android
  #1  
Old 08-03-2010, 06:32 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default Sansa Fuze V2 Rockbox delay in changing tracks

I have Rockbox on my Sansa Fuze V2 and its great. The only problem is that it takes 2 seconds to change to another track. I thought this would of been fixed with the new V3 bootloader and Rockbox but I still get the same problem. When I press the skip button it still plays the current track then 2 seconds later it will change to the next track.

Anyone else having problems with the 2 second delay when changing tracks?


Art

Last edited by Artmuzz; 08-03-2010 at 06:38 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-03-2010, 02:49 PM
chadtheguru chadtheguru is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default

Try turning off crossfade.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-03-2010, 03:45 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Good suggestion - crossfade indeed may cause this...

FWIW, my own v2 rb Fuze switches tracks instantly, from anywhere, main memory or card.
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-03-2010, 04:44 PM
sunami88's Avatar
sunami88 sunami88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 98
Default

Mine does sometimes take a few seconds to change tracks too. I've never really figured out why. I thought that some of my album art was taking a while to load, but after resizing everything to 200x200 I don't think it's the problem anymore.

I dunno, I always figured it was normal operation what with multiple file types/qualities/etc *shrug*.
__________________
=Players in use=
Sansa FuzeV2 (8 + 16 gigs) [RB]|Sansa Clip+ (4 + 8 gigs) [RB]
=Headphones in use=
SoundMagic PL50|SoundMagic PL30|Bang&Olufsen Form 2
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-03-2010, 05:08 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Good point sunami88 - I exclusively use LAME mp3s so this might help in my case.

OT, re: AArt on Fuze. Do you use 200x200 for all the artwork? How do Rockbox themes which need much smaller than 200x200 handle that?

thanks!
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-03-2010, 05:56 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,409
Default

Enabling the directory cache fixes track advance delays for me. Settings=>General Settings=System=Disk=Directory Cache=Yes. Reboot to enable.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-04-2010, 06:40 AM
sunami88's Avatar
sunami88 sunami88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 98
Default

@lestatar: Far as I can tell the wps display in RB will automatically stretch-to-fit any album art.

@skip252: I'll give that a shot.


UPDATE: Yep, dir cache seems to have "fixed" it. Cool.
__________________
=Players in use=
Sansa FuzeV2 (8 + 16 gigs) [RB]|Sansa Clip+ (4 + 8 gigs) [RB]
=Headphones in use=
SoundMagic PL50|SoundMagic PL30|Bang&Olufsen Form 2
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-04-2010, 07:04 AM
Artmuzz's Avatar
Artmuzz Artmuzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
Enabling the directory cache fixes track advance delays for me. Settings=>General Settings=System=Disk=Directory Cache=Yes. Reboot to enable.
Thanks skip252 this works a treat Now I don't have the track skipping delay problem

Art
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-04-2010, 03:46 PM
saxmaster765's Avatar
saxmaster765 saxmaster765 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 161
Default

If you change the "Load [directory] to Ram" from no to yes, that fixes a lot of lag problems. I had issues with tracks changing rather slowly and the volume changing even slower, and this fixed it all.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-04-2010, 07:01 PM
chaoz chaoz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
Enabling the directory cache fixes track advance delays for me. Settings=>General Settings=System=Disk=Directory Cache=Yes. Reboot to enable.
There's no general settings on mine. I can go to system, but then there's not disk option.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-04-2010, 07:04 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Of course there's a general settings menu on yours, same as on any other Rockboxed player. Here's the manual: http://download.rockbox.org/daily/ma...11-1390008.5.2
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.