android
  #1  
Old 12-01-2010, 09:36 PM
Some Dude Some Dude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default Where to buy the 43?

Why is it just impossible to find one of these? I put them on the notify me list, yet I've never got one, even though theres been posts saying they are available, even just for a short time. Its getting close to christmas and I'm getting quite tired of waiting for something like this device, I find it insane that nothing seems to get a pmp right, but this seems close enough.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-01-2010, 10:41 PM
Adub's Avatar
Adub Adub is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: T DOT
Posts: 1,604
Default

I believe they are sold out in a lot of places, and since it's such a new player they might have manufactured too few not expecting the sales they are getting.
__________________
last.fm#abi ircrockboxnoobglossaryhiphopthreadhorrormoviethread
XBLive Tag: wuaffiliate
Battle.net Tag: wuaffiliate#1677
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-01-2010, 10:57 PM
G-Man76's Avatar
G-Man76 G-Man76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, Canada
Posts: 301
Default

It would seem that all of the new gen Archos products are sold out everywhere. It is indeed annoying.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-02-2010, 10:37 PM
Some Dude Some Dude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default

This wait is making me ponder getting a Zune HD...The only reason I want this archos thing is cause of Android, I want something up to date with some features like the web browser. but I might just stick with a zune cause of how well my first gen zune 4gb was.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-02-2010, 10:57 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 15,985
Default

Wait for the Archos devices to come back in stock, since they FINALLY got it right. You'll be really sorry if you don't, as buyers remorse is horrid - been there & done that. I want the Archos 70 myself, so I'll wait till after the holidays. I might actually find one for sale by then - and it's quite worth the wait IMO.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-02-2010, 11:07 PM
Some Dude Some Dude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default

What do you mean by they finally got it right? jw It just seems like I read alot of positive and negative things about it.

Also does anyone know if they will still have the 8gb model? I thought I read somewhere saying they were just going to phase out the 8gb.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-02-2010, 11:10 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 15,985
Default

The Archos 43 is available from newegg.com right now, the 8gb model you requested: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16855501056

And I meant that Archos FINALLY made a device that we won't tear to shred in our assessment of it. I'll either get the Archos 70 or a Cowon X7 myself - and the Archos 70 is winning by a country mile ATM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-03-2010, 02:28 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

^ the link you have given is for Archos 32 not Archos 43.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-03-2010, 08:38 AM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

yeah the 43 has seemingly disappeared everywhere I look. I hope they come back soon though at least before christmas.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-03-2010, 12:29 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 15,985
Default

Damn, my bad. Sorry,...
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-03-2010, 02:15 PM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

@TDS: First I was also surprised that Archos 8gb available and that too for just 144.99$ then my dreams shattered as soon as I saw 32.
In US it is out of stock everywhere and no news of availability date.
Only some international seller from UK seems to have this ATM.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-03-2010, 08:14 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

I think Archos was caught by surprise. Even they didn't realize how big the demand for a big screened android non-phone would be. The 43 is nearly perfect. The right price, the right size, and with all the right features. A web-enabled PMP/PDA you don't have to pay a monthly fee for. Hopefully they are running triple shifts at the factory now.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-03-2010, 08:40 PM
Greg_E Greg_E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 114
Default

If the 32 had Bluetooth, I would have one by now.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 12-03-2010, 08:59 PM
Adub's Avatar
Adub Adub is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: T DOT
Posts: 1,604
Default

ECHO ECHO ECho Echo echo
__________________
last.fm#abi ircrockboxnoobglossaryhiphopthreadhorrormoviethread
XBLive Tag: wuaffiliate
Battle.net Tag: wuaffiliate#1677
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 12-03-2010, 09:43 PM
Some Dude Some Dude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default

Its got features but I thought everyone was mad about the resistive non multi touch screen? And that it doesn't have access to the full android market? (Wouldn't the screen be the reason why it doesn't have access to it? Cause any apps with multi touch couldn't be used?)
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 12-03-2010, 10:09 PM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

the market can be easily added to the device
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 12-04-2010, 04:54 AM
deadohiosky's Avatar
deadohiosky deadohiosky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany, EU, Earth, Milkyway
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg_E View Post
If the 32 had Bluetooth, I would have one by now.
but it's got bluetooth? 2.1.. GO, get it NOW.
__________________
Think for yourself. Question authority. - Timothy Leary

Black Cowon J3 32 GB (Black Ringke Case) - no lousy Sennheiser CX 300 anymore, Pana HJE 900 took the throne... for keeps
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 12-04-2010, 05:26 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

If the 32 had memory card slot,I would have one by now

removed links by myself.

Last edited by rohit3192; 12-04-2010 at 07:42 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 12-04-2010, 06:01 AM
deadohiosky's Avatar
deadohiosky deadohiosky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany, EU, Earth, Milkyway
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohit3192 View Post
If the 32 had memory card slot,I would have one by now

Two places it is available:
here (used one ebay auction)
here (seller is from UK)

$300? that's like doubled msrp. and 189.99?

why are you even linking to those greedy bastards?

amazon.co.uk sells it (not in stock obviously) for 153 and advancedmp3player.co.uk (international seller) for 169 and they say they get a new stock dec. 15th.
__________________
Think for yourself. Question authority. - Timothy Leary

Black Cowon J3 32 GB (Black Ringke Case) - no lousy Sennheiser CX 300 anymore, Pana HJE 900 took the throne... for keeps
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 12-04-2010, 06:59 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

^ I am unrelated to those deals.No harm in discussion.
Of course one will apply his/her own discretion(As your sig. says Think for yourself. Question authority. - Timothy Leary).
As far as I am concerned I will wait till this(Archos 43) is available at major online stores.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.