play a bit better with my Sony E and several other of my DAPs.

Congrats, good luck and enjoy!
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-13-2010, 11:55 PM
jjrosaria's Avatar
jjrosaria jjrosaria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sheepland (NZ)
Posts: 956
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
Hey FriendlyArab:

CDMP3PlayerFan has basically given you the bible on MediaMonkey and the Sony S. Awesome tips and info!

As a alternate, I suggest trying Winamp as well. For whatever reason, on all my WinXP SP2 systems, Winamp integrates better with my Sony E. Copying massive amount of songs or single songs is a snap. Playlist creation is also a simple right click in Winamp.

I love MediaMonkey - it is my music manager of choice for my entire 14k mp3 collection. But Winamp seems to play a bit better with my Sony E and several other of my DAPs.

Congrats, good luck and enjoy!
-lestatar
Lucky.. For some reason winamp crashes whenever I open it while my walkman is plugged in somehow
__________________
Portable Rig:
<sony a728 8Gb, Sennheiser Hd555, Ultimate Ears Metro fi 200, Koss KSC75, Sennheiser CX400, CMoy amp
-Awaiting to buy an AKG K701-
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-14-2010, 12:10 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

jjrosaria: Wondering...did you install any updated MTP porting kit on your machine? I did and I suspect that is why Winamp works perfectly with me.

I installed the porting kit on one of my WinXP machines because I didn't want to upgrade/install WMP 10/11.

Google MTP porting kit from MS...maybe help you?

EDIT:
here is the link to MS MTP Porting Kit:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

cheers!
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies

Last edited by lestatar; 05-14-2010 at 12:19 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-15-2010, 05:24 AM
friendlyarab friendlyarab is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for that, CDMP3PlayerFan. Wish I could rep.

On a side note, is there a custom firmware available for the S545? Its organization skills are becoming a little more annoying than expected. Unless someone has a better way to go about this problem:

I have a huge folder full of classical music. It is from many different composers. If I try to put this on the S545, then obviously it will add an influx of classical composers to the artists list. The artists list is what I primarily use to browse... On the iPod I did not have this problem, I could simply add them all to a "compilation" and it would show up even as a different category.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-15-2010, 05:10 PM
CDMP3PlayerFan CDMP3PlayerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by friendlyarab View Post
Thanks for that, CDMP3PlayerFan. Wish I could rep.

On a side note, is there a custom firmware available for the S545? Its organization skills are becoming a little more annoying than expected. Unless someone has a better way to go about this problem:

I have a huge folder full of classical music. It is from many different composers. If I try to put this on the S545, then obviously it will add an influx of classical composers to the artists list. The artists list is what I primarily use to browse... On the iPod I did not have this problem, I could simply add them all to a "compilation" and it would show up even as a different category.
Concerning firmware, you could check the Sony website for an update. From what I've observed, firmware updates are rare for Sony Walkman players. I've not searched for custom firmware for my player since I've been happy with it as is.

What I do with classical music in MediaMonkey is the following:
  • For the artist I use the individual/group that actually performed the song. As an example, I have a CD called "Posnak Plays Chopin" where the performer is Paul Posnak so I use his name as the artist.
  • For the album artist I use the overall artist for the album. I have an album named "TV Classics" which features classical music pieces used on various television programs and commercials. Since each track on the album was performed by a different artist, I list the album artist as "Various Artists." Since I group my music in my music library by album artist, for me this works basically the same as checking the Compilation box in iTunes.
  • I use the composer tag to list the actual composer of the song (not just for classical music but for all music), allowing me to easily access all of a composer's music regardless of the artist.
Once tagged, you can use playlists to group music the way you want. As an example, you could create three playlists that allows you to access music by, respectively: J. S. Bach, C. P. E. Bach, and P. D. Q. Bach.
__________________
In Use
Player: iPod Classic (160gb), Sony NWZ-E465 (16gb Flash Player)
Music Management Software:
MediaMonkey 4
Headphones: Koss PortaPro
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-15-2010, 05:59 PM
friendlyarab friendlyarab is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDMP3PlayerFan View Post
Concerning firmware, you could check the Sony website for an update. From what I've observed, firmware updates are rare for Sony Walkman players. I've not searched for custom firmware for my player since I've been happy with it as is.

