android
  #1  
Old 06-30-2010, 12:42 PM
adclancer adclancer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 48
Default Getting Rockbox onto my clip+

I've tried to skim thru the Rockbox : clip+ thread,but it's just too many pages to backtrack,and honestly,I don't know how to go about doing anything. Yes,the download is on the first page,but I'm not sure on whether it's a general one for a particular version or whatsoever. I'm not even sure where to begin ; do I need to install a particular firmware first? Is my clip's version the correct one? My clip+ is version V01.01.05P when I go to settings>system settings>info on the player itself. And if I'm able to put rockbox on my clip,are there any bugs or glitches,like how the micro sd doesn't intergrate,or the playlists func isn't working or something. I need step by step help going about doing this,as I've read thru almost all the threads and thru some of the links a few members provided,but I can't get a thing done.
__________________
Proud owner of Sansa Clip+ and a screen-dead 16gb Samsung P3. Anyone interested in the latter? (:
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-30-2010, 12:54 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Here's the install part on the manual, I'm not sure you should proceed without reading as much as possible if you haven't done this before and have questions. http://download.rockbox.org/daily/ma...tml#x4-80002.2
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-01-2010, 12:18 AM
adclancer adclancer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 48
Default

Well,I think thats the reason I'm asking this question then,since I alr have the installation manual,all I need to know right now is whether my clip is on a suitable firmware/vers for rockbox,and which is the correct one to download,as there are too many that have said theirs is the right one.
__________________
Proud owner of Sansa Clip+ and a screen-dead 16gb Samsung P3. Anyone interested in the latter? (:
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:42 AM
jsmaye jsmaye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 32
Default

Skimming through the Rockbox thread is not a bad idea - new versions tend to address certain issues or bugs, sometimes at the cost of other features, and it can be a matter of loading version 'x' because it fixes one thing or version 'y' because it focuses on a different feature or fix. And Rockbox overall does not (currently) support file i/o and there's a tiny chance that uploading it will brick your Clip+. Which version or feature set you want, and whether or not you even want to load it can best be determined by reading as much about it as you can.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:09 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adclancer View Post
I think thats the reason I'm asking this question then,since I alr have the installation manual,all I need to know right now is whether my clip is on a suitable firmware/vers for rockbox,and which is the correct one to download,as there are too many that have said theirs is the right one.
Personally I run the latest stable version on mine and only upgrade when there's a better stable version, but everyone's different.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:43 AM
CLipster's Avatar
CLipster CLipster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 120
Default

how do you find out the stability of each version?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:56 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLipster View Post
how do you find out the stability of each version?
Try it and see. At this point though the current build should usually be stable, and if its not, it gets fixed pretty quickly.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-01-2010, 10:27 AM
CLipster's Avatar
CLipster CLipster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 120
Default

I have just always wondered that. I just normally update as often as Dfkt puts out a special build, knowing those are tried and true.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-01-2010, 01:38 PM
adclancer adclancer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Try it and see. At this point though the current build should usually be stable, and if its not, it gets fixed pretty quickly.
Sorry,but where can I find the most current,stable build?
__________________
Proud owner of Sansa Clip+ and a screen-dead 16gb Samsung P3. Anyone interested in the latter? (:
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-01-2010, 01:44 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,547
Default

Current build link here: www.rockbox.org
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-01-2010, 02:32 PM
adclancer adclancer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Current build link here: www.rockbox.org
Thanks! So the null hardware power off problem is still being worked on at the moment,yea? Will keep checking back on that website till it's considered fully stable then.

Thanks for all the help,I now know where to look.

Cheers.
__________________
Proud owner of Sansa Clip+ and a screen-dead 16gb Samsung P3. Anyone interested in the latter? (:
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.