android
  #21  
Old 07-14-2010, 02:43 AM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Reading from the Fuze or writing to the Fuze?

Writing to the Fuze is expected to be slower, in current builds every byte written is read back to double check that it was written correctly.

This should be removed in some time in case nobody did see the "sd: verify failed" panic.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 07-14-2010, 11:22 AM
SheepCake SheepCake is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 116
Default

writing to, and that makes sense, for now I will just use the OF to load the fuze when i got alot to move
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 07-23-2010, 04:50 PM
d_headshot d_headshot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 346
Default

How do I download the new firmware?
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 07-23-2010, 05:01 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_headshot View Post
How do I download the new firmware?
http://www.rockbox.org/download/
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 07-23-2010, 11:31 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SheepCake View Post
writing to, and that makes sense, for now I will just use the OF to load the fuze when i got alot to move
It still loads music faster than my Sony S545 or E345 players.....they must have really slow internal flash memory.

So I'm quite content to bypass the Sansa firmware....not like I'm loading the player very often from empty.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 07-24-2010, 06:25 PM
suprman2020's Avatar
suprman2020 suprman2020 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Epic smh @ myself. All this time I had been using the OF to copy files over.
__________________
Current rig: Zune HD 32 + Phonak Audeo Perfect Bass & T-Mobile G2 + Brainwavs M2
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 08-09-2010, 05:15 PM
natabus's Avatar
natabus natabus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
FWIW, Fuze v2 8GB with 16GB microSDHC card, RB build 26906-100618 has been extremely stable for me. Only 2 crashes in 10 days. All music is mp3 v2 LAME or better...

I am also using a V2 and it has been very stable.

But, I just got a couple of 16 Gig SD cards for it, and the "refreshing media" message from the OF after USB x-fer is a long LONG pain in the kiester.

Any noises as far as Native USB for the V2?

(I just moved from an E270 to the Fuze, and am still getting up to speed on it)
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 08-09-2010, 07:20 PM
EggyCuppy EggyCuppy is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 336
Default

to speed up your OF refresh, clean your tags up, use mp3 tag and have it remove all but
ID3v2.3 ISO-8859-1 tags, they work best according to many post on the sansa fuze forums(over at sandisk.com)

it works, i went from up to 15min to refresh to under 3!!!
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 08-10-2010, 12:47 PM
natabus's Avatar
natabus natabus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EggyCuppy View Post
to speed up your OF refresh, clean your tags up, use mp3 tag and have it remove all but
ID3v2.3 ISO-8859-1 tags, they work best according to many post on the sansa fuze forums(over at sandisk.com)

it works, i went from up to 15min to refresh to under 3!!!
Cool tip. Am DL-ing mp3 tag now. Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 08-10-2010, 02:13 PM
natabus's Avatar
natabus natabus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Default

I'm messing around with mp3tag for the first time... any hints on the methodology for removing all tags but a specific tag type?




Quote:
Originally Posted by EggyCuppy View Post
to speed up your OF refresh, clean your tags up, use mp3 tag and have it remove all but
ID3v2.3 ISO-8859-1 tags, they work best according to many post on the sansa fuze forums(over at sandisk.com)

it works, i went from up to 15min to refresh to under 3!!!
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 08-10-2010, 02:21 PM
EggyCuppy EggyCuppy is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 336
Default

i dont have mp3tag on my work system but i know its in the advanced settings/options u can choose what kind of tags to strip and what kind to save/use, I found the guide how to do it on the sansa forums, its not hard, just a few check boxes, just cant remember what boxes to check and uncheck.....
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 08-10-2010, 02:45 PM
natabus's Avatar
natabus natabus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah. I found the check boxes in Options wherein you say which kind of tags to read and which kind of tags to write... but that doesn't change the tag of
anything. I tried 'saving' the tag of a selected file, as well as exporting and then importing, after making the option settings.

Right now I'm trying a 'cut', which is counter intuitive, but appears to be working.

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by EggyCuppy View Post
i dont have mp3tag on my work system but i know its in the advanced settings/options u can choose what kind of tags to strip and what kind to save/use, I found the guide how to do it on the sansa forums, its not hard, just a few check boxes, just cant remember what boxes to check and uncheck.....
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 08-11-2010, 09:11 AM
HankB HankB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natabus View Post
But, I just got a couple of 16 Gig SD cards for it, and the "refreshing media" message from the OF after USB x-fer is a long LONG pain in the kiester.
I bypass this by holding the power switch in the off position for as long as it takes to shut off. That's shorter than the refresh. I do this on both V1 and V2 Fuzes and V2 Clip.

It seems to me that this risks corrupting the file system on the device, but so far I have not had any evidence of that. YMMV. Use at your own risk...

(On my e280 it used to take 5 minutes.)

-hank
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 08-11-2010, 09:58 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,893
Default

You shouldn't need to force a shut down on either the V1 Clip or Fuze. If you have a current build installed it should connect directly from the Rockbox firmware and return to that once you disconnect. I never see a refresh screen on a V1 device.
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 08-11-2010, 02:53 PM
HankB HankB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
You shouldn't need to force a shut down on either the V1 Clip or Fuze. If you have a current build installed it should connect directly from the Rockbox firmware and return to that once you disconnect. I never see a refresh screen on a V1 device.
Yes, that's one of the benefits of USB support for Rockbox (and one of the reasons I'm really appreciative of the efforts of the Rockbox Devs.) Of course, I've been running Rockbox on my V1 Fuze for far longer than it has had USB support.
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 08-11-2010, 03:29 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,893
Default

I was just wondering as you included the V1 Fuze in the devices where you do a forced shutdown.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HankB View Post
I bypass this by holding the power switch in the off position for as long as it takes to shut off. That's shorter than the refresh. I do this on both V1 and V2 Fuzes and V2 Clip.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
ams rockbox, usb support, v1 fuze

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.