android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa > Sansa Fuze > Sansa Fuze Rockbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-16-2010, 11:51 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Yeah thats the updated image.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 12-18-2010, 11:47 AM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

to install the v3 build, just unzip to my player? any other fancy voodoo to perform?
sorry if it seems like a silly question. but the usb support is what I am looking for on my fuze v2 more than anything, to get rid of the darn refresh issue. (though I will try the neat trick in the interim"
thanks

EDIT - nevermind. I just unzipped it to main memory. and . . .

greatest. patch. ever. my fuze was horribly frustrating without the usb support. It would take 15-30 minutes to "refresh". Now I like it again!

thank you!

Last edited by idivorceyou; 12-18-2010 at 12:43 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 12-18-2010, 12:48 PM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

can I delete METAPATH.SYS, DID.bin?
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 12-18-2010, 12:49 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

You can delete both ## folders and all the crap in the root directory. This should give you about 200MB more storage space.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 12-18-2010, 02:41 PM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

thank you! it makes it a lot less cluttered.
and thanks again for solving the Fuze 2 USB thing for me. extremely pleased with that!
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 12-19-2010, 05:15 PM
vittau's Avatar
vittau vittau is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 44
Default

dfkt, is the USB support already stable, or nearing stable?

I'm considering buying a Fuze, just doing my homework...
__________________
Home: foobar2000 > Behringer UCA202 > Edifier R1600T Plus | Sennheiser HD555
Portable: Sandisk sansa Clip+ (Rockbox'ed) > Philips SHS8000
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 12-19-2010, 05:23 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

It works for some people, but I wouldn't call it stable. Take a look at the Sansa AMS wiki page if you want to know about USB.
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 12-19-2010, 07:22 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Agreed, the USB patch is not what I would consider perfectly stable......on my one player that gets connected the most, I've had a couple instances where Windows reported filesystem errors. It was easy to correct them, but still, it's not a finished patch.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 12-20-2010, 02:31 PM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

So far, on several different windows computers (xp, windows 7) I am having NO problems with the USB patch on my Fuze V2. could not be happier!
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 12-20-2010, 03:07 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idivorceyou View Post
So far, on several different windows computers (xp, windows 7) I am having NO problems with the USB patch on my Fuze V2. could not be happier!
Good luck.....this could happen to you!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 12-22-2010, 10:30 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Progweed View Post
Yes!

Btw, there is a neat "trick" to avoid that annoying database refresh with the original firmware:

- Set Rockbox to "Show all files"
- Delete the two folders beginning with ## (nothing bad will happen, this is where the OF stores its database)
- Fill up the internal memory with music until only about 150 MB (or less) of free space is left
- After unplugging the device the OF will complain about not having enough room for its database and shut down immediately. No refresh.
I'm pleased to say that this trick works splendidly! I'm using it on both of my players that have external memory added now, since I wasn't happy with the USB patch.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 12-23-2010, 05:52 PM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

I did the USB patch and hope that "thing" doesn't happen to me.
I also did the "trick" and, when I forget to start the player before doing a USB connection, thus connecting in original firmware mode, the "trick" works perfectly. not enough memory for the database - too bad!
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 12-28-2010, 08:26 AM
igor0203 igor0203 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Any chance getting for Fuze v1?
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 01-13-2011, 08:18 AM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

the bummer on the current Fuze build is that plugging into a power source that is plugged into a wall will put the player into USB mode so you cannot play and charge at the same time. any thoughts on this?
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 01-13-2011, 10:45 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idivorceyou View Post
the bummer on the current Fuze build is that plugging into a power source that is plugged into a wall will put the player into USB mode so you cannot play and charge at the same time. any thoughts on this?
Hold select while plugging in USB.
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 01-13-2011, 12:46 PM
idivorceyou idivorceyou is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

that sounds simple enough - thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 01-13-2011, 01:09 PM
mamamia88 mamamia88 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 854
Default

anyway to make work with fuse turned off when plugging into computer?
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 01-16-2011, 04:36 PM
mamamia88 mamamia88 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 854
Default

hey how did you apply this patch. don't know what file to apply patch too.
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 01-16-2011, 04:50 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamamia88 View Post
anyway to make work with fuse turned off when plugging into computer?
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamamia88 View Post
hey how did you apply this patch. don't know what file to apply patch too.
Patches are applied against the entire source code check out, and generally not against individual files (since each patch will often need to change many files). See the instructions posted in the thread you started.
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 01-16-2011, 04:54 PM
mamamia88 mamamia88 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 854
Default

alright i will check that out. i thought it would be as simple as downloading patch file entering the terminal changing directory to the source code with the patch file moved to the root directory of the source code and running the patch command then compiling
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.