android
  #1  
Old 09-04-2010, 10:53 AM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default Successful Rockbox Fuze v2

Hi all,

I just received my brand new black 8GB v2 Fuze in today, I loaded all of my music on it, and attempted to install Rockbox through the utility. I noticed that the complete installation and minimal installation options werent available, so I went to the installation tab and installed the bootloader, and then installed Rockbox (selecting the Archive build). The bootloader installer asked for the firmware file, which I gave the v2 firmware file, and it installed with no errors. I then installed themes, games, and fonts. I unplugged it, and it refreshed the database, then I shut it down, and when turning it on, it just boots into the original firmware. No bootloader or anything shows up, its almost as if it didn't install at all. I really would like to use Rockbox, in fact that is why I got this player. Has anybody else had this problem before? Thanks, I really appreciate the help!
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-04-2010, 11:28 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,356
Default

The automated installer hasn't been updated to cover the newer V2 Fuze. You can do a manual installation instead. Instructions here, http://download.rockbox.org/daily/ma...#x4-110002.2.2.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-04-2010, 11:46 AM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Thanks for the reply. Will I still be able to install themes, fonts, and games through the utility after I do a manual install?

UPDATE:

I tried the manual installation after I removed Rockbox and the bootloader from the utility. I am still getting the same results. I turn the player on, and it boots into the OF as if nothing has changed. When I view the device on the computer I can see the .rockbox folder, so I know it installed, but I cannot get it to boot. Thanks for the help!
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed

Last edited by McDougal; 09-04-2010 at 12:17 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-04-2010, 01:51 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Sorry for the double post, but I have successfully gotten it installed. Turns out I was just typing in the wrong commands to install the bootloader. Anyway, it boots up fine, but every once and a while, I get a a "Data abort" error, which happens quite often, unexpectedly, and is very, very annoying. I have no clue what to do about it, and I hope that it can be fixed. Has anybody else had this problem before?
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:08 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Hey McDougal, congrats on the Fuze though very sorry you are having a few glitches...I am sure you will be able to resolve them.

Tip 'o the day, since real-time help might be good - go to irc://freenode/rockbox for some help.

And here is something I do with every mp3 file before it gets added to my collection [and thus eventually to my DAPs] - I scan my files for errors in the stream/tagging/whatever of my music.

FWIW, I have been using:
AudioTester [might be dead from DEV standpoint]
MP3 Checker [ditto]
MP3Val-FrontEnd [also kinda old]

But foobar2k also has excellent Verify and Repair Functions [thank dfkt for the reminder].

Possibly the data error abort thing is related to a corrupted file RB is choking on?

good luck and hang in, I am positive you will get these "issues" licked.
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:13 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Thanks for the reply! I did visit the IRC channel to get help with installing Rockbox, and they were very nice and helpful and helped me get Rockbox manually installed. I fixed the data problem by uninstalling the archived build, and installing the current build. Right now everything is very stable and working like its supposed to, much less errors and lockups compared to when I had the archived build installed. And thanks for the suggestion of checking the mp3 files, I've never heard of that before, and I'll give it a try, even though I already have all of my music on.
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:23 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Sweet! Enjoy it... I do, every single day
Be sure to join both of these groups now:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ype=groupthumb

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum....php?groupid=9
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:27 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Thanks, I'm already in the Rockboxers group (I did it with my e200), but I'll be sure to join the Fuze group!
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:38 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,356
Default

Glad to see things are working out. Time to edit your thread title? It's a Successful! install now isn't it?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:55 PM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
Glad to see things are working out. Time to edit your thread title? It's a Successful! install now isn't it?
Done!
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-04-2010, 08:21 PM
eboyer93's Avatar
eboyer93 eboyer93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
The automated installer hasn't been updated to cover the newer V2 Fuze. You can do a manual installation instead. Instructions here, http://download.rockbox.org/daily/ma...#x4-110002.2.2.
actually it does support V2 Fuze, I used it not too long ago.
__________________
foobar2000 | Last.fm | Get Mozilla Firefox | Rockbox
Players: SanDisk Sansa Fuze 8GB + 2GB card (w/Rockbox), SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB + 8GB card (Red) (w/Rockbox)
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-04-2010, 08:43 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eboyer93 View Post
actually it does support V2 Fuze, I used it not too long ago.
It changes as new commits occur.
-Sixth bullet point under Specific Problems is the current status.

"Fuzev2/Clip+
: Some models won't patch with RButil 1.2.7. Use mkamsboot."
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-04-2010, 10:33 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McDougal View Post
Done!
Congrats! Now you have a portable internet device and a decent music player!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:05 AM
McDougal's Avatar
McDougal McDougal is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,375
Default

Yup, I'll be bringing both on trips , use the Zune only for quick Internet access (whenever I don't have time to pull out my laptop)...and the Fuze as the amazing music player...
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB; Google Nexus 7 32GB
JVC HAS600B;Pioneer SE-M390;Audio-Technica ATH-P5

Retired Devices:
Sansa Fuze 8+16GB Rockboxed
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.