android
  #1  
Old 10-27-2010, 03:08 AM
daniel.germany daniel.germany is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default nwz S754 volume limit?

hey.
i got a new player and i love it.

but the problem is, in europe, there is a volume limiter in the damn thing.

And I'm searching hours to find a way to get rid of that stupid thing...

couldnt find any american firmware (or any firmware in a "normal" state without sensless laws)

could anybody help me? PLEASE..

greets from overseas.
daniel
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-27-2010, 01:28 PM
Teun_2 Teun_2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 36
Default

On my s639 it works far easier than that:

Settings -> Common settings -> AVLS (Volume Limit) -> Off

Last edited by Teun_2; 10-27-2010 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-27-2010, 05:54 PM
daniel.germany daniel.germany is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default

good idea. i did so. but i think, it will still be limited because of the stupid regulations. It really does not get any loud. my NWZ 638 was MUCH louder...
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-27-2010, 06:18 PM
Teun_2 Teun_2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 36
Default

100dB (regulation limit) should be enough I think. I've never tried to remove the limit on any of my players, expect from the first one i owned, just because it was possible. I've got a mild case of tinnitus, not from mp3, but from going to concerts without protection. I've fucked my hearing for the rest of my life. Be careful with yours!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-27-2010, 07:02 PM
meetooman's Avatar
meetooman meetooman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 488
Default

Congratulations for your new Sony Walkman, lucky man!
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel.germany View Post
good idea. i did so. but i think, it will still be limited because of the stupid regulations.
You should not consider public health concern stupid. Do you believe the society can rely on youngsters to protect themselves and wisely turn the volume down?

I think that this model is not already available in the US. I would not expect it before next year collection, if it ever comes...

[Edit] In another post someone shows us that the S754 is available in Canada. So maybe it will also land in the USA. But it's still not certain. But it gives hope to see for different NWZ firmwares.

Last edited by meetooman; 10-29-2010 at 10:36 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-08-2010, 06:02 AM
dmistry dmistry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel.germany View Post
hey.
i got a new player and i love it.

but the problem is, in europe, there is a volume limiter in the damn thing.

And I'm searching hours to find a way to get rid of that stupid thing...

couldnt find any american firmware (or any firmware in a "normal" state without sensless laws)

could anybody help me? PLEASE..

greets from overseas.
daniel
Hi,

I just recieved my NWZ-S755 from Hong Kong and I can confirm that the maximum volume output is much louder or as same as my older NWZ-X1050 EU model.

But I have to agree to one point, this Walkman is tiny and mega slim, looks and feels solid as a rock.

Would recommend one to anyone, forget IPOD, get a Walkman.

Mp3 Walkman's are the way forward now.

Regards

Dharmesh

Last edited by dmistry; 11-09-2010 at 04:01 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-07-2011, 01:54 PM
pupiszonek pupiszonek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I don't sympathize Ipod, and in fact I've bought the S754, but volume is too low. I tried to change it for this problem but the seller told me no.
I can't believe a so nice mp3 reader has this stupid problem with no way to solve. (please help)
thanks
Pupiszonek
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-09-2011, 04:01 AM
mandyshadow mandyshadow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

I doubt this is a Sony problem. Would be on all European MP3 players (can't speak for the rest of the world). If you're in a noisy envirement turn on noice cancelling.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-09-2011, 06:35 AM
nodirectionhome nodirectionhome is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Salisbury UK
Posts: 677
Default

It is just a Sony problem, every other main manufacturer AFAIK offers an easy way to bypass the volume limitation, Samsung, Cowon, Sansa - but the Sony is permanently hobbled.

The only way is to buy a non-EU Sony as dmistry above did.

shame, as the S754, 755 is a nice unit.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-16-2011, 06:07 PM
dmistry dmistry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
Default ebay link

Hi everyone,

You can purchase the nwz-s755 HK model with English menu from sellers like NewItemExpress, they are based in HK & also Australia (I think). Anyway, I purchased mine from them, the link is:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Sony-NWZ-S755-...item483e473015

They also ship worldwide, it may cost more, but your guaranteed one thing, the volume is not limited.

Best Regards

Dharmesh
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.