android
  #1  
Old 10-02-2010, 03:34 PM
edtuckerartist's Avatar
edtuckerartist edtuckerartist is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cardiff Wales
Posts: 65
Default Duplicate songs listed in Rockbox database?

On my Fuse v2 Rockbox has decided to list all my songs three times, is there an easy fix for this or will I have to reinstall rockbox?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-02-2010, 03:52 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

Reinitialize the database. Not sure why that happened in the first place though (i don't really use the database).
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-02-2010, 03:56 PM
eboyer93's Avatar
eboyer93 eboyer93 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 838
Default

that happen to me before on my clip+.
__________________
foobar2000 | Last.fm | Get Mozilla Firefox | Rockbox
Players: SanDisk Sansa Fuze 8GB + 2GB card (w/Rockbox), SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 4GB + 8GB card (Red) (w/Rockbox)
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-02-2010, 06:50 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Guys, I have asked around on Rockbox irc on a similar topic. I noticed that my v2 Fuze has about a thousand+ more database entries than actual music files, on both main mem and 16GB card. The RB gurus indicated that this is not a prob - that the extra files are ALL the other files on the Fuze itself.

I wouldn't worry too much.

PRO TIP!
Use the EXPORT MODIFICATIONS option under DATABASE settings, especially if you are entering SONG RATINGS via Rockbox. Use it regularly...Or especially before you REINITIALIZE the db.

When you reinitialize the database, it wipes everything and reindexes from scratch, including your song ratings you may have entered.

This happened to me after I entered like 200 song ratings. Now I simply export regularly and if I ever need to reinitialize the db, I can simply use the IMPORT MODIFICATIONS option and re-add all my song ratings, etc...

Nice huh? Ain't RB cool

Don't forget to thank and support all the RB peeps once in a while
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-02-2010, 08:40 PM
edtuckerartist's Avatar
edtuckerartist edtuckerartist is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cardiff Wales
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
Guys, I have asked around on Rockbox irc on a similar topic. I noticed that my v2 Fuze has about a thousand+ more database entries than actual music files, on both main mem and 16GB card. The RB gurus indicated that this is not a prob - that the extra files are ALL the other files on the Fuze itself.

I wouldn't worry too much.

PRO TIP!
Use the EXPORT MODIFICATIONS option under DATABASE settings, especially if you are entering SONG RATINGS via Rockbox. Use it regularly...Or especially before you REINITIALIZE the db.

When you reinitialize the database, it wipes everything and reindexes from scratch, including your song ratings you may have entered.

This happened to me after I entered like 200 song ratings. Now I simply export regularly and if I ever need to reinitialize the db, I can simply use the IMPORT MODIFICATIONS option and re-add all my song ratings, etc...

Nice huh? Ain't RB cool
Doh! I was selecting update now instead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post

Nice huh? Ain't RB cool

Don't forget to thank and support all the RB peeps once in a while
Absolutely!
__________________
Sansa Fuse 4GB V2 Rockboxed, Sony Sony NW-A806, Blackberry ,Venturer brick, bricked 40gb Needs system files, Sansa Clip V2 Rockboxed
Sennheiser eH 150. PX100. Sansa stock buds
Ipod touch 2g 16gb 4.1 OS
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.