What I do with classical music in MediaMonkey is the following:
  • For the artist I use the individual/group that actually performed the song. As an example, I have a CD called "Posnak Plays Chopin" where the performer is Paul Posnak so I use his name as the artist.
  • For the album artist I use the overall artist for the album. I have an album named "TV Classics" which features classical music pieces used on various television programs and commercials. Since each track on the album was performed by a different artist, I list the album artist as "Various Artists." Since I group my music in my music library by album artist, for me this works basically the same as checking the Compilation box in iTunes.
  • I use the composer tag to list the actual composer of the song (not just for classical music but for all music), allowing me to easily access all of a composer's music regardless of the artist.
Once tagged, you can use playlists to group music the way you want. As an example, you could create three playlists that allows you to access music by, respectively: J. S. Bach, C. P. E. Bach, and P. D. Q. Bach.
I see... but have you ever considered using folders? MediaMonkey just isn't cutting it for me, and luckily I'm allowed to edit the Music folder directly, and the Walkman even recognizes the folders. Also, playlist still doesn't work for me.. this is where the option's supposed to be, right?: http://imgur.com/LAgCW.png

EDIT: ALSO, HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE PROBLEM. I did what you said and now I have a folder on my computer dedicated for MM music. But every time I add a new song and then click rescan, and then sync, it syncs the WHOLE library and takes an hour to basically add a few songs. What do?

Last edited by friendlyarab; 05-15-2010 at 10:59 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-16-2010, 03:28 AM
CDMP3PlayerFan CDMP3PlayerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by friendlyarab View Post
I see... but have you ever considered using folders? MediaMonkey just isn't cutting it for me, and luckily I'm allowed to edit the Music folder directly, and the Walkman even recognizes the folders. Also, playlist still doesn't work for me.. this is where the option's supposed to be, right?: http://imgur.com/LAgCW.png

EDIT: ALSO, HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE PROBLEM. I did what you said and now I have a folder on my computer dedicated for MM music. But every time I add a new song and then click rescan, and then sync, it syncs the WHOLE library and takes an hour to basically add a few songs. What do?
I haven't made use of folders. I find browsing by tags works much better for me.

I checked your graphic file and you are at the right screen. Just click on the Playlists tab to bring up the available playlists.

When it comes to adding songs to the library the way I descibed, I didn't have to rescan the library. While MediaMonkey (MM) was running I dropped a song into the library folder, when I returned to MM the new song was there.

I haven't had the same experience with scanning my entire library. I have MM set to scan and auto organize my entire library (approximately 17,500 files) when I start it and it usually takes less than 2 minutes to complete the scan.

The only time it does take a long time to complete a scan is if I make mass changes to my library. As an example, recently I set it to add the artist's name to the end of every song's file name and it took over an hour to scan my library and complete that task. Once that was accomplished, the subsequent scans took the normal amount of time.

In the same way, I haven't had the same issue with syncing my player with MM. My player's initial sync with MM (such when it was a new player, and after I have formatted it) does take a long time since it has to load all of the files on my player. Subsequent syncs take much less time since it only has to: (1) delete the unwanted songs, (2) load new and changed songs, and (3) update my playlists.

I hope this helps.
__________________
In Use
Player: iPod Classic (160gb), Sony NWZ-E465 (16gb Flash Player)
Music Management Software:
MediaMonkey 4
Headphones: Koss PortaPro
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-17-2010, 01:44 PM
friendlyarab friendlyarab is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDMP3PlayerFan View Post
I haven't made use of folders. I find browsing by tags works much better for me.

I checked your graphic file and you are at the right screen. Just click on the Playlists tab to bring up the available playlists.

When it comes to adding songs to the library the way I descibed, I didn't have to rescan the library. While MediaMonkey (MM) was running I dropped a song into the library folder, when I returned to MM the new song was there.

I haven't had the same experience with scanning my entire library. I have MM set to scan and auto organize my entire library (approximately 17,500 files) when I start it and it usually takes less than 2 minutes to complete the scan.

The only time it does take a long time to complete a scan is if I make mass changes to my library. As an example, recently I set it to add the artist's name to the end of every song's file name and it took over an hour to scan my library and complete that task. Once that was accomplished, the subsequent scans took the normal amount of time.

In the same way, I haven't had the same issue with syncing my player with MM. My player's initial sync with MM (such when it was a new player, and after I have formatted it) does take a long time since it has to load all of the files on my player. Subsequent syncs take much less time since it only has to: (1) delete the unwanted songs, (2) load new and changed songs, and (3) update my playlists.

I hope this helps.
Thanks for all your help. I'll give MediaMonkey a few more tries.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-19-2010, 10:24 PM
CDMP3PlayerFan CDMP3PlayerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by friendlyarab View Post
Thanks for all your help. I'll give MediaMonkey a few more tries.
You are welcome. I hope MediaMonkey works for you.
__________________
In Use
Player: iPod Classic (160gb), Sony NWZ-E465 (16gb Flash Player)
Music Management Software:
MediaMonkey 4
Headphones: Koss PortaPro
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.