android
  #1  
Old 06-20-2010, 06:13 AM
rasimif rasimif is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Simulator doesn't work at all

Hey guys, I'm new here because I got a serious problem with the X-Fi2 simulator. Creative support is unable to help me and I didn't find anything about that error on the web, I hope I can at least get some clues here.

First my system:

Windows 7 Professional 64bit
AMD X2 3000+
4GB DDR2RAM

As soon as I try to start the simulator I get this:
---
Microsoft Visual C++ Debug Library

Debug Assertion Failed!

Program: ..(x86)\Creative\Creative ZEN X-Fi2\ADK\Zen_X-Fi2_Simulator.exe

File: f:\\dd\vctools\crt_bld\self_x86\crt\src\tcscpy_s.i nl
Line: 30

Expression: (L "Buffer is too small" && 0)

For information on how your program can cause an assertion failure, see the Visual C++ documentation on asserts

(Press Retry to debug the application)

Abort Retry Ignore
-----

No matter what I choose, two seconds later the programm crashes.
Running in compatibility mode didn't work
updating c++ runtimes didn't work


I really would appreciate any tips on how I solve that problem. As a quite experienced programmer I would like to test my Programs on the simulator before running them on my x-fi2.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-23-2010, 05:23 PM
ZaPx64's Avatar
ZaPx64 ZaPx64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 136
Default

Try re-installing your graphics card drivers.
Have you also installed the Visual C++ Redistributable files? A re-install of the simulator might work as well.
__________________
Zen X-Fi2 Apps: Notee-fi (notepad) | TicTacToe | Mahjongg
http://www.starfare.eu/ - a free real-time strategy game.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-24-2010, 11:13 AM
rasimif rasimif is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZaPx64 View Post
Try re-installing your graphics card drivers.
Have you also installed the Visual C++ Redistributable files? A re-install of the simulator might work as well.
You're not really expecting I didn't do that already, do you?
I've installed and uninstalled any Visual C++ Redistributable files in the whole internet, searched the registry, installed and uninstalled the simulator so often I can't remember, I also downloaded it several times.
But I'm trying the graphics card driver thing later, thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-24-2010, 11:39 AM
ZaPx64's Avatar
ZaPx64 ZaPx64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rasimif View Post
You're not really expecting I didn't do that already, do you?
Now that you ask for it, I did actually not.
Anyway, re-installing the graphics drivers should be the most effective option.
__________________
Zen X-Fi2 Apps: Notee-fi (notepad) | TicTacToe | Mahjongg
http://www.starfare.eu/ - a free real-time strategy game.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:36 PM
rasimif rasimif is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZaPx64 View Post
Now that you ask for it, I did actually not.
Anyway, re-installing the graphics drivers should be the most effective option.
Didn't work.
Must be something while loading the applications. If I clear the Applications folder, so the simulator can't load anything, it doesn't crash. But as soon as there's something inside it crashes again.
Edit: Just got another clue.
It seems as if it can't handle big applications. I just tried to load the simulator with just a simple "Hello World" Application and it works. Seems as if it can't handle much more than a simple main.lua file.

Last edited by rasimif; 06-25-2010 at 06:43 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-27-2010, 11:20 AM
ZaPx64's Avatar
ZaPx64 ZaPx64 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 136
Default

In that case I suggest extending the complexity stepwise of your Hello World app until it crashes again to find out what crashes your simulator.
__________________
Zen X-Fi2 Apps: Notee-fi (notepad) | TicTacToe | Mahjongg
http://www.starfare.eu/ - a free real-time strategy game.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-08-2011, 05:31 AM
TheMrDJJ TheMrDJJ is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default other error message

i get this error message:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg zenerror1.JPG (33.1 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-08-2011, 08:37 AM
jbob182's Avatar
jbob182 jbob182 is offline
X-Fi2 Development Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The U.S.A.
Posts: 554
Default

I am not alone!!!

I am running a 64-bit hp vista machine. and i get the exact same error message

here is a pic( and yes i have unistalled and reinstalled the adk)

Ill do some various debbuging on it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
after removing everthing from the adk folder, it ran, so next step
added angel.....it ran
added multi_touch....it ran
added skifree.....it ran

next i put more apps on the adk that had a total of 69.1mb ........................crash
so i went down to 11.4 MB ...................................crash

deleted all apps exept for one (1MissleCommand and................................crash( still no updated metedata)
delted all files in that app expet the main.lua.......................................cra sh
deleted all apps, put on a angel..................................run


tried putting on another app (my menu app called Classic Games)................................crash


Another clue

tried this: took my Classic Games app and renamed it too ClassicGames and .........WORKED
so i though it was spaces in names...........guess not ran 1MIssleCommand, crash, removed the 1...crash

Conclusion

i figured out, it is not spacing no, but rather lenght of the name of the folder, add one more character to ClassicGames and crash , change 1MissleCommand to 1Missle and it runs
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Snap3.jpg (37.6 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by jbob182; 01-08-2011 at 09:11 AM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.