android
  #1  
Old 11-09-2010, 05:34 PM
zzvelik zzvelik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default Compressibility is too high (Error message)

Hi all,

After doing a lot of research over the past week, I ended up purchasing a Cowon O2 thanks in a large part to the efforts of dfkt and his charts/posts. My main usage will be in my car in order to play my FLAC collection car via the aux input of the stereo system. While most of my collection is FLAC, I do have some MP3, ape, and other file types. While trying to play and APE file at 436kbps, I get the following error message:

Compressibility is too high

The firmware version number on my O2 is: 1.43F

The Cowon O2 is said to support APE files, but I'm not sure if the bit rate is the problem or not. I googled the error message and was not able to find any remedies. Any help is greatly appreciated.

TIA,

Zzvelik
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-15-2010, 08:38 AM
zzvelik zzvelik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I also get the Unsupported Codec error message when I try to play .mpg and .mpeg files:

I thought all of these popular codecs were compatible on the O2. Anyone here know of a remedy?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:46 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

You bought the O2 because of what I wrote? Wow, you're an optimist.

The best remedy for APE errors is - convert them to FLAC. It's a much better format in almost all aspects (error stability, tagging, compatibility, etc), and it's really not that much bigger files than APE. Here's an excellent overview of lossless codecs: http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index....mparison_Table

As far as your MPEG files go, they're probably MPEG2, not MPEG1. Cowons don't play MPEG2 for some reason (probably because of some silly DVD piracy lawsuits or such). You could try renaming them from .mpg to .ts - that may work (it works on the Cowon V5).

If in doubt, check your files with MediaInfo and report back with the results.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-16-2010, 12:52 AM
zzvelik zzvelik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the tips... I'll give them a try tomorrow. By the way, I sure miss your authentic Sachertorte I had in Wien back in 2000 ;-)
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-20-2010, 08:46 AM
zzvelik zzvelik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for pointing out the MediaInfo program dfkt. It confirmed the files types I had problems playing were mpeg2. The mpeg1 files had no problems on the Cowon O2.

I now have a new challenge finding better headphones/IEMs than my Sennheiser HD 202 and Altec Lansing IM716. The continuing deals on the HD 555 looks appealing, but I must audition the AIAIAI TMA-1 when I get a chance. Thanks again
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-20-2010, 10:48 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Would be interesting to know if your MPEG2 files play if you rename them to .ts. I have no MPEG2s at hand so I can't test that.

As for HD555 vs. TMA-1 - depends mostly on where you're intending to use them. The HD555 are open phones, and only useful in quiet surroundings. The TMA-1 are closed and fairly well isolating, so they can be used on the go.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-20-2010, 08:09 PM
zzvelik zzvelik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Renaming the mpeg2 files to .ts didn't work... I had forgotten to mention it.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-06-2011, 10:49 AM
leblabbiy leblabbiy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post

The best remedy for APE errors is - convert them to FLAC. .
Or WavPack lossless.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-07-2011, 12:55 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Nothing besides Rockbox (and the crappy Cowon O2/V5) plays WP. Almost any quality player supports FLAC.

WP is a great format for recording, I use it on my Rockboxed X5 for recording the jam sessions of my band - but for long term archiving and best portable compatibility it's still FLAC that got the most appeal. Either way, WP sure is the second best lossless codec out there, way better in features and performance than APE, for example.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-15-2011, 11:02 AM
leblabbiy leblabbiy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Nothing besides Rockbox (and the crappy Cowon O2/V5) plays WP. Almost any quality player supports FLAC.

WP is a great format for recording, I use it on my Rockboxed X5 for recording the jam sessions of my band - but for long term archiving and best portable compatibility it's still FLAC that got the most appeal. Either way, WP sure is the second best lossless codec out there, way better in features and performance than APE, for example.
I actually like my O2...a lot. I don't know what I'd get if it ever died on me.
I really hate that Cowon dropped wv support after the V5. I almost never use wavpack lossless so I can't comment I use wavpack lossy at 500 or 600 kbps on my computer.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
ape, compressibility, error, firmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.