android
  #1  
Old 08-06-2010, 02:28 PM
Nausicaa's Avatar
Nausicaa Nausicaa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 65
Default Disable stock firmware or auto refresh on it?

I never use the stock firmware and I was wondering if I could disable the refresh or the firmware itself except when its connected to the computer. Its annoying to have to wait all the time for the refresh of music. Wish rockbox would work when USB is enabled, but it never does, not even when its charging through a wall wart.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-06-2010, 02:53 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,152
Default

saratoga has said a few times there's no way to disable the refresh. We'll have to wait for a v2 USB driver. That happens when it happens.

I've read that some people force a reboot by holding the power button. Don't know how good that is for the player so I just wait. Once I get the player loaded it's really rare that I need to transfer data so I very rarely see the refresh screen anyway.

BTW, if you hold the center button as you connect Rockbox stays active. No data transfer but you can charge and use the player at the same time. No refresh when you disconnect.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-06-2010, 02:55 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
saratoga has said a few times there's no way to disable the refresh. We'll have to wait for a v2 USB driver. That happens when it happens.

I've read that some people force a reboot by holding the power button.
Don't know how good that is for the player so I just wait. Once I get the player loaded it's really rare that I need to transfer data so I very rarely see the refresh screen anyway.

BTW, if you hold the center button as you connect Rockbox stays active. No data transfer but you can charge and use the player at the same time. No refresh when you disconnect.
That was recommended to me too. It does work, but I've only done it the one time, because I too wonder if it's possibly bad for the player.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-06-2010, 03:04 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,152
Default

*shrugs*, maybe nothing, idk. Just rather be safe rather than sorry. As I say I really can't remember the last time I saw the refresh screen. The player is loaded and just changing the card doesn't cause the player to go to the OF first so it's a non-issue for me.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-09-2010, 03:16 AM
Nausicaa's Avatar
Nausicaa Nausicaa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 65
Default

Thanks for the center button idea. I usually shut it off like that, doesn't hurt the player at all, just makes it wanna refresh the next time again, just like an omission of data at that time.

Now that I have the v2 and the v1, I hope it comes out on either...
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-09-2010, 07:28 AM
dongadoy dongadoy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default USB problems after forcing shutdown

I've had USB connection problems after I started forcefully shutting down my Clip+ during refresh by holding down the power button. I plug in and get the USB tray icon; but Windows Explorer just hangs. Sometimes I initially get a folder listing; but a few seconds later Explorer just hangs. I have a Windows Vista laptop. I just keep plugging and unplugging until it works.

Coincidence or not? I'm now less likely to force the shut down.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-09-2010, 07:36 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Maybe this is any help for your issues? From Rockbox Wiki:

Quote:
Formatting a Player that cannot get past the Database Refresh in the OF

If you damage the filesystem on the internal SD you can find yourself in a situation where the database refresh in the OF hangs up and you will be unable to boot into the OF and also unable to connect via usb to correct the problem. If you find yourself in this situation you can bypass the OF database refresh by connecting your player via usb and disconnecting it just after the Sandisk logo appears on the screen. This will bring you into the normal top menu in the OF and you can then format your player through the settings menu.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.